Round 3266: Vote for FINEER

3 views
Skip to first unread message

Daniel B Widdis

unread,
Jul 14, 2022, 3:15:15 AMJul 14
to Dixonary

Presented forthwith are 10 definitions for FINEER, nine of which are the objects of players’ imaginations and one of which came from a reputable dictionary.

 

I’ll set a 36-hour deadline which is noon on Friday PDT, 3pm EDT, 19:00 UTC, 8pm BST, 9pm CEST, and Saturday 5am AEST and 7am NZST.  Seems we have more time zones than players these days…

 

1. decoration on the top of a gable or spire.

 

2. Patent leather (orig. a trademark).

 

3. Fermented goat cheese.

 

4. Flexible veneer.

 

5. Obs. veneer.

 

6. A blur in printing, as from a double impression.

 

7. An Indonesian dessert made with coconut milk, rice flour, and pandan leaves, also called bubur sum-sum.

 

8. The fashion effect the 18th-century Beau Monde male wanted to achieve with little effort or nonchalance.

 

9. Now arch. and rare. 1. trans. To wipe away; to wipe clean, cleanse. Also occas. intr. 2. trans. fig. To purge.

 

10. To run in debt by getting goods made up in a way unsuitable for the use of others, and then threatening not to take them except on credit.

John Barrs

unread,
Jul 14, 2022, 3:43:58 AMJul 14
to dixo...@googlegroups.com
#2 sounds right to me and #10 sounds complicated fo my fading concentration; so they are my votes please

JohnnyB

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+u...@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/dixonary/13435753-6B74-40F0-8EE1-DBFC52080F5C%40dixonary.net.

Judy Madnick

unread,
Jul 14, 2022, 7:42:07 AMJul 14
to dixo...@googlegroups.com
Although I suspect this is just a coincidence, I'll fall for these:

4. Flexible veneer.

5. Obs. veneer.

Judy Madnick

Berger, Deborah

unread,
Jul 14, 2022, 10:21:57 AMJul 14
to dixo...@googlegroups.com
2 and 6 please. 

Deborah Fein, Ph.D.
UConn Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor
Department of Psychological Sciences
Department of Pediatrics
University of Connecticut
debora...@uconn.edu

From: dixo...@googlegroups.com <dixo...@googlegroups.com> on behalf of John Barrs <jo...@john-barrs.co.uk>
Sent: Thursday, July 14, 2022 3:43 AM
To: dixo...@googlegroups.com <dixo...@googlegroups.com>
Subject: Re: [Dixonary] Round 3266: Vote for FINEER
 

*Message sent from a system outside of UConn.*

France International/Mike Shefler

unread,
Jul 14, 2022, 11:51:37 AMJul 14
to dixo...@googlegroups.com
I'll go with 2 and 8.

Chowie

unread,
Jul 14, 2022, 1:24:08 PMJul 14
to Dixonary
2 and 5 before I forget to vote...

--

Efrem Mallach

unread,
Jul 14, 2022, 10:57:16 PMJul 14
to dixo...@googlegroups.com
After eliminating all the others, I'm left with 3 and 7. It probably isn't either of those, either, but that's life.

Efrem

On Jul 14, 2022, at 3:15 AM, Daniel B Widdis <wid...@dixonary.net> wrote:

Presented forthwith are 10 definitions for FINEER, nine of which are the objects of players’ imaginations and one of which came from a reputable dictionary.
 
I’ll set a 36-hour deadline which is noon on Friday PDT, 3pm EDT, 19:00 UTC, 8pm BST, 9pm CEST, and Saturday 5am AEST and 7am NZST.  Seems we have more time zones than players these days…
 
  
3. Fermented goat cheese.

Shani Naylor

unread,
Jul 15, 2022, 5:22:59 AMJul 15
to dixo...@googlegroups.com

I’m not convinced it’s similar to paneer or a type of veneer, but nothing else is believable either. I'll vote 1 & 9.




--

Tim Lodge

unread,
Jul 15, 2022, 5:41:05 AMJul 15
to Dixonary
I'll try 2 and 9 (although 9 is probably the Keating def).


           2. Patent leather (orig. a trademark).

           9. Now arch. and rare. 1. trans. To wipe away; to wipe clean, cleanse. Also occas. intr. 2. trans. fig. To purge.

--  Tim L

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages