SIGAda Award nomination deadline approaching

Skip to first unread message

John McCormick

Sep 8, 2010, 9:30:06 AM9/8/10
Dear Members of the Ada Community:

On Thursday, 28 October 2010, the 2010 SIGAda Awards will be presented
in a special morning plenary session at the SIGAda 2010 conference in
Fairfax, Virginia. (See if you
have somehow missed announcements of this year's annual SIGAda
international conference.)

We welcome your nominations of deserving recipients.

The ACM SIGAda Awards recognize individuals and organizations who have
made outstanding contributions to the Ada community and to SIGAda.
The two categories of awards are:

(1) Outstanding Ada Community Contribution Award
-- For broad, lasting contributions to Ada technology & usage.

(2) ACM SIGAda Distinguished Service Award
-- For exceptional contributions to SIGAda activities & products.

Please consider who should be nominated this year. You may nominate a
person for either or both awards, and as many people as you think
worthy. One or more awards will be made in both categories.

Please visit
and peruse the names of past winners. This may help you think about
the measure of accomplishment that is appropriate. You may be aware
of people who have made substantial contributions that have not yet
been acknowledged. Nominate them. Consider what you believe to be the
best developments in the Ada community or SIGAda in the last year; the
last 5 years; since Ada's inception. Who was responsible? Nominate

Please note that anyone who has received either of the two awards
remains eligible for the other. Perhaps there is an outstanding
SIGAda volunteer who has won our Distinguished Service Award and who
has also made important contributions to the advance of Ada
technology, or visa versa. Nominate him or her!

The nomination form is available on the SIGAda website at

Submit your nomination as an e-mail or e-mail attachment to SIGAda-

The ACM SIGAda Awards Committee, comprised of volunteers who have
previously won an award, will determine this year's recipients from
your nominations.

Call our attention to the people who are most deserving, by nominating
them. And please nominate by Monday September 13!

Your participation in the nominations process will help maintain the
prestige and honor of these awards.

Thank you,

John McCormick
Past Chair ACM SIGAda

Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages