Planned GitHub Org rename “flatcar-linux” -> “flatcar”

9 views
Skip to first unread message

Flatcar Container Linux User

unread,
Sep 9, 2022, 9:44:46 AMSep 9
to Flatcar Container Linux User

Hello!

We plan to rename the github.com/flatcar-linux organization to github.com/flatcar while keeping redirects in place. This change emphasizes the “Flatcar” name and will make our GitHub URLs shorter and easier in future. It also aligns with changes over the past year to change the main project domain to “flatcar.org” and the Twitter handle to “@flatcar”. 

The change is scheduled for Wednesday, 14 September 2022. Thanks to the redirects we expect the current URLs to work for the repositories but in any case it makes sense to use the new URLs. 

Please update your software such as Go imports, any build scripts and local repositories to use the new URLs. We plan to push changes in our branches to deal with the rename – in case of build problems, make sure you build Flatcar from the maintenance branches like flatcar-3033. 

For questions and feedback you are welcome to join the next office hours on 13 September 2022 17:30 CEST / 11:30am EDT / 8:30am PDT via Zoom: 

We also have a tracking issue on GitHub: https://github.com/flatcar-linux/Flatcar/issues/836 

Regards, 
the Flatcar Maintainers 

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages