Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Major Boon Q

2 views
Skip to first unread message

Hardy

unread,
Oct 8, 2001, 9:48:12 AM10/8/01
to
If I bleed my prey for 1 can I play Major Boon to take the bleed and
defer a bigger bleed to him later?

GreySeer

unread,
Oct 8, 2001, 9:58:43 AM10/8/01
to
"Hardy" <hjoh...@shell.com> wrote in message
news:912db102.01100...@posting.google.com...

> If I bleed my prey for 1 can I play Major Boon to take the bleed and
> defer a bigger bleed to him later?

No.

From the online rulings and errata:

"Any player (not just "you") can modify the bleed after the Boon, subject to
the normal rules. Major Boon cannot be played by the controller of the
acting minion." [RTR 19980707]

LSJ

unread,
Oct 8, 2001, 10:00:37 AM10/8/01
to
Hardy wrote:
>
> If I bleed my prey for 1 can I play Major Boon to take the bleed and
> defer a bigger bleed to him later?

No. You cannot play Major Boon if you control the acting minion.
(And you cannot play out-of-turn masters on your own turn, anyhow).

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Reyda

unread,
Oct 8, 2001, 10:02:04 AM10/8/01
to

"Hardy" <hjoh...@shell.com> a écrit dans le message news:
912db102.01100...@posting.google.com...

> If I bleed my prey for 1 can I play Major Boon to take the bleed and
> defer a bigger bleed to him later?

major boon being an out of turn, you cannot play it during your turn =)
tip : deflect a bleed against you on your prey and then use major boon to
screw both prey and predator ;)

reyda

Halcyan 2

unread,
Oct 8, 2001, 10:48:09 AM10/8/01
to
>> If I bleed my prey for 1 can I play Major Boon to take the bleed and
>> defer a bigger bleed to him later?
>
>No. You cannot play Major Boon if you control the acting minion.
>(And you cannot play out-of-turn masters on your own turn, anyhow).
>
>

Well, if you bleed with a Malkavian with a Madness Network in play this gets
around the "your turn" part (but not the control of the acting minion).

BTW: Speaking of Madness Network, "After another Methuselah has finished all of
his or her minion phase actions, any untapped Malkavian can take an action (go
clockwise if two or more attempt to take actions)." So this occurs after a
Methusaleh's minion phase actions but is it still during that Methusaleh's
minion phase? If Methusaleh A has finished his/her actions, and Methusaleh B's
Malkavian decides to act, what happens if A wants to burn Temptation counters
to take control of the acting vampire during the action? Thanks!

Halcyan 2

LSJ

unread,
Oct 8, 2001, 10:54:34 AM10/8/01
to
Halcyan 2 wrote:
>
> >> If I bleed my prey for 1 can I play Major Boon to take the bleed and
> >> defer a bigger bleed to him later?
> >
> >No. You cannot play Major Boon if you control the acting minion.
> >(And you cannot play out-of-turn masters on your own turn, anyhow).
> >
> >
>
> Well, if you bleed with a Malkavian with a Madness Network in play this gets
> around the "your turn" part (but not the control of the acting minion).

Exactly, leading the the use of parentheses above.

> BTW: Speaking of Madness Network, "After another Methuselah has finished all of
> his or her minion phase actions, any untapped Malkavian can take an action (go
> clockwise if two or more attempt to take actions)." So this occurs after a
> Methusaleh's minion phase actions but is it still during that Methusaleh's
> minion phase?

Yes.

> If Methusaleh A has finished his/her actions, and Methusaleh B's
> Malkavian decides to act, what happens if A wants to burn Temptation counters
> to take control of the acting vampire during the action? Thanks!

Actions
* If the Methuselah loses control of the acting minion before the action is
successful, then the action ends. [RTR 30-JUN-1997]

Gene Wirchenko

unread,
Oct 9, 2001, 12:11:14 AM10/9/01
to
"Reyda" <re...@noos.fr> wrote:

I have a fond memory of this card. I played it on my
grand-predator early in a six-player game. Later, my predator was
ousted. When grannie came after me, it was late in the game. She had
forgotten about the Major Boon. She tried to bleed me, I let it
through, she pumped up the bleed, and then I told her to pay for it
and that ousted her. I didn't get the six for ousting her, but it was
funny.

Sincerely,

Gene Wirchenko

Computerese Irregular Verb Conjugation:
I have preferences.
You have biases.
He/She has prejudices.

0 new messages