Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Infection

8 views
Skip to first unread message

salem

unread,
Oct 13, 2003, 1:41:06 AM10/13/03
to
"[thn] Prevent all damage to a ghoul (ally or retainer) in combat.
Usable by a vampire not involved in the combat."

Is this useable by a vampire in topor?

I can't see why not.... :)

salem
domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm

Johannes Walch

unread,
Oct 13, 2003, 3:16:44 AM10/13/03
to
> Is this useable by a vampire in topor?
>
> I can't see why not.... :)

I can´t see why it should be usable. AFAIK vampires in torpor can only use
cards where it says "usable by a vampire in torpor" or action modifiers on
the leave torpor action. But I might be wrong.

--
johannes walch
v:ekn germany - http://www.vekn.de/


LSJ

unread,
Oct 13, 2003, 7:50:17 AM10/13/03
to
salem wrote:
> "[thn] Prevent all damage to a ghoul (ally or retainer) in combat.
> Usable by a vampire not involved in the combat."
>
> Is this useable by a vampire in topor?

Yes.
http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=3C2B174D.52C20C5B%40white-wolf.com

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

the_capuchin

unread,
Oct 13, 2003, 9:11:02 AM10/13/03
to
> "[thn] Prevent all damage to a ghoul (ally or retainer) in combat.
> Usable by a vampire not involved in the combat."
> Is this useable by a vampire in topor?
> I can't see why not.... :)

I can. Infection is a combat card. Torporized vampires do not enter
combat, so they don't play that type of card unless the text says
otherwise. Anyway, I doubt they'll ever release a combat card usable
by a vampire in torpor (can't imagine what a slumbering vampire could
do in combat). Take some action cards like Rapid Healing and
Regenation that explicity say "usable by a vampire in torpor" -
normally a torporized vampire can't do anything but leave torpor.

LSJ

unread,
Oct 13, 2003, 9:17:48 AM10/13/03
to

Barring explicit card text, torpored vampires cannot:

1) Take any action except "leave torpor".
2) Block.
3) Play action modifiers when another minion is acting.
4) Play reaction cards.
5) Enter combat.
6) Cast votes.

Barring explicit card text, torpored vampires can:

1) Untap during the untap phase.
2) Take the "leave torpor" action.
3) Play action modifiers when acting.
4) Play combat cards that are playable by non-combatants.
5) Be targets of actions/effects (including damaging effects).

Peter D Bakija

unread,
Oct 13, 2003, 9:28:45 AM10/13/03
to
salem <salem_ch...@yahoo.com> wrote in message news:<oiekovcbpe2aa37dm...@4ax.com>...

> "[thn] Prevent all damage to a ghoul (ally or retainer) in combat.
> Usable by a vampire not involved in the combat."
>
> Is this useable by a vampire in topor?

Probably not.

>
> I can't see why not.... :)

In all likelyhood, for the same reason that a vampire in torpor can't
use Cloak at superior on another acting vampire. I'm not quite sure
what the actual rule is that prevents it, but it probably also
prevents a torporized vampire from using Infection to save a ghoul.

-Peter

John Flournoy

unread,
Oct 13, 2003, 12:27:02 PM10/13/03
to
"Johannes Walch" <johanne...@vekn.de> wrote in message news:<bmdjgs$imq$1...@stu1id2.ip.tesion.net>...

> > Is this useable by a vampire in topor?
> >
> > I can't see why not.... :)
>
> I can´t see why it should be usable. AFAIK vampires in torpor can only use
> cards where it says "usable by a vampire in torpor" or action modifiers on
> the leave torpor action. But I might be wrong.

By rulebook text, vampires in Torpor can play action modifiers on
their own actions only. (You can't for instance play a Superior Cloak
the Gathering, either.)

There's nothing that prevents Infection from being played while you're
tapped, though.

-John Flournoy

the_capuchin

unread,
Oct 13, 2003, 1:15:15 PM10/13/03
to
> Barring explicit card text, torpored vampires can:
>
> 1) Untap during the untap phase.
> 2) Take the "leave torpor" action.
> 3) Play action modifiers when acting.
> 4) Play combat cards that are playable by non-combatants.
> 5) Be targets of actions/effects (including damaging effects).

Ah, ok. Sorry for the mistake.
I can see why torpored vampires cannot play action modifiers when
other ready vampires are acting but can play combat cards if I think
of a tabletop game (say, a Nosferatu Elder in torpor could invoke some
high-level disciplines to help his Childe to defend his haven, but
could not Cloak him).
But I think that is a little bit confusing in terms of card play,
specially to new players. "If John Doe could play Save Face while in
torpor, why not Cloak?" We don't need any more rulings (there's still
too many to maintain and do), it's just my two cents.

cheers

the_capuchin

John Flournoy

unread,
Oct 13, 2003, 6:02:47 PM10/13/03
to
flou...@rcn.com (John Flournoy) wrote in message news:<57327a82.03101...@posting.google.com>...

> "Johannes Walch" <johanne...@vekn.de> wrote in message news:<bmdjgs$imq$1...@stu1id2.ip.tesion.net>...
> > > Is this useable by a vampire in topor?
> > >
> > > I can't see why not.... :)
> >
> > I can´t see why it should be usable. AFAIK vampires in torpor can only use
> > cards where it says "usable by a vampire in torpor" or action modifiers on
> > the leave torpor action. But I might be wrong.
>
> By rulebook text, vampires in Torpor can play action modifiers on
> their own actions only. (You can't for instance play a Superior Cloak
> the Gathering, either.)

Of course, I'm an idiot and forgot that Infection's a combat card. Doh.

> There's nothing that prevents Infection from being played while you're
> tapped, though.
>
> -John Flournoy

-John Flournoy

0 new messages