It seems to me that the first part says that I have been given a wrong
address for the the Belgian embassy. (It was a second-hand source,
though I thought it authoratitive).
It seems to me that the second half is saying that my mailer does not
support MIME. But it does! It is Messenger Pro, version 4.08.
What are these faults and what action should I take to get my message
through?
Michael Bell
................................................................
From: Mail Delivery System <Mailer...@ptb-relay01.plus.net>
To: mic...@beaverbell.co.uk
Subject: Mail delivery failure: returning message to sender
Date: Thu, 04 May 2006 11:50:21 +0100
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es)
failed:
in...@belgium-embassy.co.uk
It appears that the DNS operator for belgium-embassy.co.uk
has installed an invalid MX record with an IP address
instead of a domain name on the right hand side.
------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers.
------
Return-path: <mic...@beaverbell.co.uk>
Received: from [87.114.3.136] (helo=bear.michael.beaverbell.co.uk)
by ptb-relay01.plus.net with esmtp (Exim) id
1FbbPP-000188-OV
for in...@belgium-embassy.co.uk; Thu, 04 May 2006 11:50:14
+0100
Subject: Information on "Confidential doctor"
To: in...@belgium-embassy.co.uk
From: Michael Bell <mic...@beaverbell.co.uk>
X-Editor: EmailEdit 1.28
Date: Thu, 04 May 2006 11:50:40 +0100
Message-ID: <2f8cb3214e....@michael.beaverbell.co.uk>
X-Organization: Home
User-Agent: Messenger-Pro/4.08 (MsgServe/3.23) (RISC-OS/4.02)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="1696350022--154804329--767783104"
This message is in MIME format which your mailer apparently does not
support.
You either require a newer version of your software which supports
MIME, or
a separate MIME decoding utility. Alternatively, ask the sender of
this
message to resend it in a different format.
--1696350022--154804329--767783104
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
--
> It seems to me that the first part says that I have been given a wrong
> address for the the Belgian embassy. (It was a second-hand source,
> though I thought it authoratitive).
A quick google shows the website for the embassy: www.diplomatie.be/london
> It seems to me that the second half is saying that my mailer does not
> support MIME. But it does! It is Messenger Pro, version 4.08.
> What are these faults and what action should I take to get my message
> through?
--
From KT24 - in drought-ridden Surrey
Using a RISC OS5 computer
> What are these faults and what action should I take to get my message
> through?
The correct email address and that's about it - the MIME bit is usually
not worth worrying about. If you've sent plain text, it'll get through -
it's probably something at their end which is screwy on that one.
TTFN
Paul
--
"Logic, my dear Zoe, is merely the ability to be wrong with authority" -
Dr Who
It's showing you the initial text of the message, raw.
Messenger Pro is indeed MIME capable, and has indeed sent a MIME message
(as indicated by the MIME-Version header and all the boundary= stuff),
including a portion that would only be displayed if the recipient did
not have a MIME capable client. If the recipient has a client that
supports MIME, they would never see that text unless they looked at the
raw message. Most, if not all, MIME capable clients do something along
those lines.
Mike
--
Mike Sandells
The University of Liverpool - Computing Services Department
Work: mik...@liv.ac.uk http://www.liv.ac.uk/csd
Home: mi...@mikejs.com http://www.mikejs.com
> It seems to me that the first part says that I have been
> given a wrong address for the the Belgian embassy.
You have.
> (It was a second-hand source, though I thought it
> authoratitive).
[Snip]
Not the right address.
www.belgium-embassy.co.uk takes you to a domain parking
firm.
The London Embassy's website is www.diplobel.org.uk which
sounds and looks a lot more authoritative.
The e-mail address is lon...@diplobel.be
Nothing to do with your software.
--
Russell
http://www.russell-hafter-holidays.co.uk
Russell Hafter Holidays E-mail to enquiries at our domain
Holiday specialists for Germany, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic
Tel 01946 861652 Fax 01946 862085
Regards, Paul S.
--
Paul Shayler M3TSF/G6TSF
Running the Internet accelerator ONSPEED.
Details at http://www.onspeed.com
> In article <4c78b6214e....@michael.beaverbell.co.uk>,
> Michael Bell <mic...@beaverbell.co.uk> wrote:
>> I got the non-delivery message below.
>
>> It seems to me that the first part says that I have been given a wrong
>> address for the the Belgian embassy. (It was a second-hand source,
>> though I thought it authoratitive).
>
> A quick google shows the website for the embassy: www.diplomatie.be/london
Using Google, I found one of the pages of the genuine (I think!)
Belgian embassy site, but clicking on the "home page" button got me to
a tourist company's site. Some kind of "pop-up" I suppose.
So I used Google, and I found the address I quote. But it was still
wrong!
Michael Bell
--
> In article
> <4c78b6214e....@michael.beaverbell.co.uk>,
> Michael Bell <mic...@beaverbell.co.uk> wrote:
>> I got the non-delivery message below.
>
>> It seems to me that the first part says that I have been
>> given a wrong address for the the Belgian embassy.
>
> You have.
>
>> (It was a second-hand source, though I thought it
>> authoratitive).
>
> [Snip]
>
>> in...@belgium-embassy.co.uk
>
> Not the right address.
>
> www.belgium-embassy.co.uk takes you to a domain parking
> firm.
>
> The London Embassy's website is www.diplobel.org.uk which
> sounds and looks a lot more authoritative.
>
> The e-mail address is lon...@diplobel.be
I used that one (actually a Belgian location for the London embassy?)
and it hasn't been bounced in 5 hours, so I suppose it's OK.
Michael Bell
--
> > The London Embassy's website is www.diplobel.org.uk
> > which sounds and looks a lot more authoritative.
> > The e-mail address is lon...@diplobel.be
> I used that one (actually a Belgian location for the
> London embassy?) and it hasn't been bounced in 5 hours,
> so I suppose it's OK.
Why not?
It is hardly surprising that diplomatic representations for
a country would use their own country's top level domain!
The Belgian Tourist Office Brussels and Wallonia in London
has the domain www.belgiumtheplaceto.be - quite clever.
But Flanders, Germany and the Czech republic all have .com
domains, Austria .info, at least for their English Language
sites.