Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Domain problem -- newworldtech.com

1 view
Skip to first unread message

Jeff Wark

unread,
Feb 1, 2007, 3:47:16 PM2/1/07
to
One of our customers is having trouble receiving email from the domain 'newworldtech.com'.

I appears that our mail servers/DNS servers are unable to resolve the domain newworldtech.com at certain times [no real pattern].

Here is a sample from our logs:

12:01:51.53 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) got connection on [192.168.26.160:25](tbaytel.net) from [205.200.67.67:42656]
12:02:12.60 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) rsp: 220 tbaytel.net SMTP server is glad to see you
12:02:12.70 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) cmd: EHLO ranier.newworldtech.com
12:02:12.80 3 SMTPI-46305(ranier.newworldtech.com) failed to resolve HELO parameter: host name is unknown. Real address is
[205.200.67.67]
12:02:12.80 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) rsp: 250-front2.tbaytel.net host name is unknown
ranier.newworldtech.com\r\n250-DSN\r\n250-SIZE\r\n250-STARTTLS\r\n250-AUTH LOGIN PLAIN CRAM-MD5 DIGEST-MD5 GSSAPI MSN
NTLM\r\n250-ETRN\r\n250-TURN\r\n250-ATRN\r\n250-NO-SOLICITING\r\n250-8BITMIME\r\n250-HELP\
12:02:12.92 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) cmd: MAIL FROM:<russ...@newworldtech.com>
12:02:12.92 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) SPF(newworldtech.com) checking
12:02:13.02 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) SPF(newworldtech.com) result=none
12:02:13.12 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) checking relay 205-200-67-67.static.mts.net
12:02:13.22 1 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) Return-Path 'russ...@newworldtech.com' rejected: host name is unknown
12:02:15.22 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) rsp: 572 russ...@newworldtech.com host name is unknown
12:02:15.36 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) cmd: QUIT
12:02:15.36 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) rsp: 221 front2.tbaytel.net So long Space Coyote!
12:02:15.36 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) closing connection
12:02:15.36 4 SMTPI-46305([205.200.67.67]) releasing stream

As far as I can tell, ranier.newworldtech.com doesn't exist, but it isn't the problem. The MX records for newworldtech.com are
incorrect in that the primary MX host [205-200-67-67.static.mts.net] does not exist. That may be the problem, but why isn't the
secondary host checked? For some reason my DNS servers are having trouble resolving newworldtech.com as a domain at some point or
the primary MX [always]. DNSreports.com says the domain is okay except for the primary MX.

Can anyone see anything else wrong with this domain? I've had problems with domains in the past and the problem always seems to
be with one DNS server [stealth or otherwise] being listed as authoritative and it isn't or something with the other domains DNS
settings. I can see no such problem here except for the primary MX record.

Any ideas/workarounds?


Jeff Wark
TBayTel Internet

#############################################################
This message is sent to you because you are subscribed to
the mailing list <CGat...@mail.stalker.com>.
To unsubscribe, E-mail to: <CGateP...@mail.stalker.com>
To switch to the DIGEST mode, E-mail to <CGatePr...@mail.stalker.com>
To switch to the INDEX mode, E-mail to <CGatePr...@mail.stalker.com>
Send administrative queries to <CGatePro...@mail.stalker.com>

Jim Rossi

unread,
Feb 1, 2007, 5:01:37 PM2/1/07
to

Well, this is what I know, newworldtech.com isn't a computer tech as the
issue is their mail server (an exchange box) responding as if it's name
is ranier.newworldtech.com, which isn't even a valid FQDN (exchange
checks for this, so they are probably getting errors galore on that
machine).
I would call them and tell them to fix it. In the meantime, put a host
record on your server for the IP (205.200.67.67) to
ranier.newworldtech.com

Is your cgp verifying return path?


Jim Rossi
Allegro Consultants
Support Manager
(804) 553-1130

Any ideas/workarounds?


Jeff Wark
TBayTel Internet

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This transmittal is a confidential communication or may otherwise be privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that you have received this transmittal in error and that any review, dissemination, distribution or copying of this transmittal is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please notify this office, and immediately delete this message and all its attachments, if any.

Jeff Wark

unread,
Feb 2, 2007, 9:53:37 AM2/2/07
to
Hello Jim.

I am verifying return paths for non-clients. I think this is the same as the problem I had about 1/2 year ago. hockeycanada.ca
had 3 equal mx records, but one of the hosts didn't exist, so 1/3 of the time, we would reject mail from them. The router record
to fix it was as follows:

N:M: hockeycanada.ca=hockeyc...@els.ihostsxode.net.25.via

where els.ihostsxode.net was one of the two valid hosts listed as MX hosts.

I have done the same for newworldtech.com using their apparent secondary MX.

0 new messages