Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

LSJ: Q on Vast Wealth and Magic of the Smith

10 views
Skip to first unread message

Justin Fang

unread,
Nov 18, 1997, 3:00:00 AM11/18/97
to

Will these cards allow a minion to equip with clan-restricted (and I suppose
discipline-restricted, if any existed) equipment? E.g., could a Vastly
Wealthy Black Cat equip with Kali's Fang?

--
Justin Fang (jus...@ugcs.caltech.edu)
This space intentionally left blank.

Alexander Racher

unread,
Nov 18, 1997, 3:00:00 AM11/18/97
to

--------------3276FF1D449D6BA7B478F200
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit

Justin Fang wrote:

I don´t think so because the restrictions refer to who equips (or what skill
he/she has) , not how (normal equipping action, vast wealth,...). Besides, non
of these cards say anything different, you just can replace the normal equipping
action with these actions offered by these cards.

Xandl

--------------3276FF1D449D6BA7B478F200
Content-Type: text/html; charset=us-ascii
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

<HTML>
&nbsp;

<P>Justin Fang wrote:
<BLOCKQUOTE TYPE=CITE>Will these cards allow a minion to equip with clan-restricted
(and I suppose
<BR>discipline-restricted, if any existed) equipment?&nbsp; E.g., could
a Vastly
<BR>Wealthy Black Cat equip with Kali's Fang?

<P>--
<BR>Justin Fang (jus...@ugcs.caltech.edu)
<BR>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;
This space intentionally left blank.</BLOCKQUOTE>
&nbsp; I don&acute;t think so because the restrictions refer to <B>who</B>
equips (or what skill he/she has) , not how (normal equipping action, vast
wealth,...). Besides, non of these cards say anything different, you just
can replace the normal equipping action with these actions offered by these
cards.

<P>Xandl</HTML>

--------------3276FF1D449D6BA7B478F200--


LSJ

unread,
Nov 18, 1997, 3:00:00 AM11/18/97
to

jus...@ugcs.caltech.edu (Justin Fang) wrote:
>
> Will these cards allow a minion to equip with clan-restricted (and I suppose
> discipline-restricted, if any existed) equipment? E.g., could a Vastly
> Wealthy Black Cat equip with Kali's Fang?

No. The cards say nothing about overcoming restrictions of equipping, so
the restrictions still apply.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com)
Official VtES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
(*) - Subject to review by Rules Team

-------------------==== Posted via Deja News ====-----------------------
http://www.dejanews.com/ Search, Read, Post to Usenet

James Coupe

unread,
Nov 18, 1997, 3:00:00 AM11/18/97
to

In article <8798801...@dejanews.com>, LSJ <vte...@wizards.com>
writes

And in the same way, Disguised Weapon would not allow a non CI-ed (Clan
Impersonated) Dimple to equip a Femur of Toomler, right?

Please answer this because I need it for the Playtest card mailing list.

--

James Coupe (remove items of clothing to reply)

I shall personally come around to your houses and drag you out by the scruff of
the neck. I shall belt you around the mouth and mouth you around the belt. Do
you understand what I'm saying?

LSJ

unread,
Nov 19, 1997, 3:00:00 AM11/19/97
to James Coupe

James Coupe wrote:
> In article <8798801...@dejanews.com>, LSJ <vte...@wizards.com>
> writes
> >jus...@ugcs.caltech.edu (Justin Fang) wrote:
> >> Will these cards allow a minion to equip with clan-restricted (and I suppose
> >> discipline-restricted, if any existed) equipment? E.g., could a Vastly
> >> Wealthy Black Cat equip with Kali's Fang?
> >
> >No. The cards say nothing about overcoming restrictions of equipping, so
> >the restrictions still apply.
>
> And in the same way, Disguised Weapon would not allow a non CI-ed (Clan
> Impersonated) Dimple to equip a Femur of Toomler, right?
>
> Please answer this because I need it for the Playtest card mailing list.

Since the card says nothing about overcoming restrictions of equipping, so
the restrictions still apply.

Same thing for Concealed Weapon, before anybody asks :-)

David Pontes

unread,
Nov 19, 1997, 3:00:00 AM11/19/97
to

On Tue, 18 Nov 1997, LSJ wrote:

> jus...@ugcs.caltech.edu (Justin Fang) wrote:
> >
> > Will these cards allow a minion to equip with clan-restricted (and I suppose
> > discipline-restricted, if any existed) equipment? E.g., could a Vastly
> > Wealthy Black Cat equip with Kali's Fang?
>
> No. The cards say nothing about overcoming restrictions of equipping, so
> the restrictions still apply.
>

But in the case of Vast Wealth, there is a problem. The card tells
you to "equip with the first piece of equipment on your library". If you
can't equip with it, won't the action fizzle?

David Pontes


8[


LSJ

unread,
Nov 19, 1997, 3:00:00 AM11/19/97
to

Yes. If you cannot equip with the selected card, then the action fizzles
(and the selected card is burned). [RTR 960221]

Note that if the only reason that you cannot equip with the equipment
is that it costs more pool than you have, then you are ousted (the
action doesn't "fizzle" just to keep you in the game). [RTR 941006]

0 new messages