Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

False Positives on Spam Filter

8 views
Skip to first unread message

Phil Masters

unread,
Dec 31, 2008, 3:40:21 PM12/31/08
to
The Demon spam filter seems to have been okay for me until now, but
suddenly I've got someone complaining that it's bouncing his messages
to me. Specifically, it seems to bounce any messages containing links
which he needs to include to invite me to join a Google Docs group -
which I need to join for work purposes.

Is this any kind of known problem, and is there a workaround?

(I'll try and get him to use the False Positive reporting option, but
it'd be nice to nail this ASAP.)

The bounce messages which he's sent me are as follows:

For a message from his own domain:
------------
This is the Postfix program at host 124706-web1.imrpro.com.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

The Postfix program

<xx...@philm.demon.co.uk>: host punt-1.mail.demon.net[194.217.242.248]
said: 550
Visit
http://www.demon.net/Scripts/fp.do?id=To_D6bI1i4TcPb6Eb1fupesrK4s7 to
report false positives (in reply to end of DATA command)


Reporting-MTA: dns; 124706-web1.imrpro.com
X-Postfix-Queue-ID: F19C1356C89F
X-Postfix-Sender: rfc822; xx...@xxxx.com
Arrival-Date: Tue, 30 Dec 2008 13:14:04 -0500 (EST)

Final-Recipient: rfc822; xx...@philm.demon.co.uk
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0
Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; host
punt-1.mail.demon.net[194.217.242.248]
said:
550 Visit
http://www.demon.net/Scripts/fp.do?id=To_D6bI1i4TcPb6Eb1fupesrK4s7
to
report false positives (in reply to end of DATA command)
----------

And the one from G-Docs when he generated an invitation from there:
----------
This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification

Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:

xx...@philm.demon.co.uk

Technical details of permanent failure:
Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the
recipient domain. We recommend contacting the other email provider for
further information about the cause of this error. The error that the
other server returned was: 550 550 Visit
http://www.demon.net/Scripts/fp.do?id=70d0qDw9TNAY3sxvNbL,Mt7Pwv_, to
report false positives (state 18).
----------

--
Phil Masters
* http://www.philm.demon.co.uk *
Blog: http://philmasters.blogspot.com/
"A sound banker, alas, is not one who foresees danger and
avoids it, but one who, when he is ruined, is ruined in a
conventional way along with his fellows, so that no one
can really blame him." -- John Maynard keynes

Wm...

unread,
Dec 31, 2008, 4:25:46 PM12/31/08
to
Wed, 31 De
c 2008 20:40:21 <mnlnl4lptku6g130d...@4ax.com>
demon.service Phil Masters <ph...@philm.demon.co.uk>

>The Demon spam filter seems to have been okay for me until now, but
>suddenly I've got someone complaining that it's bouncing his messages
>to me. Specifically, it seems to bounce any messages containing links
>which he needs to include to invite me to join a Google Docs group -
>which I need to join for work purposes.
>
>Is this any kind of known problem, and is there a workaround?
>
>(I'll try and get him to use the False Positive reporting option, but
>it'd be nice to nail this ASAP.)

If you know it is a false positive report it yourself.

[snip]

You have munged a lot. Don't do that again as you may not be believed
next time.

Make the report to the correct address. If you do it correctly it
works.

--
Wm...
Reply-To: address valid for at least 7 days

Richard Clayton

unread,
Dec 31, 2008, 4:41:00 PM12/31/08
to
In article <mnlnl4lptku6g130d...@4ax.com>, Phil Masters
<ph...@philm.demon.co.uk> writes

>The Demon spam filter seems to have been okay for me until now, but
>suddenly I've got someone complaining that it's bouncing his messages
>to me. Specifically, it seems to bounce any messages containing links
>which he needs to include to invite me to join a Google Docs group -
>which I need to join for work purposes.
>
>Is this any kind of known problem,

not for groups in general...

>and is there a workaround?

PGP :) ... or just turn off the filter for a short period (there's
still a lot less spam around generally than when McColo was operating,
and for the past two weeks it's been quiet anyway [lots of sending
machines turned off by their unwitting owners])

>(I'll try and get him to use the False Positive reporting option, but
>it'd be nice to nail this ASAP.)

Using the false positive option is essential, since this will permit the
third party supplier to know what triggered ...

>http://www.demon.net/Scripts/fp.do?id=To_D6bI1i4TcPb6Eb1fupesrK4s7 to
> report false positives (in reply to end of DATA command)

though since you seem to have the URLs, you can do that for him :)

--
richard writing to inform and not as company policy

"Assembly of Japanese bicycle require great peace of mind" quoted in ZAMM

0 new messages