With runners on base, what is the ruling on a ball that becomes lodged in an
umpire's clothing, ball bag or pocket?
Thanks,
Roberto
> With runners on base, what is the ruling on a ball that becomes lodged in an
> umpire's clothing, ball bag or pocket?
Hi Roberto,
Please, see rule 5.09:
5.09
The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base [...] when --
[...]
(g) A pitched ball lodges in the umpire?s or catcher?s mask or
paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base;
If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire?s or catcher?s mask or
paraphernalia, and remains out of play, on the third strike or fourth
ball, then the batter is entitled to first base and all runners advance
one base. If the count on the batter is less than three balls, runners
advance one base.
> <http://mlb.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/official_info/official_rules/ball_in_play_5.jsp>
--
Erick
B&B Ardane - http://bed-and-breakfast.ardane.com/
Hey Erick,
Thanks for the prompt response!
Roberto
The runners move up one base from the time of the pitch.