Arctos Webinar (Jan 12) - Introduction to Arctos for Herpetology Collections

1 view
Skip to first unread message

Emily Braker

unread,
Jan 6, 2021, 9:48:15 AMJan 6
to arc...@googlegroups.com

Please help us kick off the New Year and join us on January 12 for an introduction to managing Herpetology Collections in Arctos.

 

Abstract: Arctos has all the standard features to manage herpetological specimens but stands out with its unique features for the modern herpetological collection. This webinar will highlight some of the key features of Arctos for managing herpetological data, including: querying specimens and attributes, shared localities and georeferences, transactions (accessions, loans, permits), managing tissues (including tracking curatorial location), biological relationships between different types of specimens (e.g., host-parasite, predator-prey, stomach contents), and linking publications and archives to track citations and usage for research, grants, and teaching. We will demonstrate how we manage and track NSF grants and link to external databases such as MorphoSource and GenBank. Finally, we will discuss how Arctos handles observational data, often a feature not available in a collection management system. Currently, Arctos serves data on ~574,000 amphibian and reptile records from 28 collections including specimens, observations, and media (e.g., photographs, audio recordings, field notes) from a broad taxonomic and geographic scope.

 

Presenters: Carol Spencer (Staff Curator of Herpetology) and Michelle Koo (Staff Curator of Biodiversity Informatics and GIS), Museum of Vertebrate Zoology

 

When: Tuesday, January 12, 2020 at 3:00pm ET/1:00pm MT (19:00 UTC)

Where: https://cuboulder.zoom.us/j/92072555258

Can’t Make It?: View archived recordings here https://arctosdb.org/learn/webinars/

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages