Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Change of Target question

49 views
Skip to first unread message

Jozxyqk

unread,
May 21, 2006, 8:40:59 PM5/21/06
to
This happened in our tournament today:

Restricted Vitae is in play.

Do not replace until a vampire successfully hunts. Vampires cannot hunt
unless forced to hunt. A vampire who must hunt may hunt by stealing a
blood from a younger vampireas a (D) action instead of performing the
usual hunt action.


An empty vampire attempts to hunt (with the usual hunt action), and
gets blocked.
That vampire plays Change of Target.

Only usable when this action minion is blocked (play before combat if
any). Untap the acting minion, do not tap the blocking minion, and end
the current action (it is not successful). This minion cannot perform
the same action again this turn.


So the questions are:

1) MAY the empty vampire now choose to take the D action replacement
hunt action, since it is different from the default hunt?

2) Is it mandatory to do so?

Thanks.

The Rusher

unread,
May 22, 2006, 5:18:04 AM5/22/06
to

Hunting is an action that can be repeated and because the acting
vampire untaps due to Change of Target he *must* hunt, either in the
usual way or the Restricted Vitae way.

The Lasombra

unread,
May 22, 2006, 5:21:45 AM5/22/06
to
On Sun, 21 May 2006 19:40:59 -0500, Jozxyqk <jfeu...@eecs.tufts.edu>
wrote:

>Restricted Vitae is in play.

>An empty vampire attempts to hunt (with the usual hunt action), and


>gets blocked.
>That vampire plays Change of Target.

>So the questions are:

>1) MAY the empty vampire now choose to take the D action replacement
>hunt action, since it is different from the default hunt?

Yes, as Change of Target only prohibits the explicit action taken by
the vampire, in this case, the cardless default hunt action.


>2) Is it mandatory to do so?

No.

The additional hunt action provided by Restricted Vitae is optional.


adam....@gmail.com

unread,
May 22, 2006, 8:00:50 AM5/22/06
to
Wait... they are both hunt actions. I would think that change of target
would prevent you from hunting again.

The Lasombra

unread,
May 22, 2006, 8:32:54 AM5/22/06
to
On 22 May 2006 05:00:50 -0700, adam....@gmail.com wrote:

>Wait... they are both hunt actions. I would think that change of target
>would prevent you from hunting again.

Nope.

This is covered in the FAQ, section 3.18

http://www.thelasombra.com/vtes_faq.htm

3.18 What does "Same Action" mean?
Certain cards like Obedience, Change of Target, and Red Herring
prohibit you from taking the "same action" again this turn. What does
"same action" mean in these cases?

For these cards, the "same action" will either be one of the basic
cardless actions (ie hunt, bleed, rescue from torpor, commit
diablerie, leave torpor) or a specific action by the title of the card
used to take the action (ie call a specific vote, equip with a
specific piece of equipment, employ a specific retainer, recruit a
specific ally, bleed with a particular action card).

Note: This is different than the "no repeat actions" rule, see 3.19.


There are many different hunt actions in the game currently:

Cardless hunt
Restricted Vitae alternate hunt
Earth-Feeder
Ghost-Eater
Legacy of Caine
Vulture's Buffet

plus the special hunt actions allowed by a vampire's card text:

Kyoko Shinsegawa


Change of Target only prohibits repeating the specific action that was
first taken and blocked.

If the cardless hunt action is blocked, and Change of Target is
played, any of the other hunt actions may be attempted by the vampire.
The vampire is not required to take a second hunt action that turn.


LSJ

unread,
May 22, 2006, 8:36:36 AM5/22/06
to
Jozxyqk wrote:
> Restricted Vitae is in play.
> An empty vampire attempts to hunt (with the usual hunt action), and
> gets blocked.
> That vampire plays Change of Target.

> 1) MAY the empty vampire now choose to take the D action replacement


> hunt action, since it is different from the default hunt?

Yes.

> 2) Is it mandatory to do so?

No.

Assuming he is still empty (and ready and untapped), the rules say he
must hunt. But the default hunt is not available, so he is "stuck" and
can do nothing unless he chooses to attempt a different hunt action
(either through Restricted Vitae, Vulture's Buffet, or whathaveyou).

0 new messages