Jalan Aajav is Sabbat, and a Black Hand Seraph.
If Jalan Aajav gets a Writ of Acceptance, or "Goes Anarch" (as Seraph
doesn't seem to be a Title), or whatever, does he continue to be a
Black Hand/Seraph?
The website says that there are "no new rules", so by the current
rules, Black Handedness would stick around with the vampire, whether
he's Sabbat, Camarilla, Independent, or Anarch.
What's the official word?
The official word:
There are no new rules in Black Hand.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
I think it's fairly safe to speculate that Black Hand will be treated as
a sub-sect, just like Anarch is a sub-sect of Independant. So, if a
Black Hand vamp changes sects, they would lose their Black Hand status,
just like an Anarch who changes sects loses their Anarch status.
(I would also not be surprised if Seraph were a title, even if it's one
that gives no votes, and thus Seraphs could not go anarch.)
--Colin McGuigan
If you read LSJ's previous reply to my message, you'll see that you're wrong.
Except in the case of Blooding, which is a card that specifically refers to
"this Sabbat vampire", there are no new rules governing who can and can't be
Black Hand.
So, Lazverinus who has played Blooding and then gets a Writ of Acceptance is
*not* Black Hand (unless he leaves the Camarilla again),
but Jalan Aajav who gets a Writ of Acceptance *is* still Black Hand, and a
Seraph. Again, since there are "no new rules", it also indicates to me that
Seraph is not a Title.
As an aside, note the wording on Blooded:
"+1 Stealth action. Requires a ready Sabbat vampire. Put this card on
the acting vampire and move one blood from the blood bank to this
vampire. This Sabbat vampire is Black Hand. A vampire can only have
one Blooding."
So, if you play Blooding and then change sects to Cam or Anarch,
you're no longer Black Hand (since it says 'This _Sabbat_ vampire is
Black Hand', not 'this vampire').
(Though this won't apply for the vampires innately Black Hand, like
Teresita or Jalan-Aajav, who should retain their Hand status
regardless.)
-John Flournoy
I love it when Vtes Cards go along with Canon. Now we can have secret
members of the Black Hand in all Sects of the game.
-johnmeier1
I did. LSJ says there are no new rules in the BH expansion. This would
not be a new rule, methinks.
(Note the change on the burn option to be something other than a clan
requirement is also "not a new rule").
--Colin McGuigan
I'd say it's almost absolutely got to be a new rule. Look at it this
way - if you handed a Black Hand edition starter deck to someone,
would you need a description of what "Black Hand" means somewhere in
the rulebook? If it means 'this is a sub-sect of the Sabbat, and only
vampires that are Sabbat can have the 'Black Hand' descriptor', yes,
you would. (Unlike say 'What is a ghoul' (or 'zombie', or 'mage', or
'werewolf') - which is absolutely meaningless unless it's referred to
by another card.)
Notice that 'Anarch means Independent and if you stop being
Independent you stop being Anarch' is explicitly listed as a 'new
rule' from the last expansion, according to the Anarch-edition
rulebook (and website rulebook).
Additionally, if it were an inherent quality of 'Black Hand' that you
had to also be 'Sabbat', Blooded would not need to specify 'this
Sabbat Vampire is Black Hand' - it could simply say 'This vampire is
Black Hand'.
> (Note the change on the burn option to be something other than a clan
> requirement is also "not a new rule").
No, it's a re-write of an existing rule for 'what does the burn option
icon mean', which is already in the rulebook. There's no existing rule
for 'what does 'Black Hand' mean', just as there was no existing rule
for 'what does 'Anarch' mean (and 'Anarch' turned out to be a new
rule).
> --Colin McGuigan
-John Flournoy
Similarly, Galaric's, Go Anarch and Seattle Committee would not need
their 'burn this card(/counter) if change sect' rule, but they still
have it for clarity.
salem
domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm
That's not actually the same thing. If Blooded said "This vampire is
Black Hand" instead of "this Sabbat vampire", a Sabbat Vampire with
blooded who picks up a Writ of Acceptance would stop being BH, but
would be BH again when he loses the equipment and goes back to being
Sabbat.
Galaric's/Go Anarch/Seattle specifically burn the card/counter when
you change sect, so that if for instance an Anarch Brujah first Clan
Impersonates to Toreador and then Impersonates to say Ravnos, they
won't suddenly regain Anarch status upon becoming independent again.
> salem
> domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm
-John Flournoy
>
> The official word:
> There are no new rules in Black Hand.
>
Is new terminology a new rule? I never heard of a Seraph before.
thanks,
chris
--
chris shorb
<www.vtesinla.org> (A V:TES site)
prince of torrance, california
***
Into the abyss I'll fall - the eye of Horus
Into the eyes of the night - watching me go
Green is the cat's eye that glows - in this temple
Enter the risen Osiris - risen again
- Dickinson
Well...we'll see. When the new BH rulebook comes out, one of us will be
right...and one of us will be dead. =P
> Additionally, if it were an inherent quality of 'Black Hand' that you
> had to also be 'Sabbat', Blooded would not need to specify 'this
> Sabbat Vampire is Black Hand' - it could simply say 'This vampire is
> Black Hand'.
'Cept that card text overrules rulings. If you had a card that said,
"Put this card on a vampire. This vampire becomes an Anarch", one could
make the argument that the card could be played on titled vampires.
Even if it was wrong, why introduce the confusion and not just word
things properly?
> No, it's a re-write of an existing rule for 'what does the burn option
> icon mean', which is already in the rulebook. There's no existing rule
> for 'what does 'Black Hand' mean', just as there was no existing rule
> for 'what does 'Anarch' mean (and 'Anarch' turned out to be a new
> rule).
Which is why adding Black Hand could just be an extension of the new
rule. But, we'll just have to wait and see.
--Colin McGuigan
By way of example, "gun" is not a rule.