Irfan
On a related note, you may do better to register the name in .ORG and/or .NET
instead of .co.uk since ccTLDs are governed under laws of the country they
belong to, which in the case of .UK is United Kingdom. This is primarily why I
no longer register domain names in ccTLDs.
Ron Bennett
In article <7f63g8$c8k$1...@news7.svr.pol.co.uk>,
ir...@k1computers.freeserve.co.uk says...
I have a company called "Euromade Systems Ltd" which I wanted to register the
domain name Euromade.com. I realized that the name has already been registered by
a company in Luxembourg by the name of "The Format Group" at address: Route de
Retsdorf 18, Beaufort, Luxembourg 6311.
I have sent an email to the contact email address which I found in the registry
information (In...@EUROMADE.COM) but the mail was returned due to invalid address.
I feel helpless and I don't know who I can turn to to resolve this issue.
Could you please advise!
Here is the email which I sent to the Format Group on Mon, 12 Apr 1999
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Dear Bernd Britten
I am writing to you as a Director of Euromade Systems LTD in the UK
regarding the Domain Name Euromade.com which is currently registered
under your Organisation: The Format Group at address: Route de
Retsdorf 18, Beaufort, Luxembourg 6311.
Euromade systems is a UK registered company which has been operating
in the UK since 1991 in the IT Services.
We are in the process of setting up our Web site, providing IT
solutions over the internet to our customers.
I am rather puzzled by your interest in this company's name, Euromade
which can be both misleading to our customers and to those who are
genuinely searching the internet to find us.
I would like to resolve this issue in a professional manner and
without any legal implications, and I hope you would agree with me
that the legitimate Registrant of this domain name should be Euromade
systems which contains the name.
I would therefore appreciate if you could cancel your registration of
Euromade and inform me of your decision.
I look forward to hearing from you within the next two weeks.
Yours Sincerely
Nason Mohajer
Director
___________________________________________________________________
Euromade Systems Limited
10 Robinsfield
Hemel Hempstead
Herts HP1 1RW.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> I have sent an email to the contact email address which I found in the
> registry information (In...@EUROMADE.COM) but the mail was returned due to
> invalid address.
Try to email, snail mail or phone the billing contact:
Vanspringel, Linda (LV110) li...@INNET.BE
INnet Nv
Posthoflei 3 B7
Antwerp, Antwerp 2600
BE
+32.3.281.49.81
You can also telephone or snail mail the Administrative/Technical/Zone Contact:
Britten, Bernd (BB2312) in...@EUROMADE.COM
The Format Group
Route de Retsdorf 18
Beaufort, Luxembourg 6311
LU
+352.86.95.25 (FAX) +352.86.95.15
I don't know why this company registered EUROMADE.COM, but I don't have much
hope it'll transfer the domain name without receiving compensation, just because
you have a company with that name in one European country.
Good luck,
(-: S.T.
--
| *Domain Name News*
| http://1001domains.com/html/news.html
| updated regularly
If you're still insistant in getting the domain name and the current owner
doesn't give in to your demand, then you'll either need to get an attorney
involved or drop the issue. Also note that euromade.net and euromade.org are
owned by a speculator.
Since you're a UK company why not register euromade.co.uk? Makes more sense.
You may also consider euromadesystems.com (.net & .org) instead.
Ron Bennett
In article <372820FD...@uk.oracle.com>, nmoh...@uk.oracle.com says...
>
>This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
>--------------6E0CF1BD6AC2F00A3B3392A0
>Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
>Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
>
>Hello Ron,
>
>I have a company called "Euromade Systems Ltd" which I wanted to register the
>domain name Euromade.com. I realized that the name has already been registered
by
>a company in Luxembourg by the name of "The Format Group" at address: Route de
>Retsdorf 18, Beaufort, Luxembourg 6311.
>
>I have sent an email to the contact email address which I found in the
registry
>information (In...@EUROMADE.COM) but the mail was returned due to invalid
address.
>
>--------------6E0CF1BD6AC2F00A3B3392A0
>Content-Type: text/x-vcard; charset=us-ascii;
> name="nmohajer.vcf"
>Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
>Content-Description: Card for Nason Mohajer
>Content-Disposition: attachment;
> filename="nmohajer.vcf"
>
>begin:vcard
>n:Mohajer;Nason
>x-mozilla-html:FALSE
>org:Oracle UK
>version:2.1
>email;internet:nmoh...@uk.oracle.com
>title:Designer/Developer
>adr;quoted-printable:;;Holland House=0D=0APark One;Bracknell;Berks;RG12 ;UK
>x-mozilla-cpt:;2
>tel;work:01344 3456789
>fn:Nason Mohajer
>end:vcard
>
>--------------6E0CF1BD6AC2F00A3B3392A0--
>
>I have a company called "Euromade Systems Ltd" which I wanted to register the
>domain name Euromade.com. I realized that the name has already been registered
>by
>a company in Luxembourg by the name of "The Format Group" at address: Route de
>Retsdorf 18, Beaufort, Luxembourg 6311.
<snip>
>Euromade systems is a UK registered company which has been operating
>in the UK since 1991 in the IT Services.
Things that might weaken your case:
As an IT company, so presumably Internet savvy, how come you've only
just got around to trying to register your name?
Euromade could be said to be descriptive - i.e. made in Europe.
As a UK company, what's wrong with euromade.co.uk? That's the first
address I would try if I were looking for a UK company.
If the company in Luxembourg are not an IT company your case for
"confusing the consumer" could be rebutted.
My comments are just my opinion and do not constitute advice.
--
Steve Farr
http://www.sfarr.demon.co.uk
Playwright. Web Designer. Former World Golby Champion.
st...@sfarr.demon.co.uk st...@renet-world.com