Nosferatu Bestial [Anarchs:R]
Cardtype: Action
Clan: Nosferatu
Cost: 1 pool
+1 stealth action. Unique.
Put this card into play. This card represents a unique Nosferatu
vampire with 2 capacity and basic Animalism. The Bestial cannot act
except to hunt, cannot cast votes and cannot have equipment. During
your untap phase, this Bestial may employ a retainer from your hand
that requires Animalism (he or she must meet the requirements of the
card). Pay the cost as normal. This is not an action and cannot be
blocked.
Thanks
Doug
>If the Nosferatu Bestial is in play and gets superior Animalism can he
>use his special to employ a Raptor (or any other suitable retainer) at
>superior? Someone in my play group argues that because it doesn't
>specifically state that it can be employed at ANI that it only works
>at inferior.
it says it _has_ basic animalism. it doesn't say that the employing of
the retainer is at basic animalism, it just says _requires_ animalism,
with no mention of what level.
it does, however, mention that the Bestial must meet the requirments
of the card. So if Bestial has superior animalism, then it can employ
retainers that require superior animalism.
same goes for muricia's call at inferior animalism. you can still
employ the retainer you find in your library at superior animalism, if
you have it.
>Nosferatu Bestial [Anarchs:R]
>Cardtype: Action
>
>Clan: Nosferatu
>
>Cost: 1 pool
>
>+1 stealth action. Unique.
>Put this card into play. This card represents a unique Nosferatu
>vampire with 2 capacity and basic Animalism. The Bestial cannot act
>except to hunt, cannot cast votes and cannot have equipment. During
>your untap phase, this Bestial may employ a retainer from your hand
>that requires Animalism (he or she must meet the requirements of the
>card). Pay the cost as normal. This is not an action and cannot be
>blocked.
salem
domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm
Can a card that would force Bestial to do some other action (eg : Lunatic
Eruption: attack another minion, unless you must hunt), what happens? If
Bestial has blood (and thus doesn't HAVE to hunt), it MUST attack another
minion (which it can't).
I see a couple of possible solutions:
* The action cannot be preformed on Bestial
* The action fails
* Bestial is 'stuck' for the duration of the card effect
* And (unlikely), Bestial must do as told
LSJ?
Pahoehoe!
"salem" <salem_ch...@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:hmh7gvoehqeio7pec...@4ax.com...
>I have a question:
>
>Can a card that would force Bestial to do some other action (eg : Lunatic
>Eruption: attack another minion, unless you must hunt), what happens? If
>Bestial has blood (and thus doesn't HAVE to hunt), it MUST attack another
>minion (which it can't).
>
>I see a couple of possible solutions:
>
>* The action cannot be preformed on Bestial
>* The action fails
>* Bestial is 'stuck' for the duration of the card effect
>* And (unlikely), Bestial must do as told
>
>LSJ?
IANLSJ, however i would hazard an educated guess that the Bestial is
'stuck' for the duration of the effect. Although in the Bestial's
case, being stuck doesn't look too different to it's normal state
anyway. I am assuming here that by 'stuck' you mean 'cannot and does
not perform any action'.
It'd be interesting to Spirit Marionette a Bestial just for novelty
value (you'd get to take whatever other action you want with one of
your other minions and the bestial wouldn't return to it's controller
until after that action. handy maybe if all your bleeds were 0 stealth
and the bestial was the only blocker and it kept cat's guidancing
after blocking, but with spirit marionette's +1 stealth you'd be able
to slip someone through after you stole the bestial. a perfect plan
with no flaws whatsoever. and i am sure it will come up in every
tournament game)
You are able play Lunatic Eruption on the Bestial (ruling out the
first and second options - there is nothing prohibiting the resolution
of the action). The only thing the Bestial can do is hunt, if needed
(at zero blood). This is due to the Bestial's restriction that stops
the directed attack action from occuring, thus cancelling the
mandatory action of lunatic eruption. Hence, the card text on the
lunatic eruption prevents the Bestial from performing any other action
it would normally be allowed to perform due to the limiations of the
Bestial and the Lunatic Eruption.
However, in that same minion phase, if another minion takes an
undirect action and removes the lunatic eruption, the Bestial is then
free to do an action as permitted by its inherent card text.
What do you reckon Gleno? :)
Andrew.
Correct.
> same goes for muricia's call at inferior animalism. you can still
> employ the retainer you find in your library at superior animalism, if
> you have it.
Correct.
>>Nosferatu Bestial [Anarchs:R]
>>Cardtype: Action
>>
>>Clan: Nosferatu
>>
>>Cost: 1 pool
>>
>>+1 stealth action. Unique.
>>Put this card into play. This card represents a unique Nosferatu
>>vampire with 2 capacity and basic Animalism. The Bestial cannot act
>>except to hunt, cannot cast votes and cannot have equipment. During
>>your untap phase, this Bestial may employ a retainer from your hand
>>that requires Animalism (he or she must meet the requirements of the
>>card). Pay the cost as normal. This is not an action and cannot be
>>blocked.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Correct. Can't act except to hunt (Bestial card text) and can't act
except to enter combat (Lunatic card text) => can't act.