Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Decapitate... and entombment

2 views
Skip to first unread message

david naseby

unread,
Oct 14, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/14/97
to

This is an evil, if expensive combination.But neither card texts mention
the range. Could you decapitate at long range? And does entombment need
to be at close range to be used?


James Hamblin

unread,
Oct 18, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/18/97
to

david naseby (d.na...@unsw.edu.au) wrote:
: This is an evil, if expensive combination.But neither card texts mention

: the range. Could you decapitate at long range? And does entombment need
: to be at close range to be used?

Since Entombment is a strike, it needs to indicate that it is usable at
long range, otherwise it is not. Decapitate is not a strike, you can use
it any time it applies. For example (back me up on this one, LSJ), you
could enter a Dawn Op'd combat, play Skin of Night, Weather Control, and
Decapitate the opposing vampire before range was even determined.

James

...sounds like a deck Josh would make...
--
James Hamblin
ham...@math.wisc.edu

"I didn't play D&D for all those years without learning a little something
about courage."
-- Blaine Faulkner, "Jose Chung's 'From Outer Space'", X-Files

Joshua Duffin

unread,
Oct 18, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/18/97
to

James Hamblin (ham...@math.wisc.edu) wrote:

: Since Entombment is a strike, it needs to indicate that it is usable at


: long range, otherwise it is not. Decapitate is not a strike, you can use
: it any time it applies. For example (back me up on this one, LSJ), you
: could enter a Dawn Op'd combat, play Skin of Night, Weather Control, and
: Decapitate the opposing vampire before range was even determined.

: James

: ...sounds like a deck Josh would make...

hee hee, that'd be funny... actually, that *is* a deck I made, except I
was using Amaranth instead of Decapitate, since not that many Tremere have
Potence. It never worked very well for me though. Who's gonna block you
after they see it happen once?

(For the record, I agree with you that Decap is usable any time you want
(the burn-a-vamp version of course, not the strike: +2 hand), just like
Amaranth.)

Josh

..I played jyhad for an hour, and I was killed by a ravnos...


E Merrill

unread,
Oct 18, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/18/97
to

du...@newton.ruph.cornell.edu (Joshua Duffin) wrote:
>
>...I played jyhad for an hour, and I was killed by a ravnos...

Ravnos can be as devious as Malkavians... though far less insane.

-T!mmy, mad, but not the angry type

LSJ

unread,
Oct 20, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/20/97
to vte...@oracle.wizards.com

ham...@math.wisc.edu (James Hamblin) wrote:
> david naseby (d.na...@unsw.edu.au) wrote:
> : This is an evil, if expensive combination.But neither card texts mention
> : the range. Could you decapitate at long range? And does entombment need
> : to be at close range to be used?
>
> Since Entombment is a strike, it needs to indicate that it is usable at
> long range, otherwise it is not. Decapitate is not a strike, you can use
> it any time it applies.

Correct. Similarly, Taste of Vitae can be used at long range.

> For example (back me up on this one, LSJ), you
> could enter a Dawn Op'd combat, play Skin of Night, Weather Control, and
> Decapitate the opposing vampire before range was even determined.

Correct.
--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com)
Official VtES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
(*) - Subject to review by Rules Team

-------------------==== Posted via Deja News ====-----------------------
http://www.dejanews.com/ Search, Read, Post to Usenet

LSJ

unread,
Oct 23, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/23/97
to

Chris wrote:
>
> > it any time it applies. For example (back me up on this one, LSJ), you

> > could enter a Dawn Op'd combat, play Skin of Night, Weather Control, and
> > Decapitate the opposing vampire before range was even determined.
>
> Damn, that combo is nasty.
> Would the opposing Vampire even get a strike? If all of this is before
> range?

?!

No.

No striking without announcing your strike.
No announcing your strike before range is determined.

If combat ends before range, neither minion gets a strike.

0 new messages