GLOAQ compilation

11 views
Skip to first unread message

Corbon Loughnan

unread,
Sep 29, 2010, 3:38:58 AM9/29/10
to Descent FAQ Group
Q. Can heroes hit each other with kncokback to gain MP - purposely
limiting their damage as to not damage the friendly in the process?
purposely limiting their damage as to not damage the friendly in the
process?
A. Heroes can attack one another. However, the only way they can
"limit" their damage is by opting not to spend surges or by spending
power enhancement results on range rather than damage. (Or by Aiming,
I suppose.) If you roll seven hearts on the red and green die, that's
still seven damage dealt to your buddy...
Also, note that knockback does not give anyone MP. It simply throws
the target around. The subject can't use the knockback move to, for
example, drink a potion.
One last comment: when the hero "comes to rest" after a knockback,
he's a valid target for Crushing Block, Pit Trap, Aura damage, pit
obstacle damage, and similar effects, so this is a very risky maneuver
for a low-health subject.


Q. Can a hero target a square with another hero in it? e.g. If he
wants to use "Blast", and the target hero is willing to risk taking
damage. Or, if a hero wants to remove the "Sleep" effect token from
another hero.
A. Yes

Q. Can a hero target his own square?
A. No. (Except via Dark Charm.)

Q. Can a hero making a melee attack choose not to do damage with Power
Enhancement results by claiming he is taking the Range result (which
then has no effect)?
A. Yes. He is also not obligated to spend all his surges.

Pits
Pits have no effect on the line-of-sight or line-of-effect blocking
abilities of the monsters contained inside them. A figure in a pit has
its own line of sight restricted, but figures not in a pit treat that
figure normally for purposes of line of sight.

Q. In Descent: JiTD, how many movement points does it cost to move
from inside a pit onto a mud space?
A. 3 movement points.

Guard
Q. Can a creature’s movement be halted by a Guard call while it is in
the space of another creature? If so, are both creatures now legal
targets for a Single Target (Non AoE) attack? And how would damage be
dealt?
A. If the OL is foolish enough to have more than one monster in the
same space in front of a hero with guard, then yes, the hero can
attack both monsters in that space at once with a single attack. This
is a pretty rare case, however, in that it only applies during the
OL's turn when he's moving monsters through each other. After all,
monsters cannot end their movement on the same space as another
monster.

Q. Does the OL have to continue his same course of action when
interrupted by a guard action?
A. The OL may change his mind after being interrupted. (…) the OL can
change his mind after being interrupted, (…) treat it as though you
did a little 'rewind' to right before he declared an attack. The OL,
after being interrupted after declaring an attack, may choose to
continue with the attack, change its target, or even not to make the
attack at all. (Edited to keep the context of the answer)

Abilities

Reach/Sweep
Q. Can a figure with both Reach and Sweep hit a target through another
figure?
Clarification: Can the attacker choose which targets die first in a
sweep, thus possibly clearing a way to a further target? (see also
LoS)
eg Can the Master Giant with Sweep and Reach hit all the Beastmen?
A. Hmm, yes, this is intended to work as though line of sight ignored
figures for Reach/Sweep

Leap and Enrage
Q. When using the Leap attack, are Blood Apes affected by Aura?
Q. Also, are they affected by abilities such as Alertness and Guard
orders, which can be triggered by a figure moving next to the Hero
with the ability?
Q. If the Ape is affected by Aura when it has Leaped, does it gain the
benefit of it's Enrage ability from the Damage taken?

A/A/A. Yes, yes and yes.

Appraisal
Q. Does the Appraisal skill also work on treasure bought in town?
A. Yes.

Q. How do Appraiser and Bardic Lore interact
b1) if one player has both skills? Does he draw the double number of
cards? In pairs?
b2) if two different players have these skills? Do they cancel each
other out because if one player draws the cards the other isn't
drawing the cards?
A. The appraiser only benefits his own draws (ie if there's 1 treasure
per hero, the appraiser only gives 1 extra draw), then the bardic lore
hero divies them up as normal.

Acrobat
Q. Can a Hero with Acrobat activate Glyphs, or take treasures (gold,
keys) from under a creature that is occupying the same square as the
item.
A. Yes and

Q. Can a Hero with Acrobat open a door in which both spaces in front
of the door are occupied by creatures, as long as he does not end his
turn in one of those spaces?
A. yes and b1) yes. If this causes a hero to become paralyzed or
something due to a trap, simply have the Overlord move the hero to the
nearest empty space of the overlord's choice.

Grapple
Q. Is a hero with Grapple really intended to keep 8 creatures in one
place?
Q. Can a fiendly figure move through a space occupied by another
friendly figure that is currently being grappled?

A. Yes.
A. Yes. Grapple can only hold one figure per space, however.

Rapid Shot
Q. The Hero must immediately spend fatigue to gain another attack
using Rapid shot, but must the attack be immediately used, or can a
Hero move and then use the attack?"
A. It must be immediately used.

Leadership
Q. The two half actions given by the leadership card, do they have to
be different half actions, or could you "Attack" twice?
A. Actually, when using the Ready action, you can't select the same
half action more than once. The wording is a bit confusing, yes. But
you can move, attack, and place an order, or move, place order, and
concentrate, or whatever. Just no double attacks or double moves or
whatnot.
Combat

Area of Effect attack and Dodge.
Q. An area attack is made on a group of characters. The attack die are
rolled and one Hero uses Dodge. Does the original roll take effect on
the other Heroes, or does the newly rolled attack affect all Heroes?
A. The new roll effects all the targets.

LOS
Q. In the instance where you have a figure blocking the Line of Sight
of another figure, is that Figure targetable, no matter the
circumstance?
eg Can the Skeleton hit any of these Beastmen?
A. For purposes of determining LoS for an attack, ignore figures that
are not in LoS themselves.

Q. Can LoS be retraced during an attack? Such as with Sweep, above. If
the targets can be killed in front of him during the sweep attack, is
the target at the rear of the group open to be attacked by the same
Sweep attack?
A. Yes, remembering the ruling on Reach/Sweep from earlier.


The Overlord

Threat and Surges
Q. Do the surges used to generate Threat for an Overlord get spent, or
can they be used to activate effects? eg, the OL rolls 3 surges and
has the option to use 1 Surge for 1 damage. Can the OL gather 1 Threat
and +3 Damage, or only 1 Threat and +1 Damage? Clarified: Can surges
used for Threat also be used for abilities?
A. Technically, you spend the 2 surges to gain 1 threat, so you can't
use it for both things. With the Dark Prayer ability, you spend 1
surge to gain 1 threat, +1 Range, and +1 Damage.

The Heroes

“Ending Movement”
Q. There are many instances where something happened when the Hero
“ends movement” on a square. Is the Hero required to stop his turn in
order to end his movement, or can a Hero continue movement after the
effect is complete.
A. Ending your movement means just that - not moving any more this
turn. If you then move more later on the same turn, you didn't
actually end your movement. You can still do other stuff like attack
after activating a ? marker, you just can't move any more.


Traps

Curses
Q. Are the curse tokens that are placed on Heroes able to be removed
by abilities (such as with Sahla) or the Cursed Doll? If so, does the
removed Curse token refresh only when the item is re-equipped?
A. Curse tokens are a lingering effect token like any other. Sahla and
Curse Doll can both remove them

Road to Legend Answers!

Here are various answers from Kevin W, and Dan Clark to questions that
we’ve come across.

Q. If the Overlord plays RAGE on a Lieutenant during a battle action,
how many attacks does he receive - 3 or 4?
A. Two, actually. "Rage" reads: "Play when you activate a monster.
That monster may attack twice during this activation (four times if it
has Quick Shot)."
A lieutenant who has declared a Battle action may attack twice during
his activation. "Rage" has no further effect - it is essentially
granting the lieutenant an ability it already has. A much stronger
play is to declare a Run action and then play "Rage," which would
allow the lieutenant to move twice his speed and attack twice.

Q. Can the hero party attack multiple Lieutenants and visit a city in
the same game week action?
A. Yes.

Q. Can spawned monsters in outdoor encounters be activated the same
turn or are they treated as reinforcements?
A. They are treated as reinforcements in all respects. The normal
limit of one spawn card per turn still applies. They do not get to
move until the next turn

Q. Can a hero place a rest order before entering a portal, and recieve
full fatigue when the next dungeon level begins?
A. I was going to say "no, because moving removes the Rest order," but
a careful re-read of the Journeys in the Dark rules revealed that I
was in error! I can find no reason why a hero cannot do this.
(Although technically, he would not be restored to full fatigue until
his individual turn began and would still lose his rest order if he
somehow took damage before then.)

Q. What happens to power cards in play during the final battle in the
overlords keep?
A. All Overlord cards – including Power cards in play – are discarded
as soon as the Avatar appears. The time for tricks and schemes has
passed!

Q. Does the overlord still gain threat during the final battle in the
overlords keep, and if so, what is the purpose of it?
A. Technically, the Overlord still gains threat, but it no longer
serves any purpose (so feel free to skip that phase of the turn).

Q. Does Urgency generate threat?
A. Urgency's discarded cards do not generate threat.

Q. Once the last of the heroes have entered the portal in a dungeon,
does the OL receive a turn, or does he immediately begin constructing
the next dungeon level?
A. The overlord immediately begins constructing the next dungeon
level.

Q. Can a hero rest in town, or are they restricted only to restocking
benefits?
Can a hero take any action before he goes to town after beginning his
turn next to a glyph?
A. This is part of a larger question, which is basically "How does
Town and/or Glyphs work?" The short answer is, "no, heroes can't rest
in town." The longer answer is below…
A hero who begins his turn adjacent to or on top of an activated glyph
has two options: take a normal turn or go to town. If he goes to town,
he is immediately moved to the building of his choice and gets to
Restock there. No movement points, no declared action – he just
Restocks.
A hero who begins his turn in town has two options: Restock again (at
the same or a different building) or return to the dungeon. If he
returns to the dungeon, he declares a normal action (Battle, Ready,
Advance, Run) and then must spend a movement point to move from town
to the dungeon, just like normal. If he somehow can't do so (i.e. he
Battled and had no fatigue left) then the entire action is canceled
and the hero Restocks instead. .

Q. Can the heroes Visit buildings, purchase Tamalir upgrades, or fight
lieutenants if the party marker is placed in Tamalir after ending/
fleeing a dungeon
A. No

Q. When playing dungeons in RtL does the OL keep his cards, powers and
Threat between levels?
A. You keep your hand, threat, and power cards for the entire duration
of a dungeon. You do not reset those between dungeon levels. I'll have
to look at that section of the rules to see exactly what it says, but
if it says that you reset every level, it will have to be errata'ed.

Q. How many treasures are given out per treasure roll?
A. Also, one treasure per blank rolled. Not per hero. Campaign mode is
more about making the most of your resources than normal mode is. .

Q. How much gold does the party get from a coin pile? 100 total or
100 each still (400)?
A. 400 coins total.

Q. Can a party still pay to recuperate when in the wilderness?
A. You have to be in town to heal.

Q. If a party chooses not to enter a dungeon, is it still crossed off,
or can they visit it later?
A. No. Only if you flee from a dungeon or finish it does it get
crossed off.

Q. Since there are only 4 training tokens of each type are the heroes
limited in the amount of training they can purchase?
A. The heroes are limited to the training tokens included in the game.
If one hero hogs them all, that's going to be trouble for the party.

Q. Does the Overlord gain Conquest when he cycles through his deck?
A. When the OL cycles his deck in RtL he does indeed gain 3 conquest.

Q. Are lieutenants considered an Avatar upgrade, e.g. Can they be
purchased before the game starts?
A. It was not my intention that the OL be able to purchase Lieutenants
with his starting free 15 XP. The heroes need a couple of turns to get
into the swing of things. So no, you cannot purchase extra Lieutenants
to start the campaign.

Soar
Q. Do creatures with Soar also have Fly abilities?
A. Yes. While outdoors (not while in a dungeon) creatures with the
Soar ability have all the benefits of Fly in addition to Soar.
Likewise, creatures with Fly retain all those benefits while outdoors,
in addition to gaining the benefits of Soar.


Reinforcement Markers
The reinforcement marker isn't used in outdoor encounters, but
monsters should be brought in from off the board as per the
reinforcement rule.

Re: Regarding Tahlia and moving during OLs turn
Q. Say Talia has a melee weapon equipped. She can use her guard order
without any monster being adjacent the her and without being able to
legally attack, just because her special ability allows her to
possibly move into range of a monster before attacking.
Is the attack mandatory for her to get the movement? So can she just
discard her guard and move to town without attacking anything?
A. Anyone can 'use' their guard order anytime they want to on the OL's
turn. They don't have to have a legal attack to do so, they can just
waste it. Tahlia is only different in that it actually matters for
her.
The attack is not mandatory, merely the expenditure of the guard
order.

"Tahlia receives movement points as a result of her ability (it's the
same wording as always), so she can perform movement actions with
them. Note that if she opens a chest or a door or whatever, that's
okay. It simply gets resolved and then (once her interrupt action is
done) the OL's turn continues as normal. Think of it sort of as her
getting an Advance instead of just an interrupt attack (but she
doesn't REALLY get an Advance, so no munchkining combos).
But no, she can't spend fatigue on extra movement, as it isn't her
turn. Items like the ring of quickness don't give her extra movement
because again, it isn't her turn. OLs beware, however, as she can use
her interrupt movement to go through a glyph to town, or even to lurk
in town with a guard order, only to pop back through into the dungeon
on the OL's turn (remember, only 1 trip through the glyph per turn,
though). You will need to watch your monsters around a guarding
Tahlia. In fact, several of the heroes in AoD will force you to change
your strategies. Hey, why should the heroes be the only ones to have
to do that?

Q: "Stairwell. Let's say I have a character who can attack with a
blast weapon. She is standing on a stairwell and has line of sight to
the corresponding stairwell as well as the adjacent spaces. If she
fires at one of the adjacent spaces, and gives it a total of Blast 4,
does the blast travel back through the strairwell?"
A: Yes

Q: "Gust of Wind makes the hero's LOS 5 spaces. Does this count for
Boggs as well? I guess so, but I'm not sure......"
A: Gust of Wind only effects the Heroes. Boggs is a familar and not a
Hero and thus is not effected. Besides, rats can see in the dark.

Q: "There are three treasures that offer one-time healing to a hero:
Jinn's Lamp, Amulet of Healing, and Crystal of Tival. All three say
"Discard after equipping at the start of your turn..."... Should "at
the start of your turn" just be ignored, or does it have some other
significance?"
A: It can only be used at the start of your turn after Step 2: Equip
Items. The result is that you will have only 1 Other item (if any)
equipped.

Q. If a hero plays the Subterfuge Feat Card "Disarm" against an
"Animate Weapons" trap card and succeeds with the necessary die roll,
does the Feat Card cancel the Trap Card completely for all heros, or
just for the hero who played "Disarm" ?
A. It cancels the entire effect of the Trap card.

Knight Skill
If you have the Knight skill you may activate it by spending 2 fatigue
when declaring a Battle action. If you activate it then you gain 3
attacks instead of 2 and you also gain movement points equal to half
your speed (round up). If you do not activate it you do not receive
any benefit from the skill. You may only use the Knight skill once
during your turn.

Q. Do any figures block the heroes' line of sight for the purposes of
spawning?
A. No, figures never block line of sight for spawning purposes.

Q. With the plot card "Brother against Brother" and the "enslaved"
lingering effect....It says that the Overlord gains control of the
heroes turn, What does this mean exactly?....declare actions, re-equip/
un-equip items, move, spend fatigue....in addition to attack??
A. Most of the restrictions that apply with "Dark Charm" also apply
here.
The overlord may declare an action for the hero. He may move the hero
and make attacks as allowed by that action. (He may even place and
spend order tokens such as Aim!)
He may not force the hero to do any of the following: spend fatigue,
spend health, drink potions, and items. He may also not force the hero
to make an attack that includes himself in the area of effect. He may,
however, re-equip the character following normal rules provided he
does not violate any of these restrictions.

Guard vs Mimic
Guard cannot be used against a mimic until the overlord's turn, so it
cannot immediately attack.
Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages