Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Cancel Strike [LSJ]

1 view
Skip to first unread message

James Coupe

unread,
Sep 16, 1997, 3:00:00 AM9/16/97
to

I was thinking about some bits and pieces and basically, what happens
when I play Primal Instincts. I cancel my strike - which means I don't
perform it - but what happens to the cost.

eg I'm playing a really bizarre Auspex-Potence deck (it's difficult to
get to work). I play a Burning Wrath (and pay the blood for it). My
opponent strikes me back with a Disguised Weaponed flamethrower. I
decide I want to dodge that so play Primal Instincts (for the cancel
strike) and then a Read Intentions at superior for the Dodge.

Do I get back the blood I had already paid for the Burning Wrath being
as I cancelled the strike?

I suppose what I really want is a definition of Cancel Strike.
--

James Coupe (remove .nospam to reply by e-mail)

If you find you are falling into madness - dive

LSJ (VtES Rep)

unread,
Sep 16, 1997, 3:00:00 AM9/16/97
to

James Coupe wrote:
>
> I was thinking about some bits and pieces and basically, what happens
> when I play Primal Instincts. I cancel my strike - which means I don't
> perform it - but what happens to the cost.

The cost is paid as soon as the strike is played.
Since Primal Instincts doesn't say anything about
regaining the cost of the cancelled strike, the
cost is not recovered.

> eg I'm playing a really bizarre Auspex-Potence deck (it's difficult to
> get to work). I play a Burning Wrath (and pay the blood for it). My
> opponent strikes me back with a Disguised Weaponed flamethrower. I
> decide I want to dodge that so play Primal Instincts (for the cancel
> strike) and then a Read Intentions at superior for the Dodge.
>
> Do I get back the blood I had already paid for the Burning Wrath being
> as I cancelled the strike?

No.

> I suppose what I really want is a definition of Cancel Strike.

The effect of the strike is changed from "X" (whatever it was) to "nil"
(no effect whatsoever). The cost for achieving the effect is unchanged.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@regency.wizards.com)
Official VtES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
(*) - Subject to review by Rules Team

0 new messages