Linux Version

Showing 76-221 of 221 messages
Linux Version Stramel 6/29/12 11:10 AM
I wasn't sure how to contact you as it says to in your README. But I would like to help out with creating a Linux version. The problem is that I am new to the Brackets-app/shell project and CEF1/3. I am studying computer science and have a fair knowledge and understanding but may need a little direction to get started. ie. outline of how building it for win/mac would normally go. 
Re: Linux Version Jason San Jose 6/29/12 11:29 AM
Thanks, Stramel. I was about to post something similar to get a discussion started. There's been a few requests spread across twitter, our github issues, Trello and IRC. Here's the user story for reference https://trello.com/c/GcNAJPye as well as the repo https://github.com/adobe/brackets-shell.

To be clear, no one on the core team is working on this yet. And as far as I know, there isn't any active work from external contributors...yet. There are a few interested contributors @sub889 on IRC has been pretty vocal about it.

The first step is to define some tasks for the user story. Here's the original user story for mac and win https://trello.com/c/8Vuom2dA.

I'm pretty sure one of the first tasks for getting brackets-shell running on linux is to build a binary distribution of CEF3 on linux. The CEF project has posted binary builds for mac and windows only. Find CEF here http://code.google.com/p/chromiumembedded/ and their support forum here http://www.magpcss.org/ceforum/index.php.

Figuring out the tasks and getting CEF3 to build is a good starting point. For reference, look at the brackets-shell README for build instructions on mac and win.

On Friday, June 29, 2012 11:10:33 AM UTC-7, Stramel wrote: