Fwd: Secure your spot! Register for FREE Biochar Technology Showcase Events during November 6-9, 2012

92 views
Skip to first unread message

Pedro Tama

unread,
Oct 22, 2012, 2:34:51 AM10/22/12
to Biochar-Hawaii


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Kelpie Wilson <kel...@gmail.com>
Date: Sun, Oct 21, 2012 at 11:40 AM
Subject: Secure your spot! Register for FREE Biochar Technology Showcase Events during November 6-9, 2012
To: canisam...@gmail.com, da...@illinois-valley-news.com, Alan & Charlene Eisner <bellalo...@yahoo.com>, Alan Laurie <alalmig...@gmail.com>, Albert Bates <alb...@thefarm.org>, Alex Brendel <abre...@earthlink.net>, Alex Kozlowski <AKozl...@roguecc.edu>, Amanda Ravenhill <ama...@biocharassociation.org>, Amy and Jerry Lapora <amyand...@yahoo.com>, Amy Wilson <amy.w...@or.usda.gov>, Ananda Floyd <ananda...@gmail.com>, Andrea King <mud...@frontiernet.net>, Andrew Crane-Deosh <andr...@berkeley.edu>, Andrew Holm <and...@tierralearningcenter.org>, Andrew Rodman <rod...@teleport.com>, Andy Kerr <andy...@andykerr.net>, Ann Fleischli <aflei...@sprintmail.com>, Anna Ghonim <anna_...@link.net>, Annette Rasch <annet...@frontiernet.net>, Ariel Fisk-Vittori <fiskv...@gmail.com>, Art Donnelly <art.do...@gmail.com>, Audrey Moore <ajm...@cavenet.com>, Barbara Ullian <barbar...@charter.net>, Barry Snitkin <bso...@frontiernet.net>, Bart Anderson <ba...@cwo.com>, Bear Kaufmann <be...@ursine-design.com>, Betsey Norton <bew...@frontiernet.net>, Bill E Gamble <bga...@fs.fed.us>, Bill Gray <joya...@frontiernet.net>, Blair Moody <blair...@blm.gov>, Bob Hunter <b...@waterwatch.org>, Bob Maynard <gpgr...@charter.net>, Bob Schaller <biofuel...@gmail.com>, Bobi Harmon-Applegate <harmona...@frontier.net>, Brad Knickerbocker <brad...@aol.com>, Brenda Patton <b...@pattonhome.com>, Brian Herz <br...@climatefoundation.org>, Bruce Donelson <bruced...@gmail.com>, Carol McBride <caro...@frontiernet.net>, Carol Valentine <vale...@cavenet.com>, Celia Alario <ce...@riseup.net>, Chad Kruger <cekr...@cahnrs.wsu.edu>, Charles and Stephanie Riddles <riddle...@gmail.com>, Charles Berkstresser <cha...@tragaluz.us>, Charles Davis <ch...@cavenet.com>, Charley Greenwood <gnw...@cavenet.com>, Charlie Mitchell <Cha...@soredi.org>, Charlie Sellers <csell...@yahoo.com>, Charlotte Hutt <CH...@roguecc.edu>, Chery Sullivan <CHS...@ecy.wa.gov>, Chip Weinert <Ch...@3-dt.com>, Chip Wienert <chip.w...@gmail.com>, Chris -FS Johnson <cjoh...@fs.fed.us>, Christian Bach <cb...@northamericanbiomass.com>, Christian Roy <cr...@pyrovac.com>, Christine Gardiner <christine.pe...@gmail.com>, Christy Kuper <romai...@yahoo.com>, Dale Hendricks <da...@greenlightplants.com>, DALE RAU <dale...@blm.gov>, Dallion <dall...@yahoo.com>, Dana Stolzman <s...@calsalmon.org>, Daniel Dalegowski <daniel.d...@gmail.com>, Daniel Sheff <key...@cavenet.com>, Darlene Southworth <south...@sou.edu>, Darlyn Wendlandt <Darlyn.W...@evergreenps.org>, Dave Hanger <amuseda...@gmail.com>, dave maiz <da...@frontiernet.net>, Dave McKenna <dmck...@aceconsult.com>, David Andersson <david.a...@ecoera.se>, David Morell <da...@sonomabiocharinitiative.org>, David Perry <dave_p...@msn.com>, David R Parks <drp...@stanford.edu>, David Wilson <dcwi...@venearth.com>, Dean Still <de...@aprovecho.org>, Deb Lukas <spi...@spiralliving.org>, Debbie Dumroese <ddum...@fs.fed.us>, Debbie Lukas <sis...@gmail.com>, Denis Hayes <denisha...@yahoo.com>, Dick and Midge Thierolf <thie...@mind.net>, Dick Waring <richard...@oregonstate.edu>, Dominick DellaSala <domi...@nccsp.org>, Don Belleville <dbell...@fs.fed.us>, Don Fisher <d...@arcsource.com>, Don Hamann <dh...@peoplepc.com>, Don Hennick <d.he...@comcast.net>, Don Roof <don...@charter.net>, Donna Belle <donna....@gmail.com>, doranne long <doran...@hotmail.com>, Doug Heiken <dh.ore...@gmail.com>, Dougal Thomson <dougal...@economist.com>, Drew Schaefer <dsch...@sunmarkenvironmental.com>, Drew Zwart <dr...@uw.edu>, Editor <bioc...@jgpress.com>, Editor <energyb...@postcarbon.org>, Elaine Wood <ela...@frontiernet.net>, "Elmer (Dusty) R Moller" <dmo...@unr.edu>, Eric <er...@tierralearningcenter.org>, Eric Jules <eric....@humboldt.edu>, Eric Mc Clusky <er...@grosolar.com>, Erich Knight <she...@aol.com>, Erika Fehr <er...@em-solutions.org>, Erin Rasmussen <er...@trmiles.com>, "Erwin F. Sawall" <edsa...@frontiernet.net>, Evan Short <sobo...@gmail.com>, Frank Burris <frank....@oregonstate.edu>, Frank Shields <fr...@compostlab.com>, Gabe C -FS Dumm <gd...@fs.fed.us>, Gary Buck <joeb...@gmail.com>, Gloria Flora <gfl...@biochar-us.org>, Gordon Lyford <ca...@frontiernet.net>, Grace <wildch...@yahoo.com>, Granatstein <gra...@wsu.edu>, Greg Cosman <bradpl...@gmail.com>, greg nagle <gnagl...@yahoo.com>, Gregory John Stangl <sta...@phoenixenergy.net>, Gregory S Orton <gor...@fs.fed.us>, Guenter Ambron <cm...@cavenet.com>, Hal Collins <Hal.C...@ars.usda.gov>, Han-Sup Han <hh...@humboldt.edu>, Henry Fountain <foun...@nytimes.com>, henry maclin <henry....@gmail.com>, Howard A Sprouse <hspr...@theremediators.com>, Howard Boyte <how...@walkingpointfarms.com>, Howard Brockhouse <hbroc...@bbiinternational.com>, Howard Sprouse <hspr...@gmail.com>, "J.D. Tovey" <jd.t...@carboncultures.com>, Jack Dwyer <dw...@cavenet.com>, Jack Leroy <jackl...@aol.com>, James E Amonette <jim.am...@pnl.gov>, James G Archuleta <jgarc...@fs.fed.us>, Jan Lundberg <culturech...@gmail.com>, Jason Aramburu <ja...@re-char.com>, Jay Hasty <julia...@gmail.com>, Jay Lininger <jay.li...@gmail.com>, Jeanne Howell <JHo...@roguecc.edu>, Jeff Duewel <jdu...@thedailycourier.com>, Jeff Schahczenski <je...@ncat.org>, Jeffrey Wallin <Je...@ecotechnologies.com>, Jennifer Barker <in...@solwest.org>, Jenny Knoth <jenny...@carboncultures.com>, Jerry Ericsson <je...@diacarbon.com>, Jerry Harrison <j...@venearth.com>, Jerry Lapora <jma...@excite.com>, Jerry Scharf <sch...@greenpyro.com>, Jerry Whitfield <jerry.w...@gmail.com>, Jim Fournier <jim.fo...@gmail.com>, Jim Gurley <jjgu...@gmail.com>, jim karnofski <kar...@hotmail.com>, jim mason <jimm...@gmail.com>, Jim McBride <jcm...@hotmail.com>, Joe Parks <takil...@frontiernet.net>, John Gardiner <john.l....@gmail.com>, John Miedema <jmie...@peak.org>, John Moussouris <jpm...@yahoo.com>, John Robbins <jo...@yesworld.org>, John Schaeffer <jo...@realgoods.com>, Jon Stahl <jons...@gmail.com>, Jonah G Levine <jona...@gmail.com>, Jonah Levine <levin...@hotmail.com>, Joni D Brazier <jdbr...@fs.fed.us>, Joseph Vaile <jos...@kswild.org>, josiah hunt <josia...@me.com>, Joy and Eric McEwen <diggi...@digginlivin.com>, Joya Feltzin <jo...@frontiernet.net>, Joyce Fisher <jcfi...@gmail.com>, Judith Harwood <judith_...@yahoo.com>, Julie Norman <ju...@juliekaynorman.com>, Justin Cullumbine <jus...@lomakatsi.org>, k Schubert <ksch...@fs.fed.us>, Karen A Bennett <kabe...@fs.fed.us>, Karen Chase <Karen...@state.or.us>, Karen Pickett <kpick...@gmail.com>, Kas -FS Dumroese <kdum...@fs.fed.us>, Kate Dwyer <kate...@frontiernet.net>, Katherine Roncalio <katherine...@gmail.com>, Kathryn Alexander <ethica...@gmail.com>, Kayla Starr <sta...@gmail.com>, Kelly Green <daydrea...@gmail.com>, Kenny Houck <km...@cavenet.com>, Kent Fisher <ken...@gmail.com>, Kent Knock <kent...@yahoo.com>, Kerry Whitehead <kwenerg...@frontiernet.net>, Kevin Coupee <practic...@yahoo.com>, Kevin Elliott Parks <kpa...@uoregon.edu>, Kevin Martin <kdma...@fs.fed.us>, Kevin Preister <kevinp...@gmail.com>, Kevn Aschim <kevin....@arc.ab.ca>, Kim Marks <kim.l...@gmail.com>, Kim Marx <lob...@yahoo.com>, Kimberley Gomes <kgo...@sfchronicle.com>, Kindi Fahrnkopf <fah...@frontiernet.net>, Krantz <dkr...@fs.fed.us>, Kristin McElligott <kristin.m...@gmail.com>, Larry Holzgang <larry.h...@state.or.us>, Larry Swan <lsw...@fs.fed.us>, Laurel Sutherlin <lau...@ran.org>, Lawrence Carson <lca...@atica.us>, Len Lea <len...@yahoo.com>, Lesley Adams <les...@kswild.org>, Lester & Judy Hoyle <ja...@cavenet.com>, Linda Corey <lcore...@yahoo.com>, Linda Serrano <lss...@gmail.com>, Lisa Kelz <l...@frontiernet.net>, Lopa Brunjes <lopa.b...@gmail.com>, Lori K <Diggm...@aol.com>, lou gold <lou....@gmail.com>, Louis Miller <lo...@southforkwoodproducts.com>, Lourdes Haro <lourd...@yahoo.com>, luann walsh <luana...@yahoo.com>, Lyndia Hammer <lyndia...@gmail.com>, Maelagh Baker <mael...@gmail.com>, Malcolm 'Max' DeRungs <m...@maxderungs.com>, Manual Garcia-Perez <mgarci...@ad.wsu.edu>, Marc G Kramer <mgkr...@fs.fed.us>, Marcus Kauffman <marcu...@gmail.com>, Marcy Sowa <so...@copper.net>, Margaret Philhower <olys...@yahoo.com>, Marjorie Reynolds <marje...@frontiernet.net>, Mark Coleman <mcol...@uidaho.edu>, Mark Fuchs <mfu...@ecy.wa.gov>, Mark Kelz <beth...@frontiernet.net>, Marko Bey <ma...@lomakatsi.org>, Markus Kleber <Markus...@oregonstate.edu>, Mary Camp <ma...@rogueriver.net>, Mary Reynolds <marybr...@frontiernet.net>, Matt Renner <matt...@gmail.com>, Matthew Molyneaux <growing...@msn.com>, Maura Gallagher <narwha...@yahoo.com>, Maureen Hanson <hansonm...@yahoo.com>, Maureen Jules <mjone...@gmail.com>, Max Bennett <max.b...@oregonstate.edu>, Max DeRungs <m...@dovecreekacres.com>, Meghana Rao <megha...@gmail.com>, Merlin Berg <merli...@or.usda.gov>, Michael Maki <agr...@localaccess.com>, Michael Theroux <mthe...@terutalk.com>, Michael Wittman <mic...@theblueskyenterprise.com>, Michelle Binker <michell...@gmail.com>, Mikal Jakubal <mjak...@gmail.com>, Mike Petersen <mpet...@landscouncil.org>, Morgan Williams <mor...@fluxfarm.com>, Mort and Elaine Mondale <onan...@frontiernet.net>, naomi yup <naom...@hotmail.com>, Nathaniel M Anderson <nmand...@fs.fed.us>, Office <off...@breitenbush.com>, Omar Ghonim <innerm...@yahoo.com>, Osama Ghonim <osama...@live.com>, oshana catranides <osh...@gmail.com>, Pat Rasmussen <pa...@crcwnet.com>, Patrick Mazza <pat...@climatesolutions.org>, Paul Fattig <pfa...@mailtribune.com>, "Paul S. Anderson" <psan...@ilstu.edu>, Paul Smith <paulsmi...@gmail.com>, Pedro Tama <gpt...@gmail.com>, Peter Hirst <pe...@newenglandbiochar.org>, Peter Kmet <pkm...@ecy.wa.gov>, Peter Weisberg <pwei...@climatetrust.org>, petrowski stan <sta...@surcp.org>, Philip Small <e.phili...@gmail.com>, Preston Moser <mo...@sou.edu>, Rachael Norman <rac...@allpowerlabs.org>, Rachel Goodman <rgood...@yahoo.com>, Raymond Baltar <ray...@moonvalleystudio.com>, Raymond Gallian <rgal...@comcast.net>, Red Garner <redg...@gmail.com>, Renel Anderson <renel...@yahoo.com>, Rhys Roth <rh...@climatesolutions.org>, Rich Fairbanks <rfair...@wild.net>, Rich Nawa <ri...@siskiyou.org>, Richard Dale <ric...@sonomaecologycenter.org>, Richard Haard <ric...@nas.com>, Richard Heinberg <rhei...@igc.org>, Rob Lerner <baj...@gmail.com>, Robert Budge <rbu...@fs.fed.us>, Robert Crowe <rmcr...@gmail.com>, Robert D Barnhart <rdbar...@fs.fed.us>, Robert Flanagan <robertf...@ge-bio.com>, Robert Schaller <ban...@msn.com>, Robert Shull <rsh...@fs.fed.us>, "Robert W. Gray" <bob...@shaw.ca>, Romain Cooper <rom...@frontiernet.net>, Ron Larson <rongre...@comcast.net>, Roxy Sincerny <sinc...@gmail.com>, Roy -FS Bergstrom <rberg...@fs.fed.us>, Roy Leon <roy...@frontiernet.net>, Sam <s...@tierralearningcenter.org>, sarah mayer <sjm...@yahoo.com>, Sari Gelzer <sarig...@yahoo.com>, scott greacen <sc...@wildcalifornia.org>, Scott Scholefield <scott.sc...@gmail.com>, Sean Hendrix <sean.h...@hotmail.com>, Shanda <sha...@tierralearningcenter.org>, Shane Jimerfield <sh...@siskiyou.org>, Sherry Balkenhol <sbalk...@gmail.com>, Sjoding <sjod...@energy.wsu.edu>, Spencer Lennard <bigwi...@gmail.com>, Stephanie Odell <stephan...@blm.gov>, Stephanie Tidwell <step...@kswild.org>, Steve DiCicco <dicic...@hotmail.com>, STEVE HAMBLIN <esha...@q.com>, Steve Orr <stev...@frontiernet.net>, Steve Roach <sroa...@hotmail.com>, Steve Whitney <swhi...@bullitt.org>, Sue Lily <sl...@mac.com>, Sunny Castillo <sunny.c...@ak.usda.gov>, Susan Chapp <forestr...@cavenet.com>, Taleesun Baker <tale...@gmail.com>, Terry Davis <terryd...@gmail.com>, Thayer Tomlinson <Tha...@energyandsecurity.com>, Thomas K Miles <tkm...@trmiles.com>, Timothy Allard Bybee <timb...@gmail.com>, Tom DeLuca <t.h.d...@bangor.ac.uk>, Tom Miles <tmi...@trmiles.com>, Tom Skeele <tom.f....@gmail.com>, Trip Allen <tr...@biocharm.com>, Tyrone Houck <her...@frontiernet.net>, VALERIE KELLY <free2...@hotmail.com>, Victoria Kamsler <vkam...@gmail.com>


Reserve Your Spot: Biochar Technology Showcase Events during November 6-9, 2012

These free events are filling up fast! Save your spot now - pre-register at http://carboncultures.com/carbon-cultures-showcase-event/

Register for one or more days – identical program schedule each day, but test burns will take place at different sites.

Mobile Biochar Technology Comes to the Southern Oregon Woods

Waste-to-wealth technology transforms burn piles from cost center to profit center – public invited to demonstrations and lectures during November 6-9

Hosted by: Carbon Cultures, Illinois Valley Forest Practices Committee, Forestry Action Committee and Illinois Valley Business Entrepreneurial Center (IVBEC)

Who should attend:

·      Forestry contractors

·      Forest management agency personnel

·      Fire Departments

·      Land owners concerned with fuel load reduction

·      Farmers and gardeners

·      Compost producers and garden centers

·      Students

·      Anyone interested in sustainability, air quality or climate change mitigation

 

Dates: November 6, 7, 8, 9

 

Pre-order your gourmet box lunch to eat in the field while observing the biochar technology in action! http://carboncultures.com/carbon-cultures-showcase-event/

 

Time: 10 am until 11:30 morning lecture, followed by a demonstration in the field in the afternoon. We will finish by 5pm. IMPORTANT: we are offering the identical program on each of the 4 days so as many people as possible can attend. You only need to register for one of the days. The morning sessions will provide an overview of what biochar is and an introduction to the Carbon Cultures patented mobile biochar producing technology.  At 11:30 am we will organize carpools and head out into the field to make biochar. We will eat lunch in the field, and a local caterer is providing a delicious gourmet lunch with afternoon snacks for $12. You must order and pay for lunch in advance. Or you are welcome to bring your own sack lunch. For those who can’t make the daytime event, on Wednesday November 7th there will be an evening event covering the overview of biochar with an introduction to the technology from 7-9 pm at the Kerby Belt Building. 

 

Location: All of the morning sessions and the Wednesday evening session will be held at the RCC Belt Building in Kerby, Oregon, 29 miles south of Grants Pass. (Kerby Belt Building, 24353 Redwood Highway, Kerby, OR 97531) Afternoon demonstrations will be conducted in nearby field sites with the cooperation of the US Forest Service, BLM and private forestry contractors. Directions to each site and carpooling arrangements will be arranged during each morning session.

 

Directions: From I-5 take Exit 55 at Grants Pass, OR and onto US-199 towards Crescent City, CA for 29 miles. The Belt Building will be on the left near the intersection of US-199 and School Street in Kerby, OR.

More about Carbon Cultures

Carbon Cultures is a company formed by students at the University of Washington to develop a mobile biochar technology.  The National Science Foundation awarded the group $50,000 last year to commercialize their invention. The technology consists of a heat-resistant cover that can be placed over a slash pile to form a biochar-baking kiln.  Biochar is made by thermal degradation of biomass in the absence of oxygen. The cover controls the airflow to the burning slash pile, allowing limited air for some combustion to provide heat for baking, while excluding enough air to promote the formation of charcoal. In pilot studies on half-ton slash piles, the cover converted wood waste into biochar with 20-30 percent efficiency. Compared to an open fire, the technology significantly reduces the amount of smoke and particulate pollution released into the air, while producing a valuable product, biochar.  The biochar can either be left in place to improve forest soils on site, or it can be collected and sold for use as a soil amendment for gardens and farms.

More about biochar

Biochar is charcoal that is suitable for use as a soil amendment. Biochar is a stable form of carbon that will last for hundreds to thousands of years in soil. Biochar has been shown to provide many benefits to soil structure, improving retention of water and nutrients and supporting soil life.  Biochar also serves to sequester carbon in soils, providing an important pathway for removing carbon from the atmosphere to mitigate climate change.

Contact for more information:

Jenny Knoth, Carbon Cultures, jenny...@carboncultures.com

JD Tovey, Carbon Cultures, jd.t...@carboncultures.com

Kelpie Wilson, Illinois Valley Forest Practices Committee, for questions please call: 541-592-3083 or 541-218-9890 kel...@gmail.com

Links

Local lodging for those coming from out of town:

http://cavejunction.com/cavejunction/lodging.shtml

 

Sponsors

Carbon Cultures

Forestry Action Committee

IVBEC

--
Ms.Kelpie Wilson
Biochar Consultant
Email: kel...@gmail.com
Home Office: 541-592-3083
Mobile: 541-218-9890
Google Voice: 646-535-7439 (646-kelpiew)
Skype: kelpie.wilson

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages