You have a google redirect virus. Its really hard to get rid of. Your system is compromised.
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "DIYbio" group.
To post to this group, send email to diy...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to diybio+un...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/diybio?hl=en.
Yep, I got one of those last year and still haven't gotten it all out.
I need a full reboot to get rid of it all. Pesky stuff. It doesn't
affect chrome so you're kinda ok.
Basically once a virus hits windows, your best bet is to boot a Linux livecd, back up your stuff, and do a complete wipe and reinstall. Sorry for your misfortune!
---
Twitter: @onetruecathal
Sent from my beloved Android phone.
On 14 Jul 2010 15:14, "Isabelle Hakala" <ism...@gmail.com> wrote:
As long as it is still on your system it will keep 'fetching' other viruses... at least that is what happened on the work computers. We had to wipe and reinstall the OS. That was after 20+ hours were spent on various tools that were specifically designed to get rid of it. It is the most nasty of nasties that I have come across so far. During that time a root kit kept installing itself and trying to send all the stored passwords. Also, there were issues with it blocking the updating of not only the anti-virus software, but ANY update process, including for the OS.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Isabelle Hakala
"Any person who says 'it can't be done' shouldn't be interrupting the people getting it done."
"Do every single thing in life with love in your heart."
On Wed, Jul 14, 2010 at 10:04 AM, J. S. John <phill...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> On Wed, Jul 14, 20...
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "DIYbio" group.
To post to this group, send email to diy...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to diybio+un...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/diybio?hl=en.
It is certainly hoped that such learning experiences and ideal first-use scenarios encourage more Ubuntu users, yes. But I leave it to the individual whether to leave themselves open to future timewasting or not! :P
---
Twitter: @onetruecathal
Sent from my beloved Android phone.
On 14 Jul 2010 15:25, "jarkko moilanen" <jm6...@gmail.com> wrote:
"Basically once a virus hits windows, your best bet is to boot a Linux livecd" or install linux.
2010/7/14 Cathal Garvey <cathal...@gmail.com>>
--
> Basically once a virus hits windows, your best bet is to boot a Linux livecd, back up your stuff...
> You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "DIYbio" group.
> To pos...
--
************************************************************
Profound XML -technology Expert |
5w - Finnish hackerspace in Tampere |
http://5w.fi
************************************************************
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "DIYbio" group.
To post to...
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "DIYbio" group.
On Wed, Jul 14, 2010 at 10:59 AM, Jonathan Street
in that case, yeah, whatver computer
You could change your user agent to the Googlebot, then start tracing
it through the wordpress code.
Jonathan,
No clue why it isn't working. I tried posting at the group directly, sending several e-mails to the list from my kive.me (google apps domain) which works to other google groups, and even unsubscribing/resubscribing -- no luck.
Anyways, feel free to forward this on to the list.
Thanks,
-Kive---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Kive <ki...@kive.me>
Date: Wed, Jul 14, 2010 at 3:01 PM
Subject: Re: Diybio site hacked
To: diy...@googlegroups.com
I sent e-mails to the group on this at 4:17am and 7:26am, but for whatever reason, they didn't post to the group. Going to the google group itself also did not let me post -- and I have no clue why -- anyone else had a similar experience? I tried unjoining and rejoining, and we'll see if that works.
This was my 7:26am message -- provided since it provides a little more information from my observations, as well as a bit more confidence in what is happening, or rather, what is not. Regardless, it sounds like Mac is taking a look into what's going on. Thanks to Jonathan for confirming that my mails weren't being received to the group for whatever reason.
-kive-- Original --
Date: Wed, Jul 14, 2010 at 7:26 AM
Subject: Re: Diybio site hacked
To: diy...@googlegroups.com
Isabelle and Alex,
I'm certain that this isn't a google redirect virus, although something along those lines was one of my first thoughts. I mentioned in response to Jonathan's e-mail this morning that I tested this using lynx on one of my servers and was able to reproduce what Jonathan saw. That server of mine is an extremely well locked-down ubuntu system, and lynx is not susceptible to any known spyware of this type (and my host and resolution files have full integrity). I can state with 100% confidence that this issue is not on Jonathan's computer, and I verified it using independent systems -- heck, go to babelfish and translate the content if anyone wants to verify this independently.
Whoever the site owner is, please feel free to reach out to me off-list if you need any help determining what has happened, how it happened, or how to keep it from happening again.
-kive
diybio.org works for me now. On a side note, what ever happened with the T-shirts?
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "DIYbio" group.
To post to this group, send email to diy...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to diybio+un...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/diybio?hl=en.
This. I would run malwarebytes.
Alex
On Wed, Jul 14, 2010 at 2:37 AM, Isabelle Hakala <ism...@gmail.com> wrote:
> You have a google redirect virus. Its really hard to get rid of. Your system
> is compromised.
>
curl http://diybio.org == lots of spammy links, no diybio.org HTML at all.
curl -A "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US)
AppleWebKit/525.13 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/0.A.B.C Safari/525.13"
http://diybio.org == no viagra links whatsoever.
Output attached. The image linked in the 'tainted' file does not
appear to exist on diybio.org.
Mac, can I get a look at today's apache logs for diybio.org?
Cheers,
--mlp
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "DIYbio" group.
To post to this group, send email to diy...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to diybio+un...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/diybio?hl=en.
you sure can. I'll get them to you in the next hour.
That's a possible input vector. It seems to be trying to do some kind
of blackhat SEO thing; in addition to the front page appearing weird
to curl but normal to regular browsers, the logs have a number of
googlebot (and other spiders) hits to URLs of the form '/pressN',
where N is an integer between ... 52 and 176 I think it was.
Attempting to retrieve one of these URLs via curl yields, guess what,
more spam. Strangely, the following:
telnet diybio.org 80
GET /press126 HTTP/1.1
[hit return twice]
retrieves the correct pages.
I'm still wondering if there's a strange setting in mod_rewrite.
--mlp
If Mac doesn't have a problem with my doing so, I'm happy to forward a
copy to anyone who wants one. The file is just under 1MB, so I won't
send it to the list, but certainly the more people looking for
anomalies the better.
--mlp
Mac
231.313.9062 // @100ideas // iPhoned
http://jungleg.com/2009/04/20/the-aftermath-of-a-wordpress-spam-injection-and-a-tool-to-prevent-it/
http://www.davidmihm.com/blog/google/wordpress-spam-injection-solution/
http://robertogaloppini.net/2007/12/12/wordpress-spam-injection-goro-hacked-my-blog/
Mac, is WP something that Dreamhost provides or did you install it yourself?
--mlp
--Len.