Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Justicar Retribution

17 views
Skip to first unread message

Lupus Australis

unread,
Jan 24, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/24/98
to

Can anyone tell me what "Justicar Retribution" does? I don't have a
copy.

Thanks,

Lupus Australis
____ ____
\ \----/ /
|()__()|
__\ __ /__
/ __\()/__ \
|/ \==/ \|
| || |


LSJ

unread,
Jan 26, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/26/98
to

Lupus Australis wrote:
>
> Can anyone tell me what "Justicar Retribution" does? I don't have a
> copy.

Justicar Retribution
Political Action
Political Card-Worth 1 Vote
Called by any vampire at +1 stealth.
Successful vote burns all vampires with a current bleed of 3 or more.
Michael Weaver
Uncommon

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com)
Official VtES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
(*) - Subject to review by Rules Team

SirTemple

unread,
Jan 26, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/26/98
to

Speeking of Justicar retribution:

>Justicar Retribution
>Political Action
>Political Card-Worth 1 Vote
>Called by any vampire at +1 stealth.
>Successful vote burns all vampires with a current bleed of 3 or more.
>Michael Weaver
>Uncommon

Does this burn al Inner Circle members? It seems like it does, but that it a
lot of power for a vote that any vampire can call.

Jason

D Walker

unread,
Jan 26, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/26/98
to

Not only does it burn IC's but let them lay out a couple Pulse's and try
to go for the big body count.

But lets see you try to get it passed when 2 or 3 IC's hit the table its
hard but can be done.

Daniel
Catiff at Large

LSJ

unread,
Jan 27, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/27/98
to

SirTemple wrote:
>
> >Not only does it burn IC's but let them lay out a couple Pulse's and try
> >to go for the big body count.
>
> But the Rules page says:
> * Does not count a +bleed that isn't 'active' (Laptop,e.g.)[TOM 960109]
>
> Which +bleed modifiers are active, and which aren't?

The bleed bonuses that only apply when bleeding (Constanza Vinti, Khabar:
Community, Enchanted Marionette) or bleed bonuses that are optional
(Laptop - since using equipment is always optional, Kalinda) are not
counted by Justicar Retribution.

In short - Justicar Retribution only counts active bleed bonuses,
and since the "bonuses when bleed" aren't active and the optional
bonuses aren't active (unless the minion chooses to make it active),
they don't count.

John Whelan

unread,
Jan 27, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/27/98
to

LSJ (vte...@wizards.com) wrote:
: Justicar Retribution

: Political Action
: Political Card-Worth 1 Vote
: Called by any vampire at +1 stealth.
: Successful vote burns all vampires with a current bleed of 3 or more.
: Michael Weaver
: Uncommon

Hmmm. How do you determine what the current bleed is?

I am aware that Laptop Computer is excluded from calculations, because, as
equipment, it is optional. I suspect that superior spying missions played
on a vampire don't count either.

What about "Loquipment", like Inverary, Scotland. Is that optional too?

What is the "current bleed" of an IC member in torpor, 3 or zero?

What about conditional bleed bonuses? Would Queen Anne be burned if her
prey had a ready Tremere? According to Errata, this bonus is actually
dependent on whether the Methuselah she bleeds has a ready Tremere, so her
"current bleed" is dependent on which Methuselah she chooses to bleed.
Still, would she be burned if ALL other methuselahs had a ready Tremere?

SirTemple

unread,
Jan 27, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/27/98
to

>Not only does it burn IC's but let them lay out a couple Pulse's and try
>to go for the big body count.

But the Rules page says:
* Does not count a +bleed that isn't 'active' (Laptop,e.g.)[TOM 960109]

Which +bleed modifiers are active, and which aren't?

Jason


Lupus Australis

unread,
Jan 27, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/27/98
to SirTemple

Equipment is always optional, whereas retainers never are. Thus, the
optional +1 bleed from a laptop is not considered to be "active" or
"current" until it is "activated" during the course of a bleed. The +2
bleed granted by superior Spying Mission is likewise not "activated"
unless certain conditions are met. All other plusses, AFAIK are permanent
and non-optional unless otherwise indicated. If Ozmo (+1 bleed--not
optional) employs Tasha Morgan (which always gives +1 bleed regardless of
intentions of Ozmo) then effectively he has a current bleed of 3 and is
vulnerable to Justicar Retribution. Same goes for superior Pulse of the
Canaille, Legendary Vampire, etc.

LSJ

unread,
Jan 27, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/27/98
to

John Whelan wrote:
> LSJ (vte...@wizards.com) wrote:
> : Justicar Retribution
> : Successful vote burns all vampires with a current bleed of 3 or more.

>
> Hmmm. How do you determine what the current bleed is?

Add up all of the bleed modifiers currently in effect and the
minion's base bleed.

> I am aware that Laptop Computer is excluded from calculations, because, as
> equipment, it is optional. I suspect that superior spying missions played
> on a vampire don't count either.

Correct. Equipment is always optional, and superior Spying Mission
doesn't increase the minion's bleed until he successfully bleeds the
same Methuselah the next time.

> What about "Loquipment", like Inverary, Scotland. Is that optional too?

Apparently not:

From: aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie)
Newsgroups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad
Subject: Re: TOM: Q: Inverary Scotland and Justicar Retribution
Date: 23 Apr 1996 21:43:18 GMT
Message-ID: <4ljitm$c...@darkstar.UCSC.EDU>

Inveraray's bonus can't be ignored, so will count for Justicar Retribution
and so forth.

and

From: aa...@cats.ucsc.edu (Thomas R Wylie)
Newsgroups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad
Subject: Re: TOM: Q: Inverary Scotland and Justicar Retribution
Date: 30 Apr 1996 22:03:45 GMT
Message-ID: <4m62o1$1...@darkstar.UCSC.EDU>

L. Scott Johnson <sjoh...@math.scarolina.edu> wrote:
>>Inveraray's bonus can't be ignored, so will count for Justicar Retribution
>>and so forth.
>Can we get a general reasoning for this?
>The rule has been stated as:
>"Bleed-enhancing permanents typically only apply during a bleed action"

That is a general rule of thumb for designing/writing cards. It is not
a hard and fast rule. Inveraray doesn't say the bonus only applies during
a bleed action, so it applies at all times.


> What is the "current bleed" of an IC member in torpor, 3 or zero?

3. Being ready and/or untapped has no bearing on a minion's bleed.

> What about conditional bleed bonuses? Would Queen Anne be burned if her
> prey had a ready Tremere? According to Errata, this bonus is actually
> dependent on whether the Methuselah she bleeds has a ready Tremere, so her
> "current bleed" is dependent on which Methuselah she chooses to bleed.
> Still, would she be burned if ALL other methuselahs had a ready Tremere?

According to errata, she only gets her bonus when "the Methuselah
she bleeds controls a ..." [RTR 960530]

So, when she's not bleeding, the bonus doesn't apply.

John Briley

unread,
Jan 31, 1998, 3:00:00 AM1/31/98
to

Justicar Retribution burns all vampires with a current bleed of 3 or more.

Richard

unread,
Feb 4, 1998, 3:00:00 AM2/4/98
to

Lupus Australis <jbwh...@dorsai.org> wrote in article
<Pine.SUN.3.96.980124023958.11374D-100000@amanda>...


>
> Can anyone tell me what "Justicar Retribution" does? I don't have a
> copy.
>

It's a political card called by any vampire, if successful, it burns every
vampire with a current bleed of 3 or more.


0 new messages