It's happened, so I anticipated the (I suspect canned) "not guilty"
response. But I complained anyway......
Spam arrived at my machine (hosting scottsonline.org.uk) (running
sendmail 8.13.8). The headers started thus:
------
Return-Path: <twaddl...@yahoo.com>
Received: from n1b.bullet.ukl.yahoo.com (n1b.bullet.ukl.yahoo.com
[217.12.4.125])
by scottsonline.org.uk (8.13.8/8.13.8) with SMTP id lBC48d1N069653
for <mi...@scottsonline.org.uk>; Wed, 12 Dec 2007 04:08:41 GMT
(envelope-from twaddl...@yahoo.com)
Received: from [217.12.4.214] by n1.bullet.ukl.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 12
Dec 2007 04:08:38 -0000
Received: from [216.252.122.218] by t1.bullet.ukl.yahoo.com with NNFMP;
12 Dec 2007 04:08:38 -0000
Received: from [69.147.84.34] by t3.bullet.sp1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 12
Dec 2007 04:08:38 -0000
Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp210.mail.sp1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 12
Dec 2007 04:08:38 -0000
X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-5
X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: 131569....@omp210.mail.sp1.yahoo.com
Received: (qmail 86679 invoked by uid 60001); 12 Dec 2007 04:08:37 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
s=s1024; d=yahoo.com;
h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:Date:From:Subject:To:Cc:MIME-Version:Content-Type
:Content-Transfer-Encoding:Message-ID;b=xmhCa53UWJNXX3Sdy0VAa9m4TNgsZG5s3OsuRCvl97An7EW1dfoZP0yMK9o+f8gqi+aBfS
xEogMnwsxOOthv0Nev8OTuPunH97xaAUN9f4jr3RbR7Pu9Cp2kAeslgrkRRtbCXR/lxjeOVM
AiWyD8tiNCXF3axYxOAje/hmeApeI=;
X-YMail-OSG:
nCWtbWsVM1mR5hK2ZteO9_KrTp2pgSdaYAhScIbywANbJCBEL53bM0mB65lqSssZ9w--
Received: from [204.117.158.114] by web45511.mail.sp1.yahoo.com via
HTTP; Tue, 11 Dec 2007 20:08:37 PST
Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2007 20:08:37 -0800 (PST)
From: aftrekrollen floatation <twaddl...@yahoo.com>
Subject: Las Vegas Bonus
----------------
These, with the rest of the headers and body were sent to Yahoo's abuse
address.
Their reply?
"After investigation, we have determined that this email message did not
originate from the Yahoo! Mail system. It appears that the sender of
this message forged the header information to give the impression that
it came from the Yahoo! Mail system."
My analysis is that my machine - the only one I can trust not to have
forged anything - got the mail from 217.12.4.125.
whois 217.12.4.125 shows
% Information related to '217.12.4.0 - 217.12.4.255'
inetnum: 217.12.4.0 - 217.12.4.255
netname: YAHOONET
descr: Yahoo! Europe
country: GB
admin-c: YEU-RIPE
tech-c: YEU-RIPE
status: ASSIGNED PA
mnt-by: YAHOO-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
role: Yahoo Europe Operations Department
address: Yahoo Europe Operations
address: 125 Shaftesbury Avenue
(etc, etc)
QED????
Or are yahoo deliberately and knowingly hosting spammers?
Has anyone ever had success from complaining to yahoo?
--
Mike Scott (unet <at> scottsonline.org.uk)
Harlow Essex England
> Or are yahoo deliberately and knowingly hosting spammers?
They have some world-class idiots at their abuse desk. I once sent
postm...@yahoo.com a notice that their incoming smtp server was down.
48 hours later they responded asking what my abuse complaint was about.
> Has anyone ever had success from complaining to yahoo?
Never received such a response from them. Generally they seem to send
larts to /dev/null.