Upload.py could not identify the VCS

38 views
Skip to first unread message

Nishant Pandey

unread,
Dec 8, 2015, 2:54:04 AM12/8/15
to codereview-discuss
Hi,

I am using Windows OS & as a version control i have Tortoise SVN installed, i have one diff in my svn directory which i am trying to send for
code review , but upload.py could not identify the VCS, "Does Tortoise SVN not supported"? please suggest.

Regards,
Nishant

Nishant Pandey

unread,
Dec 8, 2015, 4:13:06 AM12/8/15
to codereview-discuss

Hi Guys,

I am dumping the Options string that is coming out of my way :

{'save_cookies': True, 'help': None, 'print_diffs': None, 'cc': None, 'reviewers': None, 'download_base': False, 'private': False, 'file': None, 'p4_port': None, 'message': None, 'verbose': 1, 'oauth2_port': 8001, 'git_similarity': 50, 'git_find_copies': True, 'title': None, 'emulate_svn_auto_props': False, 'base_url': None, 'open_oauth2_local_webbrowser': True, 'vcs': None, 'issue': None, 'email': None, 'revision': None, 'account_type': 'GOOGLE', 'host': None, 'use_oauth2': False, 'git_find_copies_harder': True, 'assume_yes': False, 'send_patch': False, 'server': 'codereview.appspot.com', 'num_upload_threads': 8, 'p4_user': None, 'p4_changelist': None, 'send_mail': False, 'p4_client': None}

Can you guys please point out my mistake?

Andi Albrecht

unread,
Dec 8, 2015, 5:10:05 AM12/8/15
to Nishant Pandey, codereview-discuss
There was an issue regarding upload.py and TortoiseSVN on Windows earlier: https://github.com/rietveld-codereview/rietveld/issues/409

The solution there was to use SilkSVN instead of TortoiseSVN. But I'm no a Windows user myself, so I'm not sure about the real issues that come up when using TortoiseSVN.

Best regards,

Andi

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "codereview-discuss" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to codereview-disc...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.

Nishant Pandey

unread,
Dec 8, 2015, 6:37:13 AM12/8/15
to codereview-discuss, nishant.b...@gmail.com
Okay, thanks for the quick reply, i had an option i switched to linux and with linux version of SVN and the same issue got resolved but there comes another issue:
This is what i am doing:
$ ./upload.py -- diff_options sample.diff 
Result:
 File "./upload.py", line 191 except IOError as e:
                                                                ^
                                              SyntaxError: invalid syntax

I know its bug free script but i am not getting why its throwing such error?
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to codereview-discuss+unsub...@googlegroups.com.

Andi Albrecht

unread,
Dec 8, 2015, 6:57:11 AM12/8/15
to Nishant Pandey, codereview-discuss
Which Python-Version are you using (python --version)? The recommended Python version for upload.py is Python 2.7.

--
Andi

To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to codereview-disc...@googlegroups.com.

For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "codereview-discuss" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to codereview-disc...@googlegroups.com.

Nishant Pandey

unread,
Dec 8, 2015, 7:11:27 AM12/8/15
to codereview-discuss, nishant.b...@gmail.com
Yea i was wrong, i just checked some post here > 2.7 will help , mine is 2.5.. just going to update it.
Thanks much Andi :)
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to codereview-discuss+unsub...@googlegroups.com.

For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "codereview-discuss" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to codereview-discuss+unsub...@googlegroups.com.

Nishant Pandey

unread,
Dec 11, 2015, 5:50:39 AM12/11/15
to codereview-discuss, nishant.b...@gmail.com
Hi Guys,

After updating my OS to python 2.7, i am still getting issue :
Got error status from ['svn', 'diff', '--internal-diff', 'diff_options', 'pp.diff']

Can any one point out what i am doing wrong in this ???

Regards,
Nishant Pandey

Nishant Pandey

unread,
Dec 11, 2015, 7:06:07 AM12/11/15
to codereview-discuss, nishant.b...@gmail.com
Ah for svn version control it was making command as "['svn', 'diff', '--internal-diff'], the moment i removed --internal-diff from command set
Shell was able to run it & this issue got removed .... 
next level i am halted is authentication Http Error 307: Authentication Required
Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages