Webinar TOMORROW (Dec 8) - Introduction to Arctos for Mammal Collections

0 views
Skip to first unread message

Arctos Communications

unread,
Dec 7, 2020, 1:19:56 PM12/7/20
to arc...@googlegroups.com

Please join us for an introduction to managing Mammalogy Collections in Arctos.

 

Abstract: Arctos serves data on over 1,048,000 mammalogical records from 28 collections, including mammal specimens, observations, and media (e.g., photographs, ct scans, fieldnotes). Mammalian data sets range from 3 to over 328,000 records, making Arctos an excellent option for all sizes of collections. Specimens date to the 1850’s, are global in scope and span Mammalia. This webinar will highlight some of the key features of Arctos for managing mammalogical data, including: shared localities, relationships between different types of specimens (e.g., host-parasite/pathogen, shared parts), transactions (accessions, loans), linkage to outside databases (e.g., GenBank), object tracking, and projects/publications for citing usage in research. We also will illustrate how media are linked to mammal specimens in Arctos, and will showcase how these media have been used in impactful ways.  

Presenters: Jon Dunnum (Senior Collection Manager, Division of Mammals) and Mariel Campbell (Collection Manager, Division of Genomic Resources), Museum of Southwestern Biology  

When: Tuesday, December 8, 2020 at 3:00pm ET/1:00pm MT (19:00 UTC)

Where: https://cuboulder.zoom.us/j/96749042184

Can’t Make It?: View archived recordings here https://arctosdb.org/learn/webinars/

 

 

Emily Braker

Vertebrate Collections Manager, Zoology Section

University of Colorado Museum of Natural History

265 UCB, Bruce Curtis Building

Boulder, CO 80309-0218

Phone: 303-492-8466

http://www.colorado.edu/cumuseum/research-collections/vertebrates


--

*************************
Elizabeth Wommack
Arctos Communications Officers
*************************
Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages