Through the ages questions

251 views
Skip to first unread message

kiko2k

unread,
Mar 15, 2010, 12:38:23 AM3/15/10
to BGG Down
Just a couple of questions for those in the know...

1. Can each player colonize more than one territory throughout the
game? The rules are not clear on whether you can or not...or at least
the rules don't say you can't!

2. The rules also don't specify what to do if there is a tie at the
end of the game. Any suggestions on how to best break a tie?

3. The Strategic Territory card gives you 5 military cards as the
immediate effect of colonizing it. This also means then that if it's
your turn, then you have to immediately discard those new cards down
to the number of military actions you are able to do...seems sort of a
bummer to have to discard so quickly.

woodnoggin

unread,
Mar 15, 2010, 1:27:54 PM3/15/10
to BGG Down
> 1.  Can each player colonize more than one territory throughout the
> game?  The rules are not clear on whether you can or not...or at least
> the rules don't say you can't!

You can colonise as many territories as you are able. If you could
only have one, James Cook wouldn't be very good.

> 2. The rules also don't specify what to do if there is a tie at the
> end of the game.  Any suggestions on how to best break a tie?

I believe endgame ties are broken in the same way as ties throughout
the game, i.e. dependent on turn order.

> 3. The Strategic Territory card gives you 5 military cards as the
> immediate effect of colonizing it.  This also means then that if it's
> your turn, then you have to immediately discard those new cards down
> to the number of military actions you are able to do...seems sort of a
> bummer to have to discard so quickly.

True, but you get to pick out the best military cards from your hand,
so it does allow for card selection at least.

Cheers,
Rich

David Gibbs

unread,
Mar 15, 2010, 1:32:11 PM3/15/10
to bgg_...@googlegroups.com
1.  Yes, each player can colonize multiple colonies.
 
2. They tie.
 
3. I'm pretty sure the military territory exempts you from the discard for that turn, should it be your turn.  At least, I think that's what my copy said on the card.
 
-David


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "BGG Down" group.
To post to this group, send email to bgg_...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to bgg_down+u...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/bgg_down?hl=en.


Macabee

unread,
Mar 15, 2010, 6:50:36 PM3/15/10
to BGG Down
Yes, exactly. You don't have to discard the military cards at all on
that turn, if it's your turn when you get the colony. This can be a
HUGE advantage actually, if you have lots of bonus cards (defense/
colonization).

On Mar 15, 1:32 pm, David Gibbs <gibbs...@gmail.com> wrote:
> 1.  Yes, each player can colonize multiple colonies.
>
> 2. They tie.
>
> 3. I'm pretty sure the military territory exempts you from the discard for
> that turn, should it be your turn.  At least, I think that's what my copy
> said on the card.
>
> -David
>

> On Mon, Mar 15, 2010 at 12:38 AM, kiko2k <kiko2k2...@gmail.com> wrote:
> > Just a couple of questions for those in the know...
>
> > 1.  Can each player colonize more than one territory throughout the
> > game?  The rules are not clear on whether you can or not...or at least
> > the rules don't say you can't!
>
> > 2. The rules also don't specify what to do if there is a tie at the
> > end of the game.  Any suggestions on how to best break a tie?
>
> > 3. The Strategic Territory card gives you 5 military cards as the
> > immediate effect of colonizing it.  This also means then that if it's
> > your turn, then you have to immediately discard those new cards down
> > to the number of military actions you are able to do...seems sort of a
> > bummer to have to discard so quickly.
>
> > --
> > You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
> > "BGG Down" group.
> > To post to this group, send email to bgg_...@googlegroups.com.
> > To unsubscribe from this group, send email to

> > bgg_down+u...@googlegroups.com<bgg_down%2Bunsu...@googlegroups.com>

ekted

unread,
Mar 15, 2010, 6:58:26 PM3/15/10
to BGG Down

On Mar 15, 6:50 pm, Macabee <sjmink...@gmail.com> wrote:
> Yes, exactly.  You don't have to discard the military cards at all on
> that turn, if it's your turn when you get the colony.  This can be a
> HUGE advantage actually, if you have lots of bonus cards (defense/
> colonization).

That is not correct. The colony just gives you the cards, and you must
discard as normal. There's an event that grants cards that allows you
to keep them all.

Robert

unread,
Mar 15, 2010, 7:01:19 PM3/15/10
to BGG Down
Indeed. That card is development of Politics, an Age A military card.
The Strategic territory colony has no special text-the player must
discard that turn.

Paolo Cole

unread,
Mar 15, 2010, 9:10:55 PM3/15/10
to BGG Down
> 1.  Can each player colonize more than one territory throughout the
> game?  The rules are not clear on whether you can or not...or at least
> the rules don't say you can't!

The game is more realistic than what it seems, therefore yes.

> 2. The rules also don't specify what to do if there is a tie at the
> end of the game.  Any suggestions on how to best break a tie?

I originally believed that the tie breaking mechanism was the same for
final Age III events: in favour of the starting player and then in
order.
But this answer from Vlaada implicitely says that there is no tie
breaking for the final score!
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1293964#1293964


> 3. The Strategic Territory card gives you 5 military cards as the
> immediate effect of colonizing it.  This also means then that if it's
> your turn, then you have to immediately discard those new cards down
> to the number of military actions you are able to do...seems sort of a
> bummer to have to discard so quickly.

You keep the best ones.

There is also an Event which gives military card and THAT EVENT lets
the turn player keep the cards.

Bye,
Paolo

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages