Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Basketball rebound question

1 view
Skip to first unread message

Bob

unread,
Jul 22, 2007, 10:00:14 PM7/22/07
to
Scenario: Player A shoots the basketball at his own basket, only hits
the backboard, gets his own rebound, and then shoots again and
scores. Does the basket count? Or is it an infraction since the ball
did not hit the rim? I'm certain that this would be an infraction if
Player A was shotting a free throw, but again in this scenario it is
not a free throw but a regular shot. Many thanks, any comments
welcome.

--Bob, the guy who just made this questionable infraction call and got
overruled in a tight pickup game
Arlington, Virginia

Michael Bednarek

unread,
Jul 23, 2007, 8:12:38 AM7/23/07
to

Scoring deliberately in your own basket is according to FIFA rules a
violation and the goal does not count.

The only (non-)effect of a field goal attempt which doesn't hit the
ring, is that the 24-second clock and the 3-second count doesn't get
reset.

You might get more answers in rec.sport.officiating.

--
Michael Bednarek http://mbednarek.com/ "POST NO BILLS"

0 new messages