CfP: Advances in Computer Games (ACG 2021)

Skip to first unread message

Cameron Browne

Jun 5, 2021, 4:17:56 AMJun 5
Dear Colleagues,

The Advances in Computer Games conference (ACG 2021) will be held online this year over 23–25 November 2021 ( ACG is an internationally renowned conference that publishes computer-based studies of games. Its history goes back to the inaugural event held in Edinburgh in 1975, making this the longest ongoing game AI conference. 

This year’s ACG will have a special track on The History of Computer Studies of Games. In addition to new work, we invite submissions that provide historical context or otherwise highlight key developments in game-playing programs and computer-based game studies over the decades. 

Keynote speakers will include: 
• David Silver (Google DeepMind) 
• Michael Bowling (University of Alberta) 
• ßMark Lefler (Komodo, Zillions of Games) 

Conference attendance to view all talks will be free. 

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to: 
• The current state of game-playing programs for classic and modern board games, card games, puzzles, virtual/casual/video games, etc. 
• General game playing. 
• Artificial intelligence and machine learning for games. 
• The history of computers in game-based research. 
• New theoretical developments in game-related research. 
• New and enhanced algorithms for search and knowledge acquisition. 
• Automated game design and evaluation. 
• Social aspects of computer games. 
• Scientific contributions produced by the study of games. 
• Cognitive research of how (and why) humans play games and puzzles. 
• Capture and analysis of game data. 


Papers must be written in English and can be up to 10 pages in length (including references). 

LaTeX preferred; an Overleaf template is available. 

Submit a PDF version of your paper via EasyChair ( 


• Submission due: 6 September 2021 
• Notification due: 11 October 2021 
• Final version due: 1 November 2021 
• ACG 2021: 23–25 November 2021 

Program Co-Chairs 

• Cameron Browne, Maastricht University, The Netherlands 
• Akihiro Kishimoto, IBM Research, Tokyo, Japan 

Program Committee 

• Yngvi Bjornsson, Reykjavik University, Iceland 
• Bruno Bouzy, Paris Descartes University, France 
• Tristan Cazenave, LAMSADE Université Paris Dauphine PSL CNRS, France 
• Lung-Pin Chen, Tunghai University, Taiwan 
• Siang Yew Chong, School of Computer Science, University of Nottingham, Malaysia 
• Chao Gao, University of Alberta, Canada 
• Reijer Grimbergen, Tokyo University of Technology, Japan 
• Michael Hartisch, University of Siegen, Germany 
• Chu-Hsuan Hsueh, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST), Japan 
• Ryan Hayward, University of Alberta, Canada 
• Hiroyuki Iida, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST), Japan 
• Eric Jacopin, CREC Saint-Cyr, France 
• Nicolas Jouandeau, Paris8 University, France 
• Tomoyuki Kaneko, University of Tokyo, Japan 
• Sylvain Lagrue, Université de Technologie de Compiègne (UTC), France 
• Diego Perez Liebana, Queen Mary University of London (QMUL), UK 
• Shun-Shii Lin, National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan 
• Martin Mueller, University of Alberta, Canada 
• Mike Preuss, Universiteit Leiden, The Netherlands 
• Abdallah Saffidine, University of New South Wales (UNSW), Australia 
• Spyridon Samothrakis, University of Essex, UK 
• Jonathan Schaeffer, University of Alberta, Canada 
• Nathan Sturtevant, University of Alberta, Canada 
• Ruck Thawonmas, Ritsumeikan University, Germany 
• Michael Thielscher, University of New South Wales (UNSW), Australia 
• Jonathan Vis, Universiteit Leiden, The Netherlands 
• Mark Winands, Maastricht University, The Netherlands 
• Ting Han Wei, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan 
• I-Chen Wu, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan 
• Shi-Jim Yen, National Dong Hwa University, Taiwan 
• Kazuki Yoshizoe, RIKEN Center for Advanced Intelligence Project (AIP), Japan


Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages