Funding of Relativistic and Nonrelativistic Models in Physics

Skip to first unread message

Pentcho Valev

Aug 25, 2022, 10:19:25 AMAug 25
Dark matter is a crutch for Einstein's general relativity, MOND is a nonrelativistic theory:

"Nevertheless, for several decades now there has been an enormous amount of effort put into all aspects of the search for dark matter: experimental, observational, and theoretical. There is and has been a critical mass of people working on it for a long time. There have been thousands of talented scientists who have contributed to direct detection experiments in dozens of vast underground laboratories, who have combed through data from X-ray and gamma-ray observatories looking for the telltale signs of dark matter decay or annihilation, who have checked for the direct production of dark matter particles in the LHC; even theorists who continue to hypothesize what the heck the dark matter could be and how we might go about detecting it. This research has been well funded, with billions of dollars having been spent in the quest for dark matter. And what do we have to show for it?

Zero. Nada. Zilch. Squat. A whole lot of nothing.

This is equal to the amount of funding that goes to support research on MOND. There is no faster way to get a grant proposal rejected than to say nice things about MOND."

See more here:

Pentcho Valev

Pentcho Valev

Aug 25, 2022, 3:28:48 PMAug 25
Einsteinians Mark Srednicki and Joseph Polchinski were given a $1.32 million grant to say whether Einstein was wrong:

They found the joke extremely amusing, laughed breathlessly, took the money and said that Einstein was not wrong:

More here:

Pentcho Valev

Pentcho Valev

Aug 27, 2022, 1:11:00 PMAug 27
Peter Woit: "Fundamental physical theory may now be over, replaced with a pseudo-science, but at least that means that things in this subject can't get any worse."

True, dead physics cannot get more dead, but things can get much worse in terms of money:

Sabine Hossenfelder: "I want to tell you how particle physicists are wasting your money."

The more-than-a-century reign of the pernicious ideology called "relativity" is by far the biggest waste of money in the history of science. Einsteinians are incomparable money wasters. Here is one of the champions:

"Jim Al-Khalili on a £2m mission to reveal secrets of time"

Absolute champions are, of course, LIGO godfathers:

"Nine scientists just won an award that's worth more than a Nobel Prize, earning a cool $1 million for their cutting-edge research. Called the Kavli Prize, these lofty awards... [...] The three winners in astrophysics this year were Ronald Drever, Kip Thorne, and Rainer Weiss. The trio won for detecting the ripples in space-time known as gravitational waves — arguably the most remarkable scientific achievement of the year, if not the past 100 years. "This detection has, in a single stroke and for the first time, validated Einstein’s General Theory of Relativity for very strong fields..."

"Weiss will share the $1.2 million prize with Kip Thorne, Caltech’s Richard P. Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, emeritus; and Ronald Drever, emeritus professor of physics at Caltech. Together, they are cited by the Shaw Foundation “for conceiving and designing the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO), whose recent direct detection of gravitational waves opens a new window..."

"LIGO Gravitational Wave Researchers to Divide $3 Million. The three ringleaders of the gravitational-wave experiment, known as LIGO, Ronald P. Drever and Kip. S. Thorne of the California Institute of Technology, and Rainer Weiss of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will split $1 million. The other $2 million will be split among 1,012 scientists who were authors of the article in Physical Review Letters, or who made major contributions to the study of gravitational waves."

"In addition to a cash award of $500 000, to be shared equally between Drever, Thorne and Weiss, each of the three will receive a gold medal and a citation that reads: The Gruber Foundation proudly presents the 2016 Cosmology Prize to Rainer Weiss, Kip Thorne, Ronald Drever, and the entire LIGO team for pursuing a vision to observe the universe in gravitational waves, leading to a first detection that emanated from the collision of two black holes."

"The Nobel Prize in Physics 2017 was divided, one half awarded to Rainer Weiss, the other half jointly to Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves."

See more:

Pentcho Valev
Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages