Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Q: Rotschreck and Escaped Mental Patient.

76 views
Skip to first unread message

GP41

unread,
Nov 26, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/26/00
to
I am succesfully blocking an action with my Escaped Mental Patient, vs
Vampire X. During my strike phase, i decide to go for +1 aggravated
hand damage, and then i play Rotschreck.

1) Do i have to burn him (EMP) at the end of combat?

2) If i was striking instead, with a White Phosphorous Grenade, should i
burn the grenade?

3) And if i was using Dragon Breath Rounds, do i have to burn the gun?

4) Also, if in any case i come to play a combat card that allows my
minion to do aggravated dammage (burning wrath, wolf claws...), and i
don't have enough blood to pay the cost for various reasons. Can i play
Rotschreck since i was "attempting" succesfully or not?


GP41

LSJ

unread,
Nov 27, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/27/00
to
GP...@videotron.ca wrote:
> I am succesfully blocking an action with my Escaped Mental Patient, vs
> Vampire X. During my strike phase, i decide to go for +1 aggravated
> hand damage, and then i play Rotschreck.
>
> 1) Do i have to burn him (EMP) at the end of combat?

No, since he didn't strike.

> 2) If i was striking instead, with a White Phosphorous Grenade,
> should i burn the grenade?

No; it is only burned after use.

> 3) And if i was using Dragon Breath Rounds, do i have to burn the gun?

Likewise, no.

> 4) Also, if in any case i come to play a combat card that allows my
> minion to do aggravated dammage (burning wrath, wolf claws...), and i
> don't have enough blood to pay the cost for various reasons. Can i
> play Rotschreck since i was "attempting" succesfully or not?

No, since you cannot play a card whose cost cannot be paid.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) VTES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/


Sent via Deja.com http://www.deja.com/
Before you buy.

James Coupe

unread,
Nov 27, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/27/00
to
On Sun, 26 Nov 2000, GP41 wrote:

> I am succesfully blocking an action with my Escaped Mental Patient, vs
> Vampire X. During my strike phase, i decide to go for +1 aggravated
> hand damage, and then i play Rotschreck.
>
> 1) Do i have to burn him (EMP) at the end of combat?

EMP, as with a few things like White Phosphorus Grenade, only burns if he
strikes, not just if he chooses to strike. Rotschreck means you never
resolve the strike, so EMP hasn't actually struck, so he stays alive.

> 2) If i was striking instead, with a White Phosphorous Grenade, should i
> burn the grenade?

No, as above.

> 3) And if i was using Dragon Breath Rounds, do i have to burn the gun?

"Burn the gun after [strike resolution]. " (clarified text)

You never get to strike resolution, let alone after it, so no.

> 4) Also, if in any case i come to play a combat card that allows my
> minion to do aggravated dammage (burning wrath, wolf claws...), and i
> don't have enough blood to pay the cost for various reasons. Can i play
> Rotschreck since i was "attempting" succesfully or not?

No, because you couldn't play it. You don't get a chance to try and play
something unless you have enough blood, there and then, to pay for
it. (Actions are slightly different in that you could lose the blood
during the action so that when it resolved, and you paid for it then, it
would fizzle due to lack of blood - but even then, you can't attempt the
action if you don't have enough blood.)


--
James Coupe | PGP Key 0x5D623D5D
"Steve: Yeah, well that's one of the advantages of being a sad, lonely
fairy, I guess. You get to learn how to be a spy."
- Stephen Fry, Making History


Ramsteiner

unread,
Nov 27, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/27/00
to
This question came up from the EC regarding Rotschreck.

Player A is playing Gangrel
Player B conducts an action.
Player A has one of his Gangrel minions block the action.
The Gangrel and the other minion enter combat.
Player A (Gangrel) plays Wolf Claws as the Pre-range Phase of Combat
and then lays down the Rotschreck.

Is this legal? Or as the combat still has not reached the Maneuver
Phase to determine range and whether or not the Wolf Claws would ever
reach it's intended victim. Or should the Wolf Claws be played at the
Pre-Strike Phase of combat once range has been determined and then the
Rotschrek?

Michael Eichler
Prince of Ramstein
--
Worry comes from the belief you are powerless.
(So get in there and kick some butt!)

LSJ

unread,
Nov 27, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/27/00
to
Ramsteiner <ramst...@my-deja.com> wrote:
> This question came up from the EC regarding Rotschreck.
>
> Player A is playing Gangrel
> Player B conducts an action.
> Player A has one of his Gangrel minions block the action.
> The Gangrel and the other minion enter combat.
> Player A (Gangrel) plays Wolf Claws as the Pre-range Phase of Combat
> and then lays down the Rotschreck.
>
> Is this legal? Or as the combat still has not reached the Maneuver
> Phase to determine range and whether or not the Wolf Claws would ever
> reach it's intended victim. Or should the Wolf Claws be played at the
> Pre-Strike Phase of combat once range has been determined and then the
> Rotschrek?

Not legal.
No attempt has been made by the Gangrel to inflict aggravated damage
on the opposing vampire. Such an attempt is required by card text.

Rotschreck couldn't be played until the Gangrel chooses his strike
to be hands (and range is close).

References:
[RTR 23-JUN-1998], [RTR 17-FEB-1999], [RTR 28-SEP-1998]

(The Claws can be played at any time before strike resolution,
though.)

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) VTES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Packer

unread,
Nov 28, 2000, 10:05:03 PM11/28/00
to

>What if a blocking vamp has enought blood to pay for the strike card
which does aggravate (eg wolf claws or burning wrath...) does the vamp
pay the blood cost of the card once Rotschrek is played or does it stop
combat before the cost of the strike is paid?

--
Hugues Bertrand
Prince of Montreal
www.geocities.com/princedemontreal
princede...@yahoo.com

LSJ

unread,
Nov 29, 2000, 3:00:00 AM11/29/00
to
Packer <princede...@yahoo.com> wrote:
> >What if a blocking vamp has enought blood to pay for the strike card
> which does aggravate (eg wolf claws or burning wrath...) does the
> vamp pay the blood cost of the card once Rotschrek is played or does
> it stop combat before the cost of the strike is paid?

The cost of a card is paid "to" play the card [1.6.1.3]
Except in the case of actions, of course. [6.1.X], [6.2.3]

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) VTES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

0 new messages