principle of verticality

36 views
Skip to first unread message

Rich P

unread,
Apr 22, 2011, 2:38:28 PM4/22/11
to UPA 11th edition rules
I was listening to SkydCast #2, and it brought to mind an incident
from an old game that I always wondered about:

Throw goes up to an offensive player in the endzone. That player's
defender is face guarding him. The defender hears the UP call, and
jumps with his hands straight above his head, still facing the back of
the endzone.

The offensive player jumps simultaneously, reaches between his arms,
and snags the disc - this looked completely awesome, by the way. While
airborne, he pulls the frisbee toward his body, the disc hits the
defender on the head. The player on offense retains control of the
disc and we think we've made a goal.

Defender calls foul, principle of verticality, saying that his
airspace was blocked by the offense's arm. Offense says the defender
had no play on the disc, and the play was over once he'd made the
catch.

Thanks,
Rich

Jon Bauman

unread,
Apr 22, 2011, 2:42:49 PM4/22/11
to upa_11th_ed...@googlegroups.com
Assuming it wasn't dangerous, and that the catch was made prior to the contact, it sounds like no foul. The contact did not prevent the defender from making a play on the disc.


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "UPA 11th edition rules" group.
To post to this group, send email to upa_11th_ed...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to upa_11th_edition_...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/upa_11th_edition_rules?hl=en.


Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages