CFP FTSCS 2012: 1st International Workshop on Formal Techniques for Safety-Critical Systems

Skip to first unread message

Yuki Chiba

May 17, 2012, 2:24:08 AM5/17/12
to Formal Methods Forum




Call for Papers

FTSCS 2012

1st International Workshop on Formal Techniques for Safety-Critical

Kyoto, Japan, November 12, 2012
(satellite workshop of ICFEM 2012)


*** Science of Computer Programming special issue ***
*** EPTCS proceedings ***

Aims and Scope:

There is an increasing demand in industry to use formal methods to
achieve software-independent verification and validation of
safety-critical systems, e.g., in fields such as avionics, automotive,
medical, and other cyber-physical systems. Newer standards, such as
DO-178C (avionics) and ISO 26262 (automotive), emphasize the need for
formal methods and model-based development, speeding up the
adaptation of such methods in industry.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together researchers
and engineers who are interested in the application of formal and semi-
methods to improve the quality of safety-critical computer systems. In
particular, FTSCS strives strives to promote research and development
formal methods and tools for industrial applications, and is
interested in industrial applications of formal methods.

Specific topics include, but are not limited to:

* case studies and experience reports on the use of formal methods for
analyzing safety-critical systems, including avionics, automotive,
medical, and other kinds of safety-critical and QoS-critical systems
* methods, techniques and tools to support automated analysis,
certification, debugging, etc., of complex safety/QoS-critical
* analysis methods that address the limitations of formal methods in
industry (usability, scalability, etc.)
* formal analysis support for modeling languages used in industry,
such as AADL, Ptolemy, SysML, SCADE, Modelica, etc.
* code generation from validated models.

The workshop will provide a platform for discussions and the exchange
innovative ideas, so submissions on work in progress are encouraged.

Invited speaker:



We solicit submissions reporting on:

A- original research contributions (16 pages max, EPTCS format);
B- applications and experiences (16 pages max, EPTCS format);
C- surveys, comparisons, and state-of-the-art reports (16 pages max,
EPTCS format);
D- tool papers (4 pages max, EPTCS format);
E- position papers and work in progress (4 pages max, EPTCS format)
related to the topics mentioned above.

All submissions must be original, unpublished, and not submitted
for publication elsewhere. Paper submission will be done
via EasyChair at
The final version of the paper must be prepared in LaTeX, adhering to
the EPTCS format available at
Note, in particular, that EPTCS requires that you include the doi of
each reference in the bibliography.


All accepted papers will appear in the pre-proceedings of FTSCS 2012.
Accepted papers in the categories A-D above will appear in
the workshop proceedings that will be published as a volume in
Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (to be

The authors of a selected subset of accepted papers will be invited to
extended versions of their papers to appear in a special issue of the
Science of Computer Programming journal.

Important dates:

Submission deadline: September 2, 2012
Notification of acceptance: October 1, 2012
Workshop: November 12, 2012


Kyoto, Japan

Program chairs:

Cyrille Artho AIST, Japan
Peter Ölveczky University of Oslo, Norway

Program committee:

Erika Abraham RWTH Aachen University,
Musab AlTurki King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals,
Saudi Arabia
Farhad Arbab Leiden University and CWI, The Netherlands
Cyrille Artho AIST, Japan
Armin Biere Johannes Kepler University, Austria
Saddek Bensalem Verimag, France
Peter Bokor Technical University Darmstadt, Germany
Santiago Escobar Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Bernd Fischer University of Southampton, UK
Klaus Havelund NASA JPL, USA
Marieke Huisman University of Twente, The Netherlands
Ralf Huuck NICTA/UNSW, Sydney, Australia
Fuyuki Ishikawa National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan
Takashi Kitamura AIST, Japan
Alexander Knapp Augsburg University, Germany
Yang Liu NUS, Singapore
Steven P. Miller Rockwell Collins, USA
Tang Nguyen AIST, Japan
Thomas Noll RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Peter Ölveczky University of Oslo, Norway
Grigore Rosu University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Neha Rungta NASA Ames, USA
Carolyn Talcott SRI International, USA
Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya Osaka University, Japan


Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages