Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Number of additional strikes

94 views
Skip to first unread message

Ector

unread,
Sep 29, 2004, 5:14:05 AM9/29/04
to
Could you please post a good ruling about limitations of additional
strikes number? I know that the limit does exist, so one cannot get
additional strikes from two Blurs (or Acrobatics and Blur) in a single
round, and Quickness provides an additional strike even above the
limit, but I couldn't find the rule text.
Does a Black Metamorphosis (or any other permanent card) provide an
additional strike after Blur?

Reyda

unread,
Sep 29, 2004, 5:48:50 AM9/29/04
to

"Ector" <Ec...@mail.ru> a écrit dans le message de
news:d6c82c73.04092...@posting.google.com...

> Could you please post a good ruling about limitations of additional
> strikes number? I know that the limit does exist, so one cannot get
> additional strikes from two Blurs (or Acrobatics and Blur) in a single
> round, and Quickness provides an additional strike even above the
> limit, but I couldn't find the rule text.

there is no rule about "limiting" additional strikes.
in theory there is no limit to the maximum additional strikes you can do in
a single round as long as you can pay for them. (lightning reflexes)

> Does a Black Metamorphosis (or any other permanent card) provide an
> additional strike after Blur?

nope. the rule is, only one card may be used to generate additional strikes
each round. But some cards contradict the rules,by card text.
example : black metamorphosis + blur = incorrect.
black metamorphosis + Jacko's special + quickness = correct.


LSJ

unread,
Sep 29, 2004, 6:54:40 AM9/29/04
to
Ector wrote:
> Could you please post a good ruling about limitations of additional
> strikes number? I know that the limit does exist, so one cannot get
> additional strikes from two Blurs (or Acrobatics and Blur) in a single
> round, and Quickness provides an additional strike even above the
> limit, but I couldn't find the rule text.

6.4.3:
A minion cannot use more than one card or effect to gain additional strikes
per round of combat.


> Does a Black Metamorphosis (or any other permanent card) provide an
> additional strike after Blur?

No. The minion can either use the Black Metamorphosis additional
strike or the Blur, not both (and cannot play Blur if he uses the
BM one).

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Dr. Enrique Monta?o

unread,
Sep 29, 2004, 9:09:29 PM9/29/04
to
What about Jacko + blur???


Thanks,
Enrique

LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message news:<Qvw6d.453303$OB3.3...@bgtnsc05-news.ops.worldnet.att.net>...

Jyhad_addict

unread,
Sep 30, 2004, 4:24:57 AM9/30/04
to
take...@yahoo.com (Dr. Enrique Monta?o) wrote in message news:<988915c.04092...@posting.google.com>...

> What about Jacko + blur???
>
>
> Thanks,
> Enrique
>

The ruling is that you can't use additional strikes for more than 1
Source, thus you can't use Murieta's additional at the first round and
Blur, but you
can use Jacko's additional and Blur, because Jacko is the dude.

His special specifies that his inate additional strike does not
count against his additional strike effect limit, so you can also use
additional
strikes from 1 other source e.g. Blur.

I also have a question for LSJ: • If you have any pending
(additional) strikes, wait until those strikes are resolved before
gaining further additional strikes (if you are allowed to use more
than one additional-strike-gaining effect in a round). [LSJ 20001206]

That means, that if Jacko wants to use his inate additional strike
and also play blur, he has to use his additional strike and then play
blur, he cannot play blur prior to declaring which his first
additional strike is, just in case he wants to cycle his hand and draw
an undead strength.

Is this ruling still in effect ?

LSJ

unread,
Sep 30, 2004, 8:38:02 AM9/30/04
to
"Jyhad_addict" <geo...@for.auth.gr> wrote:
> I also have a question for LSJ: . If you have any pending

> (additional) strikes, wait until those strikes are resolved before
> gaining further additional strikes (if you are allowed to use more
> than one additional-strike-gaining effect in a round). [LSJ 20001206]
>
> That means, that if Jacko wants to use his inate additional strike
> and also play blur, he has to use his additional strike and then play
> blur, he cannot play blur prior to declaring which his first
> additional strike is, just in case he wants to cycle his hand and draw
> an undead strength.

No. Jacko's additional strike is optional. It isn't "pending" unless
and until he uses it.

What it means is that you cannot play both Blur and Quickness
together before resolving the strike(s) gained from the other.

> Is this ruling still in effect ?

Yes.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.

V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu

Jyhad_addict

unread,
Sep 30, 2004, 8:50:26 PM9/30/04
to
"LSJ" <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message news:<2s2cu8F...@uni-berlin.de>...

> "Jyhad_addict" <geo...@for.auth.gr> wrote:
> > I also have a question for LSJ: . If you have any pending
> > (additional) strikes, wait until those strikes are resolved before
> > gaining further additional strikes (if you are allowed to use more
> > than one additional-strike-gaining effect in a round). [LSJ 20001206]
> >
> > That means, that if Jacko wants to use his inate additional strike
> > and also play blur, he has to use his additional strike and then play
> > blur, he cannot play blur prior to declaring which his first
> > additional strike is, just in case he wants to cycle his hand and draw
> > an undead strength.
>
> No. Jacko's additional strike is optional. It isn't "pending" unless
> and until he uses it.
>
> What it means is that you cannot play both Blur and Quickness
> together before resolving the strike(s) gained from the other.
>

Yeah, i got that and i am sorry i am getting into too many details
regarding Jacko's ability, but i'd like to really comprehend EXACTLY
how these rules work... So,

if i read you correctly, you mean that if my minion e.g. the
fearsome Watenda, after the initial strike phase and having survived
Jacko's wrath, declares that he will not use any additional strikes,
Jacko has 2 options:

1st. declare that he will use his "special" additional strike, so it
becomes pending and he cannot play a blur before declaring his 1st
additional strike

2nd. play blur and after the 2 additional strikes, decide if he will
use his "special" additional strike.

So, he is free to do any of the above and there is no way to force
him to make a decision about his "special" additional strike before
playing a Blur,
i believe i finaly got it!
My mistake was that i took for granted that he had to make the
decision of using or not his "special", before using any additional
strike gaining cards or effects. Thanks for your guidance, many times
the details mean a lot.

LSJ

unread,
Oct 1, 2004, 6:23:12 AM10/1/04
to
Jyhad_addict wrote:
> "LSJ" <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message news:<2s2cu8F...@uni-berlin.de>...
>>No. Jacko's additional strike is optional. It isn't "pending" unless
>>and until he uses it.
>>
>>What it means is that you cannot play both Blur and Quickness
>>together before resolving the strike(s) gained from the other.
>
> So, he is free to do any of the above and there is no way to force
> him to make a decision about his "special" additional strike before
> playing a Blur,
> i believe i finaly got it!

Correct.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.

0 new messages