Vampire A declares a strike with the Ivory Bow. Vampire B declares
strike with hands.
Vampire A plays Rotschreck.
Vampire A can, or cannot now play Amaranth to diablerise Minion B?
Rötschreck
Type: Master
Master: out-of-turn. Frenzy.
Put this card on a vampire when an opposing minion attempts to inflict
aggravated damage on him or her, whether the damage would be
successfully inflicted or not. Combat ends. This vampire is tapped and
sent to torpor. This vampire does not untap as normal. During this
vampire's next untap phase, burn this card.
Amaranth
Type: Combat
Only usable by a vampire who can commit diablerie. Only usable when
the opposing vampire should go to torpor. Diablerize the opposing
vampire instead. Not usable by a vampire being burned or going to
torpor.
Cannot. Rots must resolve first. Combat is over, and window for
Amaranth is closed.
Godammit, that cost me a fiver. >:(
IANLSJ, but I think that's right
I would have taken that bet too :-) (aka 'Wookie is right')
That question is 13 years old, and has always been that way! i think
it's even in the FAQ....
--
salem
(replace 'hotmail' with 'yahoo' to email)
On Sep 3, 5:45 am, Salem <salem_christ....@hotmail.com> wrote:
"Combat ends" is unambiguous. Since Rotschreck is not a strike card,
or even a combat card or minion card for that matter, its effects
happen immediately. Combat is over and the acting Meth's minion phase
continues.
I've played this wrongly before with Tariq, but have been duly
chastened. :)
Jeff
Yes. Taste is playable when the round is ending.
If the combat is ending, then the round must be ending.
Well, why didn't you tell me that before you bastard?!?!?
well, you didn't ask, did you....
(plus, maybe I got $2.50 out of it....)
To clarify:
Can Taste of Vitae be played by the remaining ready vampire after
combat has ended because of a Rotstreck?
Vegas gNat
By either vampire, yes (since Rotschreck ends combat with both vampires still
ready).
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/71f190f957def0f0
(and surrounding thread)
So you can Rotschreck, Pulled Fangs, Disarm (presuming no prevent),
Amaranth, but not Rotschreck, Amaranth?
That just seems wrong. I guess the card really does say "Combat ends.
This vampire is tapped and sent to torpor."
Jeff
>> > To clarify:
>> > Can Taste of Vitae be played by the remaining ready vampire after
>> > combat has ended because of a Rotstreck?
>>
>> By either vampire, yes (since Rotschreck ends combat with both vampires
>> still
>> ready).
>>
>> http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/71f1...
>> (and surrounding thread)
>
> So you can Rotschreck, Pulled Fangs, Disarm (presuming no prevent),
How? You have to do more damage than the other minion for PF and Disarm
Rots will end combat before strike resolution, which should avoid
either vampire taking damage. Then, one or both vampires could ToV for
zero before the frenzied vampire is sent to torpor. I think.
[editorial] Basically, Rotschrek screws everything up, like all direct-
to-torpor effects, in that it removes the consequences of being
blocked/blocking from the equation. The consequence, of course, is
supposed to be combat. That's also why S:CE should not exist. These
effects allow players to use minimal resources to counter the
considerable resources other players use to counter said minimal
resources. Ultimately, players interested in winning choose to join
'em since they can't beat 'em. With no perilous consequences in
combat, minions hang around, games drag on, and there are timeouts all
over the place. [/editorial]
Simple take for example
Angus blocks Rake with 2nd Tradition
Angus hits for 2 and Rake hits for 1
Angus plays Blur
Rake plays Blur
Angus hits for 2 and plays Wolf Claws in an attempt to burn Rake
Rake plays Majesty
Angus's Methuselah plays Rotschrek.
Which of the following can be played
Pulled Fangs: Yes, the round is ending with Angus Inflicting more
damage
Disarm: Yes, same reason
If a Disarm is played, then can either a Amaranth or Decapitate be
played?
Comments Welcome,
Norman S. Brown Jr
XZealot
Archon of the Swamp
Why would you bother with Rötschreck in this example? You could simply
allow Rake to S:CE and then play Pulled Fangs / Disarm.
--
Regards,
Daneel
>>> > So you can Rotschreck, Pulled Fangs, Disarm (presuming no prevent),
>>>
>>> How? You have to do more damage than the other minion for PF and Disarm
>>
>> Simple take for example
>> Angus blocks Rake with 2nd Tradition
>> Angus hits for 2 and Rake hits for 1
>> Angus plays Blur
>> Rake plays Blur
>> Angus hits for 2 and plays Wolf Claws in an attempt to burn Rake
>> Rake plays Majesty
>> Angus's Methuselah plays Rotschrek.
>>
>> Which of the following can be played
>> Pulled Fangs: Yes, the round is ending with Angus Inflicting more
>> damage
>> Disarm: Yes, same reason
>>
>> If a Disarm is played, then can either a Amaranth or Decapitate be
>> played?
>
>Why would you bother with Rötschreck in this example? You could simply
> allow Rake to S:CE and then play Pulled Fangs / Disarm.
Change the situation to the following. (Note, as blocking minion,
Angus does everything second).
Angus blocks Rake.
Rake Hands for 1.
Angus Hands for 2.
Rake Blurs.
Angus Blurs.
Rake plays Burning Wrath.
Angus plays Wolf Claws/Rotschreck/Pulled Fangs/Disarm.
It's a situation where I can see it being done, with a deck I can see
doing it. I've also played Rotschreck on my own vampires, when the
acting minion has attempted to burn them with large amounts of Aggro
damage.
Morgan Vening
- Rotschreck. It's not just about getting around S:CE anymore.
So, does this text from the rulebook imply that you can use presses
after S:CE?
6.4.4. Press
At the end of a round of combat (if both combatants are still ready),
the combatants will either go their separate ways (the default) or one
of them will give chase. Presses can be used to continue combat (start
another round of combat) or to end combat (cancel an opponent's
press), similar to the way maneuvers are used to determine range. The
two combatants can continue playing presses (to keep offsetting the
effects of their opponent's last press) for as long as they wish. A
minion cannot play two presses in a row (which would effectively
cancel each other). If there is an uncanceled press to continue, then
another round of combat begins.
Jeff
No.