Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Advanced Beckett and Freak Drive

7 views
Skip to first unread message

George

unread,
Feb 25, 2006, 7:44:17 PM2/25/06
to

Say I have advanced beckett and I'm sent to torpor during combat after
being blocked. Is there a window after combat but before I head off to
torpor and discard my hand during which I can play Freak Drive?

--George

CthuluKitty

unread,
Feb 25, 2006, 11:05:55 PM2/25/06
to
> Say I have advanced beckett and I'm sent to torpor during combat after
> being blocked. Is there a window after combat but before I head off to
> torpor and discard my hand during which I can play Freak Drive?


I'm pretty sure the answer is no. My understanding is that a vampire
sent to torpor in combat goes to torpor, and then combat ends--not vice
versa. So you have to discard your hand prior to the window for Freak
Drive and other end of action effects. This is similar to Cat's
Guidance, which cannot be played to untap by a blocking vampire sent to
torpor during the combat.

On the other hand, you can play a Freak Drive if you get one in the
hand you draw into after discarding, since there's no restriction on
torped vampires playing Action Modifiers.

I understand that LSJ is on vacation. Are there any super nerdy rules
lawyer types out there who can confirm or deny this?

George

unread,
Feb 26, 2006, 1:21:37 AM2/26/06
to

Yes, this interpretation is the one we used. In a perverse bit of
luck, the first
card in my redrawn hand was combat defense, and the first card after my
hand was
redrawn was freak drive, one card too late, so I couldn't rescue myself.

Message has been deleted
Message has been deleted

LSJ

unread,
Mar 4, 2006, 9:12:53 AM3/4/06
to
CthuluKitty wrote:
>>Say I have advanced beckett and I'm sent to torpor during combat after
>>being blocked. Is there a window after combat but before I head off to
>>torpor and discard my hand during which I can play Freak Drive?
>
> I'm pretty sure the answer is no. My understanding is that a vampire
> sent to torpor in combat goes to torpor, and then combat ends--not vice
> versa. So you have to discard your hand prior to the window for Freak
> Drive and other end of action effects. This is similar to Cat's
> Guidance, which cannot be played to untap by a blocking vampire sent to
> torpor during the combat.

Correct.

> On the other hand, you can play a Freak Drive if you get one in the
> hand you draw into after discarding, since there's no restriction on
> torped vampires playing Action Modifiers.

Correct.

--
That is my story, be it bitter or be it sweet.
Keep a little and let a little come back to me.
LSJ (vtesr...@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

0 new messages