19. Round ending (current) during ambushes when OL goes first?

1 view
Skip to first unread message

soygreen

unread,
Sep 9, 2010, 10:45:40 AM9/9/10
to Descent FAQ Group
Round ending (current) during ambushes when OL goes first?

Corbon Loughnan

unread,
Sep 16, 2010, 4:09:32 AM9/16/10
to Descent FAQ Group
Background:
In an outdoor encounter which is an ambush (meaning the OL gets first
turn), there is question over when a round ends.

The question is important because of wind and current in SoB. At the
location "The Cliffs of Insanity"the Revenge starts on the "north"
side of the map pointing "south" (as usual) and the current is a
Green Die going North! Arguably, if the OL goes first, then the ships
would move before the heroes could. If current was moved before wings
then the heroes could concievably be forced to flee before even
getting a move, without any enemy action!
According to the "vanilla" rules, the Round Sequence as described on
page 7 ends after the OL's turn.
OTOH:
DJitD pg7
Descent: Journeys in the Dark is played over a series of rounds.
During *each round*, *every player receives one turn*, starting with
the heroes and ending with the overlord. After the overlord player has
taken his turn, the round is over and the next round begins with the
heroes taking their turns once again.
One round Consists of:
Turn 1: First Hero Player’s Turn
Turn 2: Second Hero Player’s Turn
Turn 3: Third Hero Player’s Turn
Turn 4: Fourth Hero Player’s Turn
Turn 5: Overlord Player’s Turn

Arguably, a round consists of every player having a turn. Yes, it is
also sequenced that the heroes start and the OL finishes, but the
sequence does not define the round, everyone having a turn defines the
round. Saying the round ends after the OL has his turn is additional
information not definition.
In ambushes you have the case that the sequence definition is changed,
but the round definition is not. Therefore the additional information
may be discarded as 'no longer applicable' due to changes in the
sequencing. However the round definition as being when every player
has a turn remains unchanged.

So, what defines a round properly, so that the wind and current can go
at the end of the round...

In addition, which happens first - wind, current, or both at the same
time?

Questions:
Q1. In some scenarios (particularly Advance Campaign Ambushes) the OL
actually has his turn before the heroes. In such a case, when does the
'round' end> Is it at the end of the OL's turn or when every player
has had a turn?

Q2. If a vessel is being moved by both wind and current, which happens
first? This can matter both in the case of hitting obstructions and
moving off the map.

Answers:
A1-1. A round is defined by all players having had a turn, so in
ambushes the round ends after the last hero player turn.
A1-2. A round always ends after the OL's turn. In the case of an
ambush, that means the first round does not include hero turns.

A2-1. The Wind moves the vessel first. Each space of wind movement is
accounted for, then the current movement is accounted for one space at
a time.
A2-1. The Current moves the vessel first. Each space of current
movement is accounted for, then the wind movement is accounted for one
space at a time.
A2-3. The heroes choose whether wind or current will be activated
first. Each space of the first type of movement is accounted for,
then each space of the second type.
A2-4. The OL chooses whether wind or current will be activated first.
Each space of the first type of movement is accounted for, then each
space of the second type.
A2-5. The controllers of each vessel choose whether wind or current
will be activated first for their vessel (and non swimming figures).
Each space of the first type of movement is accounted for for the
first vessel (the Revenge unless during an ambush), then each space of
the second type for the first side, then each space of the first type
for the other vessel, then each space of the second type for the other
vessel. Non-swimming figures are moved by the current during their own
choice of 'current movement'

Commentary: I am sure A2-5 can be improved! But since vessels should
move simultaneously (to prevent wierd ramming or similar situations) I
am not sure that A2-5 should even be offered, so we might just drop
it.

Corbon Loughnan

unread,
Nov 11, 2010, 9:19:52 PM11/11/10
to Descent FAQ Group
POSTED

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages