Minion X of Meth A is bleeding Meth B. Minion Y of Meth B attempts to
block. Minion X gets +1 stealth. Meth B declines to block. Minion X
gets +2 bleed from an action card. Meth B declares he will take the
bleed. Meth C is the predator of Meth A. Can Minion Z of Meth C play
an Eagle Sight and lay down +1 intercept to attempt to block the bleed
against Meth B?
The issue comes up as the bleed is a directed action. The only legal
blocker can be minions of the targetted Meth. My only concern is that
once the targetted Meth the action is successful. This means no other
attempts of blocking can be made. Well, you can still play reaction
cards, meaning that the action could be bounced with a deflection,
thus allowing another block opportunity.
What do you guys say?
Andrew.
Yes. Eagle sight allows you to block when other players have declined. to
avoid this, the Meth A should ask "no eagle sight block ?" before playing
his bleed modifier. Not hurrying is the key to a succesful bleed ;)
Is it really obligatory to answer such a question (the "no eagle's
sight block" question), and then act thus even after the acting minion
has played an action modifier?
alas if you really want to have no nasty surprise, you should ask.
I'm pretty sure that if the acting methuselah calls for 'all other
block attempts' (eagles', falcon's, anneke), and no one attempts, then
that acting methuselah can play whatever action mods he wants and no
one will be allowed to attempt to block unless specific card text says
otherwise (eg: deflection).
salem
domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm
If you are asked if you're blocking by the acting methuselah, you must
answer yes or no. If you decline to block, you don't get another
chance. (Obviously, they have to go to the target first, in the case of
(D) actions, or prey then predator in un-(D) actions.)
>and then act thus even after the acting minion
>has played an action modifier?
Yes.
Otherwise you get situations like:
"Are you going to block?"
"Only if you play an action modifier."
"Well, I'm not going to play an action modifier (or not) until I know if
you're blocking."
"I'm not going to say if I'm blocking until I see if you're playing
Conditioning."
So the acting minion's controller asks for blocks at a point convenient
to herself. You resolve all block attempts relevant to that question
and move on.
The playing of Threats, Deflection and so on is not relevant to the
timing of the blocks. You can play them before or after. But you can
only declare blocks when the acting minion orders the blocking phase.
--
James Coupe
PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D
Lucky that my breasts are small and humble, EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2
So you don't confuse them with mountains. 13D7E668C3695D623D5D
I looked up the rulebook and found no mentioning that other
methuselahs than the target methuselah (in case of D-actions), have to
declare if they make any further block attempts.
I agree that if the player chose to answer on that question, that he
has to follow his answer. I'm just not yet convinced that he has to
answer at all. Any official confirmation for this?
Confirmed.
The action cannot be resolved if any Methuselah still has a chance to
block, and therefore each Methuselah who might have a chance to
block must eventually decline to do so (or block, of course). Since
that declination cannot be postponed to the End of Time, it must
be made at some point. The acting Methuselah can wait for that
point to pass before playing further effects.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/