Joule GPS Support

1,389 views
Skip to first unread message

Mark Liversedge

unread,
Nov 5, 2012, 4:42:32 PM11/5/12
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Damien has written support for the new Joule GPS and its just been pushed to the repo. 

Big props to Damien, it's a significant development and not easy -- if anyone can help test when builds come out please post feedback here?

Many thanks,
Mark

Tom Weichmann

unread,
Nov 5, 2012, 5:07:18 PM11/5/12
to Mark Liversedge, golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Wow, I wasn't going to buy one due to no support, but now I just might!  Is this still a "download" type operation rather than connecting like a USB drive?

Tom

--
_______________________________________________
Golden-Cheetah-Users mailing list
golden-che...@googlegroups.com
http://groups.google.com/group/golden-cheetah-users?hl=en

Damien Grauser

unread,
Nov 5, 2012, 5:13:21 PM11/5/12
to t...@weichmann.org, Mark Liversedge, golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Yes the Joule GPS can not be mount as a USB drive like the Joule 2.0.
It is  a "download" type operation like the "small yellow" one. But faster.

Damien

2012/11/5 Tom Weichmann <t...@weichmann.org>

Murat Bronz

unread,
Nov 5, 2012, 7:05:51 PM11/5/12
to Damien....@pev-geneve.ch, Mark Liversedge, golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Hey !!! That is great!!! I have been trying to figure out how I can directly download from JouleGps device for about a week... Stupid me that I couldnt realize that it was not supported...

Anyway, compiled the latest version, and the download worked like a charm ! Thanks a lot Damien !!! and Mark!

I had the JouleGps device just for one week now, so I have only 5 rides that I downloaded. Before your commit, I was exporting from PowerAgent as .tcx and importing to GC.

Some differences that I have seen between my previous export/import .tcx and the new supported direct downloads are :

-Direct download includes temperature where the .tcx conversion was missing (thanks!)
-Direct download doesnt look like taking into account stops/breaks, such as 10 minutes of stop is visible on the .tcx files but not on direct download. So the duration and ride time are the same for direct download although there is a 10minutes difference...
-I havent installed my cadence/speed sensor, so the info coming from power tap and GPS, in one of the rides I have a stupid 100km/h speed record visible on .tcx import but the direct download from joule didnt have this error (congrats!)
-the power values looks exactly the same, only the TSS values vary a little because of the previous mentioned ride-time/duration differences.
- Elevation gain values are the same but if you look on the aero-lab there is a big difference between the profiles, strange...

Thanks a lot for your efforts, I have just written these differences thinking that maybe they can kind of help for some improvements, otherwise I am really glad to have this new JouleGPS support feature! 

Cheers !

Murat

Murat BRONZ

Claus Assmann

unread,
Nov 5, 2012, 8:30:09 PM11/5/12
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
On Mon, Nov 05, 2012, Mark Liversedge wrote:
> Damien has written support for the new Joule GPS and its just been pushed
> to the repo.

I guess that includes the "normal" Joule (without GPS) too? It's on my
list of things I would like to buy (including the Powercal).

Robb Romans

unread,
Nov 5, 2012, 8:34:39 PM11/5/12
to golden-cheetah-users
Hi. I get a compile error on Ubuntu:
http://pastebin.com/crz41qvX

This seems to make it go:
diff --git a/src/Bin2RideFile.h b/src/Bin2RideFile.h
index 58a442b..e368665 100644
--- a/src/Bin2RideFile.h
+++ b/src/Bin2RideFile.h
@@ -21,6 +21,7 @@
 #include "GoldenCheetah.h"
 
 #include "RideFile.h"
+#include <stdint.h>
 
 struct Bin2FileReader : public RideFileReader {
     virtual RideFile *openRideFile(QFile &file, QStringList &errors, QList<RideFile*>* = 0) const;


Regards,
Robb

--

Damien Grauser

unread,
Nov 6, 2012, 1:17:20 AM11/6/12
to Murat Bronz, Mark Liversedge, golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Thank you Murat,

I will correct the stops/breaks this week.

Damien

2012/11/6 Murat Bronz <murat...@gmail.com>

Damien Grauser

unread,
Nov 6, 2012, 1:27:32 AM11/6/12
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
The Joule 1.0 use a slightly different format.
It is not supported now.
I can try to support Joule 1.0 but I havent the device so I have to work blind...

Damien

2012/11/6 Claus Assmann <goldenche...@esmtp.org>

Mark Liversedge

unread,
Nov 6, 2012, 1:58:26 AM11/6/12
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Thanks Robb, I tested on a Mac. Which is ironic since I use Ubuntu 99.99% of the time. Have pushed an update.

Murat Bronz

unread,
Nov 6, 2012, 2:45:39 AM11/6/12
to Damien....@pev-geneve.ch, golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Hello Damien,

I have sent the files off-list.

In case if they dont reach you please tell.

Murat
--
Murat BRONZ

Claus Assmann

unread,
Nov 22, 2012, 12:18:57 AM11/22/12
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
On Tue, Nov 06, 2012, Damien Grauser wrote:
> The Joule 1.0 use a slightly different format.

Is it documented somewhere?

> It is not supported now.
> I can try to support Joule 1.0 but I havent the device so I have to work
> blind...

I have a Joule 1.0 now. I did some hacking (simply removed lat/lng
reading), but that didn't work (currently I'm getting read timeouts,
so that might be a different problem).

Any suggestion (or code to try)?

Thanks!

Damien Grauser

unread,
Nov 22, 2012, 1:16:04 AM11/22/12
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Yes Claus,

We can work together on this.

I contact you off list.

Damien

2012/11/22 Claus Assmann <goldenche...@esmtp.org>

Damien Grauser

unread,
Nov 23, 2012, 11:38:01 AM11/23/12
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Dear Claus,

Could you try a download with the last version commited ?
I hope you can download from Joule 1.0 without timeout and send me off list the bin2 ride file to update the parser.

Thank you.

Damien

2012/11/22 Damien Grauser <Damien....@pev-geneve.ch>

Claus Assmann

unread,
Nov 23, 2012, 12:49:11 PM11/23/12
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
On Fri, Nov 23, 2012, Damien Grauser wrote:

> Could you try a download with the last version commited ?

Thanks, but it doesn't work for me (yet):

getting summary ...
getting data ...
Get Unit Software Version...
Get System info...
Joule GPS indentified
Read ride summary...
Download failed

I turned on JOULE_DEBUG and added some other debug output

download Joule 1.0 or GPSGet Unit Software Version
writing '\x10\x02\x00 \x00\x00 ' to device
writing to device ok
reading from device
getunitversion=failed
Get System info
writing '\x10\x02\x03 \x00\x00#' to device
writing to device ok
reading from device
getsysteminfo=failed
major_version=0
Read ride summary
writing '\x10\x02 \x00\x00@' to device
writing to device ok
reading from device

Looks like reading fails. This evening I'll try it on a Linux
machine in case my OpenBSD box is causing problems.

Thanks!

Damien Grauser

unread,
Nov 23, 2012, 2:02:50 PM11/23/12
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
OK... Second try...
I changed the getUnitVersion.
Send me the output offlist.

Thank you.

Damien

2012/11/23 Claus Assmann <goldenche...@esmtp.org>

Thanks!

JN2Wheels

unread,
Apr 1, 2013, 6:42:36 PM4/1/13
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, Damien....@pev-geneve.ch, damien....@pev-geneve.ch
Hey, Guys.. Hope I'm posting in the relevant area.

I have been using GC for years, Garmin first, then little yellow computer for my powertap.  All Good.

I'm now using a Joule GPS and GC 3.0.  The download appears to be ok, but I have no map data.  On the "Analysis-Map" tab, I have a "No GPS Data Present" title.  I know for a fact that GPS is being recorded.  I get a tracking path onscreen, and even followed a route on a recent ride.  When I look at the "edit" tab, I'm only seeing a Lattitude column.  Should I also have Longitude?  Any idea what may be going on in the download to mess this up?

-Joe

andy aardema

unread,
Jul 23, 2013, 10:39:48 AM7/23/13
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, Damien....@pev-geneve.ch
I have exactly this same issue with my Joule GPS.  When I export csv from PowerAgent, I can see the lat/long columns in the file, but when I import the file into GC (currently at 3.0, build 3010), the columns are gone under the "Edit" tab, and the "Map" tab says no data available.  Importing directly from device to GC gives similar results.

PhillC

unread,
Aug 23, 2013, 5:26:40 PM8/23/13
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
It's been a little while since this specific thread was updated, so I was wondering if anyone had further feedback on the Joules GPS with Golden Cheetah? I've found a good deal for this unit, from Evans Cycles in the UK, online reduced to £150 with heart rate monitor.

This would be my first cycling specific computer purchase. To date I've just been using a GPS tracker and my Android phone, but I'd like more data and something a bit easier to carry when riding.

I only use Linux and do not have access to a Windows or Mac machine. I've just installed GC v3.0 via the Debian Sid repositories and like what I've seen so far.

Is the Joule GPS a good choice with Linux? From the earlier reading of this thread, I understand it will just mount as a USB device and require a download into GC to use. This is fine with me, as long as I am not locked into using PowerTap's PowerAgent software to access my ride data on the Joule GPS.

PhillC

unread,
Aug 23, 2013, 5:31:31 PM8/23/13
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
I should have also asked if Andy and Joe's issue with the Lat/Long Mapping data not being imported into GC has been addressed? I didn't see this anywhere on the issue tracker when I had a browse through it.

Robert Chung

unread,
Feb 23, 2014, 6:43:16 PM2/23/14
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com


On Friday, August 23, 2013 2:31:31 PM UTC-7, PhillC wrote:
I should have also asked if Andy and Joe's issue with the Lat/Long Mapping data not being imported into GC has been addressed? I didn't see this anywhere on the issue tracker when I had a browse through it.

I don't think it's been fixed. My current work-around is to download with Power Agent, export as a .pwx file, and import that into GC. 

David Stokes

unread,
Mar 4, 2014, 9:32:35 PM3/4/14
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
First of all, thanks to developers for a great product and for including direct download from Joule GPS. It *almost* works.
I have Joule GPS with firmware 19.076.  I have tried GC3.01 and GC3.1 direct download, both of which sort of work. Problem is that the column for 'Longitude' is lost. 'Latitude' is present, but this is not enough to provide mapping of the route.

Export from PowerAgent (either .tcx or .pwx) is an option that includes both latitude and longitude. However, some other interesting data is missing from this export (like temperature and torque and power balance). So it would be great to get the direct download to GC working.

I tried directly editing the file and copying the longitude data over, but this did not work due to another anomaly. It seems that the export from PowerAgent has a few instances on non-integral values for cadence and the direct download to GC simply skips those records. This creates a mismatch in the number of rows and makes the copy/paste operation impossible (different number of data points).

A few more details: I am using Windows 7 computer. I have recently transitioned from Powertap hub to Power2Max crankset, though this does not seem particularly relevant since the Joule GPS computer has remained the same.

Since I have your attention, I have one other niggling complaint about GC3.1. I prefer to display the 'Ride" with Power+Shade. In GC 3.1, the surrounding background remains black, which is really ugly. In previous versions (GC3.01 and GC2.1) the background is white. I tried altering the color scheme in GC3.1 to force a white background, but no love.

Mark Liversedge

unread,
Mar 5, 2014, 1:58:18 AM3/5/14
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
On Wednesday, 5 March 2014 02:32:35 UTC, David Stokes wrote:
Since I have your attention, I have one other niggling complaint about GC3.1. I prefer to display the 'Ride" with Power+Shade. In GC 3.1, the surrounding background remains black, which is really ugly. In previous versions (GC3.01 and GC2.1) the background is white. I tried altering the color scheme in GC3.1 to force a white background, but no love.

The background of the ride plot is set to match the chart background -- in appearances this is set with the color 'ride plot background' .. if you change it to white you will get what you want.

I cannot help on the Joule thing, but no doubt someone will be along to look at that too, it sounds like a simple fix to an annoying bug!

Mark
 

David Stokes

unread,
Mar 5, 2014, 8:30:02 AM3/5/14
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Thanks Mark for the quick response. I tried that setting for the 'ride plot background' and it does indeed change the color behind the actual plots. If you choose 'power+shade', then it is irrelevant because the plot background changes to reflect the power zones. I am complaining about the color behind the axis labels (on either side of the plot) and also around the 'full plot'. In GC 3.01 they are white. In GC 3.1 they have become black. I don't see a way to change this 'behind the axes color' in either version of the program and it doesn't change automatically when I change the 'ride plot background'. Perhaps this is just a bug in the Windows version.

Jon Escombe

unread,
Mar 5, 2014, 8:54:55 AM3/5/14
to David Stokes, golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Hi,

I think it perhaps just needs a restart to take full effect? At least
that's what I see here on a Linux build.

Btw, thanks for asking the question - it had been vaguely bugging me
since switching to 3.1 ;)

Regards,
Jon

David Stokes

unread,
Mar 5, 2014, 12:32:51 PM3/5/14
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, David Stokes, jesc...@googlemail.com
Jon.
You are RIGHT.
A restart of GC 3.1 solves the issue with the background color (though this wasn't necessary for GC 3.01).
David

Damien Grauser

unread,
Mar 5, 2014, 3:16:51 PM3/5/14
to David Stokes, golden-cheetah-users
Hi David,

Could you send me a file from a direct download from your Joule GPS (*.bin2) to understand this issue.

Download from Firmware 19.076 should work.
The next firmware (available soon) need some change in GC.


Damien


--
--
_______________________________________________
Golden-Cheetah-Users mailing list
golden-che...@googlegroups.com
http://groups.google.com/group/golden-cheetah-users?hl=en
---
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "golden-cheetah-users" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to golden-cheetah-u...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.

Jon Escombe

unread,
Mar 6, 2014, 2:47:31 PM3/6/14
to David Stokes, golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Ah, just noticed 'ride plot background' also changes the background
colour for all the train view fields as well. I may admit defeat and
live with the black ride graph borders for now..

It might make sense to set them separately, I'll pop a feature request
into GitHub.

Regards,
Jon

Mark Liversedge

unread,
Mar 6, 2014, 4:32:50 PM3/6/14
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, David Stokes, jesc...@googlemail.com
On Thursday, 6 March 2014 19:47:31 UTC, Jon Escombe wrote:
Ah, just noticed 'ride plot background' also changes the background
colour for all the train view fields as well. I may admit defeat and
live with the black ride graph borders for now..

It might make sense to set them separately, I'll pop a feature request
into GitHub.


Thats an oddity I had long since forgotten. Do, and I'll fix it.

Mark 

Mark Liversedge

unread,
Mar 7, 2014, 7:14:45 AM3/7/14
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, David Stokes, jesc...@googlemail.com
I just pushed a fix to allow separate configuration of train view plot backgrounds.

G Coco

unread,
Mar 7, 2014, 8:01:43 PM3/7/14
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
There is definitely an import issue with Windows. Mac/Linux seem to be fine.

Issue #817 created to track this issue.

Dimitris

unread,
Jun 28, 2015, 6:22:56 AM6/28/15
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
I have the latest CycleOps Joule 2.0 GPS, FW: 19.087. I have a fresh Fedora 22 installation with ftdi drivers installed. When I plugin the device I get:

[Mimis@localhost ~]$ dmesg | tail
[ 1471.621037] usbcore: registered new interface driver ftdi_sio
[ 1471.621061] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for FTDI USB Serial Device
[ 1471.621200] ftdi_sio 2-1.4:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected
[ 1471.621246] usb 2-1.4: Detected FT232RL
[ 1471.621838] usb 2-1.4: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0

So I know the device is recognized. I have added also the following rule to the dialout group
[MyUser@localhost ~]$ sudo usermod -a -G dialout MyUser
where MyUser my username.

I have latest GC 3.1.0. When I press download data I get timeout error. Any idea how to fix this?

Jon Escombe

unread,
Jun 29, 2015, 2:44:58 AM6/29/15
to Dimitris, golden-che...@googlegroups.com
I don't have a Joule, but is possible ModemManager has the serial port
open already while probing the device. If you watch the message log,
does it show related activity there?

sudo tail -f /var/log/messages

If so, it might just be a case of waiting until that's finished, or
perhaps it also does something to upset the device state. If that's the
case, you can blacklist the USB VID/PID with a ModemManager udev rule,
so that it won't try to open it at all.

Regards,
Jon

Dimitris

unread,
Jun 30, 2015, 2:46:51 AM6/30/15
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, dsxoi...@gmail.com
Hi Jon,

Any idea how the rules to blacklist this in udev should look like?

Dimitris

Dimitris

unread,
Jun 30, 2015, 9:00:35 AM6/30/15
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
I even uninstalled ModemManager but no good. Device is recognized properly, and I'm getting no permission errors. Only error is this timeout. I installed GC in a Windows station and worked immediately with my Joule GPS.
Honestly, I'm struggling with this for more than 1 week, I start thinking that GC and CycleOps Joule GPS simply not work together in Linux.

[MyUser@linux ~]$ dmesg | grep -i ftdi
[  100.188803] usbcore: registered new interface driver ftdi_sio
[  100.188828] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for FTDI USB Serial Device
[  100.189002] ftdi_sio 2-1.3:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected
[  100.190346] usb 2-1.3: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0

Jan de Visser

unread,
Jun 30, 2015, 9:06:38 AM6/30/15
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, Dimitris

Dimitris

unread,
Jun 30, 2015, 9:46:04 AM6/30/15
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, dsxoi...@gmail.com
Thanks for your reply Jan. I did a sudo dnf remove brltty and rebooted but the problem persists. Is rule in /etc/udev/rules.d mandatory and which one is appropriate?

Jan de Visser

unread,
Jun 30, 2015, 10:08:43 AM6/30/15
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, Dimitris

I would think so. I'm not a Joule expert by any stretch (just did a google and came up with the FAQ), but I do have an old cradle and LYC lying around. It may actually still work - I could poke around and see if I can get it to work.

--
_______________________________________________
Golden-Cheetah-Users mailing list
golden-che...@googlegroups.com
http://groups.google.com/group/golden-cheetah-users?hl=en
---
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "golden-cheetah-users" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to golden-cheetah-u...@googlegroups.com.

For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.



Jan de Visser

unread,
Jun 30, 2015, 12:14:23 PM6/30/15
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com

I dowloaded the D2XX library, installed it, recompiled my GC with Powertap support, and after I made sure I had appropriate permissions on /dev/ttyUSB0 it Just Worked.

 

jan@wolverine:~/Projects/GoldenCheetah/src$ lsusb
Bus 005 Device 007: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 USB-Serial (UART) IC
...

jan@wolverine:~/Projects/GoldenCheetah/src$ dmesg | grep -i ftdi  
[131847.755027] usb 5-4.4.2: Manufacturer:
FTDI
[131848.818552] usbcore: registered new interface driver
ftdi_sio
[131848.818588] usbserial: USB Serial support registered for
FTDI USB Serial Device
[131848.819259]
ftdi_sio 5-4.4.2:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected
[131848.819922] usb 5-4.4.2:
FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0
[135545.215855]
ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: usb_serial_generic_read_bulk_callback - urb stopped: -32

jan@wolverine:~/Projects/GoldenCheetah/src$ ls -l /dev/ttyUSB0
crw-rw-rw- 1 root dialout 188, 0 Jun 30 12:03
/dev/ttyUSB0

 

Some caveats:

- This is the old, non-GPS, CycleOps Little Yellow Computer (LYC), which is about 27 hardware iterations behind the current Joule technology.

- There was no data on the LYC.

 

Hope this helps,

 

jan

Dimitris

unread,
Jul 1, 2015, 4:48:22 PM7/1/15
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com
Hi Jan,

What do you mean by GC with Powertap support? Isn't the rpm file I find in Golden Cheetah website the correct one? pS: I have the CycleOps joule GPS.

To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to golden-cheetah-users+unsub...@googlegroups.com.

Jan de Visser

unread,
Jul 1, 2015, 5:12:50 PM7/1/15
to Dimitris, golden-che...@googlegroups.com
I don't know. I didn't even know there were RPMs :-) But I think it's a safe bet that if it recognizes your device, i.e. it shows up in the dropdown in the "download from device" dialog, it's compiled in there.

To make sure we cover all bases: Can you download from your GPS using any another application?



To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to golden-cheetah-u...@googlegroups.com.

For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.

--
_______________________________________________
Golden-Cheetah-Users mailing list
golden-che...@googlegroups.com
http://groups.google.com/group/golden-cheetah-users?hl=en
---
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "golden-cheetah-users" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to golden-cheetah-u...@googlegroups.com.

Dimitris

unread,
Jul 1, 2015, 5:16:18 PM7/1/15
to golden-che...@googlegroups.com, dsxoi...@gmail.com
Yes in windows I can download both with the default PowerAgent app from CycleOps and from GC. Only in linux I have this issue.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to golden-cheetah-users+unsub...@googlegroups.com.

For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.

--
_______________________________________________
Golden-Cheetah-Users mailing list
golden-che...@googlegroups.com
http://groups.google.com/group/golden-cheetah-users?hl=en
---
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "golden-cheetah-users" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to golden-cheetah-users+unsub...@googlegroups.com.
Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages