Wed, May 18 at 5pm CET: Discussion of Chapter 8 of "The Evolutionary Dynamics of Discursive Knowledge" (Loet's Leydesdorff's book)

3 views
Skip to first unread message

Jaimi Hendrix

unread,
May 15, 2022, 9:36:33 PMMay 15
to cogi...@googlegroups.com

Dear colleagues:


This is a reminder that, this Wednesday, May 18 at 5pm CET, we meet again via ZOOM to discuss the 8th chapter of Loet Leydesdorff's book. (Scroll down to see the original invitation):  


1. There will be two commentaries, each one 15-minute each, by:  


2. ZOOM link:  https://us02web.zoom.us/j/9116543210?pwd=RkJWR0JtaDRVYTRNZE5yUVAxbVQ2Zz09 


3. The ZOOM room will open at 4:45pm CET.


4. Each commentator is given 15 minutes to present, followed by 5 minutes to address clarification questions. The remaining time will be used for interactive discussion.


5. The settings of the COGITATA googlegroup are such that anyone can access the email discussion.  However, to join the discussion, one must first join the Googlegroup at https://groups.google.com/g/cogitata?hl=en.


Let me know if you have any questions or comments.

 

My very best, 

Jaimi Hendrickx

1-607-624-9876

Ithaca, NY 14850 USA

--

--

Dear colleagues,


You are cordially invited to join the slow-read/discussion of The Evolutionary Dynamics of Discursive Knowledge, the latest book by Loet Leydesdorff. The book is freely available (Open Access). It provides an introduction to the connections between systems theory, evolutionary theory, sociology, STS, communication theory, and cybernetics and its objective is to facilitate interdisciplinary exchange.  We will read and discuss about one chapter each month.  Scroll down for the schedule.


The book discussion will take place via ZOOM on the third Wednesday of every month at 5pm CET (4pm BST, 11am EST, 8am PST(**)). Each ZOOM meeting, three scholars will give a brief commentary on the chapter scheduled for that day, followed by an interactive discussion. The ZOOM room link is the following: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/9116543210?pwd=RkJWR0JtaDRVYTRNZE5yUVAxbVQ2Zz09  


If you would like to act as a commentator for any of the chapters (max 15 minutes, max 7 PPT slides), please get in touch with one of the event organizers (johns...@gmail.com or  jaimi....@gmail.com) to finalize the details.  Commentaries in the form of a video presentation (maximum 20 minutes) are welcomed, especially from those who cannot join the ZOOM meetings due to international time zone differences.


Past ZOOM meetings:

Wednesday, December 15, 2021 - Chapter 1 - Knowledge-based Innovation and Social Coordination <pdf>  


Wednesday, January, 19 2022 - Discussion of Chapter 2 - The Communication Turn in Philosophy of Science <pdf>; and

Chapter 3 - Scientific Communication and Codification <pdf> 


Wednesday,  Feb 16, 2022 -- Discussion of Chapter 4 -  Towards a Calculus of Redundancy

Wednesday,  March 16, 2022 – Chapter 5 - Evolutionary & Institutional Triple Helix Models. Comments by:

Wednesday,   April 20, 2022 - Chapter 6  Regions, Innovations & the North-South Divide in Italy; and Chapter 7 - The Measurement of Synergy.  Comments by  :
Remaining ZOOM meetings:
(Go to https://groups.google.com/g/cogitata?hl=en for the latest updates)

Wednesday,   May 18, 2022 – Chapter 8 - Anticipation and the Dynamics of Expectations. Comments by  :


Wednesday,  June 15, 2022 – Chapter 9 - Subdynamics in Knowledge-based Systems. Comments by:


Wednesday,  July 20, 2022 – Chapter 10 - Cultural and Biological Evolution.  Comments by:

Wednesday,  August 17, 2022 – Chapter 11 - Summary and Conclusions. Comments by:

  • Jerome Warren (Economics & Social Sciences, Univ. of Cologne, Germany)


Reviews of the book:

- Schirone, Mark. (2021). Review of: Leydesdorff, Loet. The evolutionary dynamics of discursive knowledge. Communication-theoretical perspectives on an empirical philosophy of science. Cham: Springer Nature, 2021. Information Research, Vol 26 No 3, Review no. R725 [Retrieved from http://www.informationr.net/ir/reviews/revs725.html]

- Mark Johnson’s review "Leydesdorff’s Compass: A Review of “The Evolutionary Dynamics of Discursive Knowledge,”  will be published in the November/December  issue 2021 of Cybernetics and Human Knowing.

- Inga Ivanova (2021), New Frontiers in the Theory of Meaning in Inter-Human Communications, Technological Forecasting & Social Change, 167(2) 120672      


Additional details:

- An open-access copy of the book is available at https://rd.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-030-59951-5.

- Email discussions will be archived here at https://groups.google.com/g/cogitata?hl=en. Everyone is welcome to join the Google group. 

- RSVP to jaimi....@gmail.com. RSVP is not necessary, but preferred.

- This event series is hosted by Club of Remy - Speed Dating of Ideas, a loosely affiliated group of cyberneticians.  For more details on the Club of Remy, check out its web site, www.clubofremy.org, or its YouTube channel at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJumBT3J15xhAoNs9CnrSVg/about

- Each ZOOM session will be recorded and posted in the Club of Remy YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJumBT3J15xhAoNs9CnrSVg/videos

- For further information about this event series, contact Mark Johnson (Cybernetics, Univ. of Liverpool) at johns...@gmail.com or Margaretha "Jaimi" Hendrickx at jaimi....@gmail.com.


(**) Changes in schedule due to Daylight Saving Time (DST) changes:

Please, synchronize with 5pm Paris/Amsterdam/Berlin/Maribor/Ljubljana time.  

Note that in March 2022, the USA moves its clocks 1 hour forward two weeks before the EU countries move their clocks forward.  Consequently, in March 2022, the ZOOM meeting will start 1 hour later for those residing in the United States at that time:  

   - Dec 2021 - Feb 2022: 5pm CET (4pm GMT, 11am EST, 8am PST)

   - Mar 2022: 5pm CET (4pm GMT, 12pm EDT, 9am PDT)

   - Apr - Aug 2022: 5 pm CEST (4pm BST, 11am EDT, 8am PDT)

To find out when DST changes go into effect for your country, visit https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html



--
Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages