Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Old TRS-80 software

87 views
Skip to first unread message

Bill Gunshannon

unread,
Mar 4, 2013, 2:42:38 PM3/4/13
to
Has anyone ever approached Tandy about the possibility of their
releasing their old TRS-80 software sources to the world? I
can't imagine this stuff has any real value left at this point
but it would be fun to play with. Imagine a port of TRSDOS to
the PC. :-)

bill

--
Bill Gunshannon | de-moc-ra-cy (di mok' ra see) n. Three wolves
bill...@cs.scranton.edu | and a sheep voting on what's for dinner.
University of Scranton |
Scranton, Pennsylvania | #include <std.disclaimer.h>

Tom Lake

unread,
Mar 5, 2013, 2:14:21 AM3/5/13
to
"Bill Gunshannon" wrote in message news:apkbpe...@mid.individual.net...

Has anyone ever approached Tandy about the possibility of their
releasing their old TRS-80 software sources to the world? I
can't imagine this stuff has any real value left at this point
but it would be fun to play with. Imagine a port of TRSDOS to
the PC. :-)

bill
Most of Radio Shack's (There is no longer a Tandy Corp. -
They changed their legal name) IP was sold to AST when they got out of the
business. The contents of the BASIC ROMs were owned by Microsoft
for Level II and Model III BASIC. Of course Frank Durda or other Radio Shack
experts could give you more info.

Tom Lake

Clu

unread,
Mar 10, 2013, 12:36:28 AM3/10/13
to
There was an interest to start a Tandy website mentioned on Atariage:

http://www.atariage.com/forums/topic/207383-tandy-website/page__hl__trs#820880#entry2673754

Check it out, give it support!



Michael Black

unread,
Mar 10, 2013, 11:55:54 PM3/10/13
to
But why? Such websites exist, some can be pretty detailed. That's one of
the problems with the internet, once everyone wsa let in, it means people
rush ahead without looking at whatever exists. If something isn't in
front of their face, they figure it doesn't exist, and thus rush to
action.

Besides, what does this have to do with the state of the copyrights on the
software? The only thing I see is a suggestion that this might be a
bootleg site, about archiving software rather than infomration.

Michael

0 new messages