transmediale + Vilém Flusser Theory + Open Web Awards [deadline: July 31, 2010]

1 view
Skip to first unread message

Arthit Suriyawongkul

Jul 19, 2010, 2:08:42 PM7/19/10
to YouFest group, woict, Thai Netizen
** transmediale Award deadlines approaching July 31, 2010 **
** registration info: **

transmediale,  festival for art and digital culture berlin and CTM
(club transmediale) festival for adventurous music and related visual
arts are inviting submissions to the transmediale Award 2011. The
transmediale Award 2011 seeks original, innovative and visionary art
works across a wide scope of form, process and practice. Works that
embrace, question and enrich our understanding of and relationship to
our globally complex, media immersed and technologically diverse
society, and are exemplary of a high standard of critical digital
practice are encouraged.

Alongside the transmediale Award, the Call for Entries to the Vilém
Flusser Theory Award 2011 (VFTA) and the new Open Web Award 2011 are
also running until July 31, 2010.

The Vilém Flusser Theory Award 2011 (VFTA) seeks innovative media
theory and exemplary research into digital culture exploring current
and pending positions in digital art, media culture and networked
society. Echoing media philosopher and cultural nomad Vilem Flusser's
unique investigative, cross-disciplinary and analytic approach, the
Award is also open to outstanding and significant work which may be
produced outside the bounds of traditional academia. Entries may
include publications, positions, and projects from a broad range of
theoretical, artistic, critical or design-based research that seek to
establish and define new forms of exchange, vocabularies and cultural

The Open Web Award 2011, a new collaboration between transmediale and
Mozilla is a new platform for radical, creative and innovative art
works and projects that:

- are on the web and about the web
- use open and free technology
- incite participation and/or collaboration

Proposals may be critical, celebratory or both. Projects should have
the potential to demonstrate and/or objectively critique the potential
of open web issues, and those employing the creative use of HTML5 and
other developing 'open' technologies will be given specific
consideration. The point is to play with both the idea and materiality
of the (open) web in ways that spark new thinking and practice.

For all three Awards, transmediale and its partners (including CTM,
the University of Arts / UdK Berlin and Mozilla) strongly encourage
entries from artists and researchers, coders and activists operating
in countries and regions in which critical digital art and culture are

To submit your work to the Awards competition please register and and
complete the online form at

Each Award comes with a total prize of 5000 EURO, with the Open Web
Award 2011 winner also given the opportunity to have supported status
on Drumbeat <>.

Jury members of the transmediale 2011 Award and the Open Web Award
2011 are Marisa Olson (New York), Matteo Pasquinelli (Amsterdam),
Brandon Labelle (Berlin), Thomas Macho (Berlin), Defne Ayas
(Shanghai), as well as a representative from Drumbeat for the Open Web
Award 2011.

Jury of Vilém Flusser Theory Award 2011 are Marcel Rene Marburger
(Cologne), Nils Roeller (Zurich), Carolyn Guertin (Austin) and Alex
Galloway (New York)

Nominees for the transmediale Award and the Open Web Award will be
notified in late September 2010, and in mid October for the Vilém
Flusser Theory Award. After nominees have been announced an online
open voting process will determine the Open Web Award finalist with
the all Award Winners being announced in Berlin at transmediale.11 on
Saturday February 5, 2011.

*we invite you to subscribe to our newsletter, follow transmediale on
Twitter #tm11 or join the transmediale group on Facebook*

Reply all
Reply to author
0 new messages