Since your Malk. is under your opponent's control, he untaps during your
opponent's untap phase.
Read the rules for the untap phase carefully. They say that the first
thing you have to do during the untap phase is untap all cards. Thus,
your opponent HAS to untap your Malk. before returning him to your
control.
The best defense for MD is to keep tapping your Malk.!!!
-- Sam
fre...@cae.wisc.edu
wind...@world.net (Gary Morton) writes:
(re Malkavian Dementia)
>> The bottom line: I know that I cannont control the MD until the start
of
>> my opponents untap phase, BUT, in which phase does the confused MD
untap?
>
>> Thanx in advance.
>> Gaz.
>Since your Malk. is under your opponent's control, he untaps during your
>opponent's untap phase.
>Read the rules for the untap phase carefully. They say that the first
>thing you have to do during the untap phase is untap all cards. Thus,
>your opponent HAS to untap your Malk. before returning him to your
>control.
Except MD says "you control the Malk until your next untap phase", not
"control returns to owner during your next untap phase". So the Malk must
leave immediately before you start your untap phase, including untapping
any cards.
Curt Adams (curt...@aol.com)
Situation as follows.
1 Opponent plays MD on your Malk hero.
2 Opponent announces BLEED with new found Malk.
3 I of course block, with minimum of fuss.
4 Now its my phase, <Does the DM'ed Malk untap?>
5 End of my turn, still can't use DM malk.
6 Opponents untap phase, <..or Does the DM'ed untap now?>
The bottom line: I know that I cannont control the MD until the start of
IMHO, you have absolutely no control over the DM'ed vamp until it is
returned to you - if it's still in 1 piece. So, in your phase, 4 above,
you can't do a thing with it. The Meth who still controls it, however,
can use whatever means to untap and block with it, use it as cannon
fodder, etc etc until he returns it to you. It's under his control.
Hope this helps
***Guy***
: Situation as follows.
[...]
: The bottom line: I know that I cannont control the MD until the start of
: my opponents untap phase, BUT, in which phase does the confused MD untap?
Official Ruling/clarification from the Design Team:
As the untap phase starts, the _first_ thing that happens is that the
Malkavian is returned to its owner. This takes place before any
untapping effects. Thus the vampire in question will not untap until
_your_ next untap phase after it is returned.
Shane Travis | A man who carries a cat by the tail learns
sht...@duke.usask.ca | something he can learn no other way.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan | -- Mark Twain
>In article <3limgo$b...@world.net>, wind...@world.net (Gary Morton) writes:
>> Ran into a small disagreement during a recent game...
>>
>> The bottom line: I know that I cannont control the MD until the start of
>> my opponents untap phase, BUT, in which phase does the confused MD untap?
>Since your Malk. is under your opponent's control, he untaps during your
>opponent's untap phase.
>Read the rules for the untap phase carefully. They say that the first
>thing you have to do during the untap phase is untap all cards. Thus,
>your opponent HAS to untap your Malk. before returning him to your
>control.
>The best defense for MD is to keep tapping your Malk.!!!
Unfortunately, the malk returns to his original owner before the untap
phase: "You control ... *until* your next unatp" not "You control ...
*through* your next untap", so the Malkavian goes back tapped (Answer from
Tom).
Without this distinction, it would be possible to contest the Dementia'ed
Malk with one of your own, and to burn the Dementia'ed malk *during* your
next untap by not paying for his contest.
L. Scott
The Malk definitely does not untap on your untap phase. You can't untap
something you don't control.
Adding to this question.
It's the MD players turn. Do you get Malk back untapped or does the Malk
return to your control before your opponents untap phase?
Chris
: Adding to this question.
The Vamp goes back tapped if used. It will untap during the MD players turn.
q:wq