Fwd: [Action Required] Google XMPP API Turndown on October 31, 2017

44 views
Skip to first unread message

Guido van Rossum

unread,
Oct 25, 2017, 10:53:55 AM10/25/17
to codereview-discuss
I've been receiving emails from Google App Engine that the XMPP service will be shut down. This probably means we've got to deploy a new version of Rietveld that doesn't use this. I have totally lost track of my App Engine developer capabilities -- does anyone want to help here?

--Guido

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Google Cloud Platform <CloudPlatf...@google.com>
Date: Wed, Oct 25, 2017 at 6:27 AM
Subject: [Action Required] Google XMPP API Turndown on October 31, 2017
To: gvanr...@gmail.com


Please migrate from XMPP API by October 31st, 2017
Google Cloud Platform
MY CONSOLE

Dear App Engine Developer,

We first notified customers in October 2016 that Google XMPP API would be turned down after a one year deprecation period; this is a reminder that the XMPP API has been deprecated and will be permanently turned down on October 31st, 2017. After October 31st, 2017, you will no longer be able to use the XMPP API, and calls made to it in your code will fail. Please migrate your projects off XMPP API as soon as possible. For more information, see the XMPP API Service Turndown page.

You are listed as an owner of the following project(s) using the XMPP API:

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you.

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact Google Cloud Support or your Account Manager.


Was this information helpful?
YES   NO
Sincerely,
The Google App Engine Team
DOCUMENTATION
SUPPORT
© 2017 Google LLC. 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043

You have received this mandatory service announcement to update you about important changes to Google Cloud Platform or your account.
G+     Blogger     GitHub     LinkedIn     Twitter
                                                                                     



--
--Guido van Rossum (python.org/~guido)

Andi Albrecht

unread,
Oct 25, 2017, 11:06:22 AM10/25/17
to Guido van Rossum, codereview-discuss

Hi,

I've had quick look at it. Actually it seems to be me who deployed the current version about 2 years ago (and I still got access).

It seems we just need to disable the XMMP stuff, which should be pretty easy. The next few days I've got some time to look into it and deploy a new version.

Andi


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "codereview-discuss" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to codereview-disc...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.

Cédric Krier

unread,
Oct 25, 2017, 11:35:06 AM10/25/17
to Andi Albrecht, Guido van Rossum, codereview-discuss
On 2017-10-25 15:06, Andi Albrecht wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I've had quick look at it. Actually it seems to be me who deployed the
> current version about 2 years ago (and I still got access).
>
> It seems we just need to disable the XMMP stuff, which should be pretty
> easy. The next few days I've got some time to look into it and deploy a new
> version.

I submitted a pull request 1 months ago to remove XMPP notification:
https://github.com/rietveld-codereview/rietveld/pull/557

--
Cédric Krier - B2CK SPRL
Email/Jabber: cedric...@b2ck.com
Tel: +32 472 54 46 59
Website: http://www.b2ck.com/

Andi Albrecht

unread,
Oct 25, 2017, 12:04:15 PM10/25/17
to Guido van Rossum, codereview-discuss

Cédric, you're my hero! ;)

Sorry for not taking action on this pull request yet! To be honest, I've been very busy at work lately and this just slipped through. Don't mind to ping me directly in that case.

I'll setup the dev environment the upcoming days, merge your pull request and upload the new version.

Andi

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages