Below is a reposting of an informational message from the NOPD Cyber
Crime Unit regarding ebay scams:
#####
Here is the latest SCAM on ebay motors, for boats and all kinds of
autos.
I am presently working a clever scam whereby the scammer's are using
Craig List and e-Bay.
It all looks very legitimate.
Remember this: EBAY DOES NOT ESCROW MONEY !!!!!
My victim thought she was purchasing vehicle through Craigs List and
payed for it through
e-Bay motors. She Westerned Union the money and of course, never got
the car.
Here's how it works;
You see an auction and ask a question, or bid on the item, you get an
email from the seller that is OFFERING to sell you an item at a GREAT
PRICE. Most of the time it includes shipping. So you email with the
seller, he may even go as far as accepting terms to meet you, he won't
though. You ask questions, like can I have a copy of the title and or
bill of sale for the unit and the seller puts you off, saying "search
the vin or Hull id" via carfax or
boatreport.com which doesn't mean he
owns it, just repairs and damage are reported. Then comes the SCAM,
you get an email like the actual one below:
FROM A SCAMMER........
**What about if we do the transaction who will allow you 5 days to
inspect the boat and all documents. You send the money **to ebay, I
delivery the boat with all documents, title etc... you receive the
boat and inspect it. If from any reasons you don't **like the boat you
have 10 days to deliver it back and ebay refund the entire amount of
money to you. If you agree ebay **transfer the money to me.
Number one thing is, this boat was less than half price shipped. BIG
FLAG, IF ITS TO GOOD TO BE TRUE, IT IS !!!!! Second, EBAY DOES NOT
ESCROW, OR HOLD FUNDS TO BE RELEASED AFTER YOU GET A SHIPPED BOAT OR
CAR !!!!
If you agree, they send you an actual invoice, and the one I got from
them is one of the best fakes around, complete with chat window for
live help and everything. It ask you to wire transfer the money (and
once you do, its gone forever). It is complete with ebay email address
and live chat icons. Most people would fall for this, if they get past
the too good to be true thing.
If you get an invoice or an questionable email, forward it to spoof @
ebay.com , they will contact you and let you know if its real. Once
again, if its to good to be true, it is !
Please feel free to pass this along to friends and relatives.
Detective Dan Plustache
New Orleans Police Department
Cyber Crimes Unit
(504) 658-5063 (Off)
(504) 658-5098 (Fax)
#####
Captain Robert Bardy
Commander, Sixth District