20. Hero player triggering Rapid Fire after a Dark Charm attack?

2 views
Skip to first unread message

soygreen

unread,
Sep 9, 2010, 10:45:51 AM9/9/10
to Descent FAQ Group
Hero player triggering Rapid Fire after a Dark Charm attack?

Corbon Loughnan

unread,
Sep 20, 2010, 2:19:25 AM9/20/10
to Descent FAQ Group
Background:
There is considerable dispute over whether a hero may trigger Rapid
Fire after the OL has used Dark Charm to make an attack with that
hero.
Clearly the OL may not use Rapid Fire, as he cannot spend fatigue to
activate it. Equally clearly (for most people) the hero cannot trigger
Rapid Fire while the OL player has control, as Rapid Fire is not a
defensive option and is not therefore remaining under hero control.
The use of Rapid Fire specifies that the fatigue must be spent
'immediately' after the attack.
The technical argument comes down to exact timing and such abstract
concepts as 'simultaneous' effects and 'hand over of control'. The
thematic argument is, as always, a matter of personal choice.

Question:
If the OL Dark Charms a hero with Rapid Fire and makes an attack, can
the hero use that attack as a trigger to activate Rapid Fire?

Answers:
A1. Yes. The hero must make the attack immediately after the Dark
Charm is finished.
A2. No. The hero cannot activate Rapid Fire 'immediately' while under
the control of the OL and thus cannot activaet Rapid Fire at all in
this circumstance.

Corbon Loughnan

unread,
Nov 11, 2010, 10:27:58 PM11/11/10
to Descent FAQ Group
POSTED

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages