4th CFP: Springer CCIS Series Workshop - Altmetrics for Research Outputs Measurement and Scholarly Information Management (AROSIM 2018)

Skip to first unread message

Aravind Sesagiri Raamkumar

Oct 10, 2017, 1:18:55 AM10/10/17
to altme...@googlegroups.com, Helen Mojisola Erdt (Dr)

[Our apologies if you receive multiple copies of this CFP]

2018 Workshop on Altmetrics for Research Outputs Measurement and Scholarly Information Management (AROSIM 2018)
Latest Updates:
1) Due to demand, submission deadline has been extended to 25 October 2017
2) Program Committee has been updated
3) Registration details are available in the workshop website
4) Travel grant applications are still being accepted
AROSIM 2018 is a full day workshop taking place on Friday January 26, 2018 at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.
Important Dates:
  • Submissions Due - October 25, 2017 (23:59 SGT)
  • Notification - November 20, 2017
  • Camera Ready Version of Papers Due - December 15, 2017
  • AROSIM 2018 Full Day Workshop - January 26, 2018

The main objective of the AROSIM 2018 workshop is to create a forum to disseminate the latest works on altmetrics for measuring research impact and scholarly information management. The workshop will investigate how social media based metrics along with traditional and non-traditional metrics can advance the state-of-the-art in measuring research outputs.
The goals of the workshop are:
  • To promote the exchange of ideas and encourage potential collaborations amongst scholars from both computer science and information science disciplines, as well as with librarians and industry
  • To investigate challenges and explore solutions for cross-metric exploration and validation, while considering disciplinary differences related to measuring research outputs
  • To showcase innovative altmetric tools, methods, and datasets
  • To provide a discussion platform for the academic communities, librarians, policy makers, publishers, as well as grant funding agencies

We hope this workshop will help to inspire new research ideas as well as encourage future collaborations amongst the different disciplines and industry stakeholders.
A Best Paper Award, sponsored by Altmetric, will be given to the author(s) of the most outstanding work.
Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
  • Altmetrics, informetrics, scientometrics, webometrics
  • Non-traditional metrics
  • Article-level metrics
  • Traditional bibliometric approaches and metrics
  • Scholarly information management
  • Design of Altmetrics systems and tools
  • Tools and methods for cross-metric validation and visualization
  • Altmetrics data modelling and datasets
  • Bibliometrics/Altmetrics-based information retrieval and recommender systems
  • Altmetrics-related information analysis
  • Models and theories of scholarly communication
  • Social network analysis of scholarly communication
  • Impact metrics for diverse research outputs, e.g., source code, research datasets
  • Altmetrics for university/school libraries
  • Advances in digital repositories
  • Altmetrics and digital libraries
  • Altmetrics and big scholarly data
  • Critical discussions on (alt)metrics and research evaluation
  • Perspectives from policy makers, grant funding agencies, libraries, and publishers

Keynote Speakers:
Mike Thelwall, Professor of Information Science, University of Wolverhampton, UK
Stacky Konkiel, Director of Research & Education, Altmetric.com
Submission Instructions:
We invite submission of ten pages (including references), representing original research, preliminary findings, new research proposals, position papers and also opinion papers. Student papers are also invited. All papers will be peer reviewed (double-blind) by the program committee and judged by their relevance to the workshop, especially to the main themes identified above, and their potential to generate discussion. All submissions must be formatted according to the latest Springer CCIS template available at http://www.springer.com/series/7899. Please submit your paper(s) in PDF format (maximum of 10 pages; exclusive of additional pages for references and appendices).
Submissions must describe work that is not previously published, not accepted for publication elsewhere, and not currently under review elsewhere. All submissions must be in English.
The submissions can be made at this link https://ocs.springer.com/ocs/home/AROSIM2018
Please note that at least one of the authors of each accepted paper must register for the workshop and present the paper in-person.
Travel Grants:
The AROSIM Travel Grant Program provides small grants to students and researchers to help cover the cost of travel, lodging and registration to the AROSIM workshop. Applicants must be authors of the paper(s) submitted to the workshop. We intend to maximize the number of applicants whom we could help. Hence, the grant amount will not cover the full cost of travel.
If you wish to apply for the travel grant, please provide your information in this form.
  • Yin-Leng Theng, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Edie Rasmussen, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
  • Yonggang Wen, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Robert Jӓschke, The University of Sheffield, UK
  • Isabella Peters, ZBW Leibniz Information Center for Economics and Christian Albrechts University Kiel, Germany
  • Yew Boon Chia, Humanities and Social Sciences Library, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Samantha Ang, Lee Wee Nam Library, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Mojisola Erdt, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Aravind Sesagiri Raamkumar, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Workshop Program Committee:
  • Anup Kumar Das, Jawaharlal Nehru University, India
  • Aparna Basu, South Asian University, India
  • Ehsan Mohammadi, Northwestern University, USA
  • Hamed Alhoori, Northern Illinois University, USA
  • Joanna Sin, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Juan Gorraiz, University of Vienna, Austria
  • Juan Pablo Alperin, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Judit Bar-Ilan, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
  • Kazunari Sugiyama, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Kim Holmberg, University of Turku, Finland
  • Kuang-hua Chen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Li Xuemei, York University, Canada
  • Lutz Bornmann, Max Planck Society, Germany
  • Michael Khor, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Mike Taylor, Digital Science, UK
  • Mike Thelwall, University of Wolverhampton, UK
  • Paul Groth, Elsevier Labs, USA
  • Paul Wouters, CWTS, Leiden University, Netherlands
  • Philipp Mayr-Schlegel, GESIS - Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences, Germany
  • Rich Ling, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Schubert Foo, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Shima Moradi, National Research Institute for Science Policy, Iran
  • Stefanie Haustein, University of Montreal, Canada
  • Sun Aixin, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Sybille Hinze, DZHW GmbH, Germany
  • Tim Evans, Imperial College London, UK
  • Victoria Uren , Aston University, UK
  • Vincent Lariviére , Université de Montréal
  • Winson Peng, Michigan State University, USA
  • Xiao Xiaokui, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Xin Shuai, Indiana University Bloomington, USA
  • Ying-Hsang Liu, Charles Sturt University, Australia

Contact: Please direct all your queries to Moji (Mojiso...@ntu.edu.sg) and Aravind (aravi...@ntu.edu.sg).
Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages