Workshop on Generic Programming: Call for Papers (co-located w/ ICFP08)

Skip to first unread message

Matthew Fluet (ICFP Publicity Chair)

May 8, 2008, 3:05:47 PM5/8/08

Workshop on Generic Programming 2008

Victoria, Canada, 20th September 2008{html,pdf,ps,txt}

The Workshop on Generic Programming is sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN
and forms part of ICFP 2008. Previous Workshops on Generic
Programming have been held in Marstrand (affiliated with MPC),
Ponte de Lima (affiliated with MPC), Nottingham (informal
workshop), Dagstuhl (IFIP WG2.1 Working Conference), Oxford
(informal workshop), Utrecht (informal workshop), and Portland
(affiliated with ICFP).


Generic programming is about making programs more adaptable by making
them more general. Generic programs often embody non-traditional
kinds of polymorphism; ordinary programs are obtained from them by
suitably instantiating their parameters. In contrast with normal
programs, the parameters of a generic program are often quite rich in
structure; for example they may be other programs, types or type
constructors, class hierarchies, or even programming paradigms.

Generic programming techniques have always been of interest, both
to practitioners and to theoreticians, but only recently have generic
programming techniques become a specific focus of research in the
functional and object-oriented programming language communities. This
workshop will bring together leading researchers in generic
programming from around the world, and feature papers capturing the
state of the art in this important emerging area.

We welcome contributions on all aspects, theoretical as well as
practical, of

o adaptive object-oriented programming,
o aspect-oriented programming,
o component-based programming,
o generic programming,
o meta-programming,
o polytypic programming,
o programming with modules, and so on.

Submission details

Deadline for submission: 30th June 2008
Notification of acceptance: 14th July 2008
Final submission due: 28th July 2008
Workshop: 20th September 2008

Authors should submit papers, in PostScript or PDF format, formatted
for A4 paper, to Ralf Hinze ( or Don Syme
( by 30th June 2008. The length should be
restricted to 12 pages in standard (two-column, 9pt) ACM. Accepted
papers are published by the ACM and will additionally appear in the
ACM digital library.

Programme committee

Ralf Hinze (co-chair) University of Oxford
Patrik Jansson Chalmers University
Andrew Lumsdaine Indiana University
Conor McBride University of Nottingham
Adriaan Moors Universiteit Leuven
Fritz Ruehr Willamette University
Tim Sheard Portland State University
Don Syme (co-chair) Microsoft Research
Todd Veldhuizen University of Waterloo

Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages