Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Independent Acceptance (was RE: Clans vs Sects)

2 views
Skip to first unread message

Halcyan 2

unread,
Jul 16, 2001, 7:34:12 AM7/16/01
to
>>from all other clans, there is no reason that changing sect forces you
>>to be a different clan, only because you have a camarilla clan that is
>>named the same. Cannot a malkavian be independent or sabbat without
>>having to implicitly change it's clan?
>
>In theory, yes. With the current card set, it's not possible to
>change sect directly except with Writ of Acceptance, which won't
>help in this case.

Hey, quick question.

With cards like Giovanni Acceptance, Invitation Accepted, Revocation of Tyre,
and Ravnos Acceptance what exactly happens?

(Some of the card text):

Ravnos Acceptance [DS]
Cardtype: Political Action
Called by any vampire at +1 stealth. Political Card-Worth 1 Vote.
If this <referendum> is successful, all Ravnos change their status from
<Independent> vampires to Camarilla vampires for the rest of the game. All
options available to Camarilla clans are now open to the Ravnos.

Invitation Accepted [AH]
Cardtype: Political Action
Political Card-Worth 1 Vote. Called by any vampire at +1 stealth.
If this <referendum> is successful, all Followers of Set are considered
Camarilla vampires for the rest of the game. All options available to Camarilla
clans are now open to the Followers of Set.


If you look at the DS versions compared to the AH ones, they seem a bit
different.

The AH ones seem to imply a more lasting effect ("for the rest of the game")
whereas with the DS versions, it could be implied that only the Giovanni and/or
Ravnos currently in play change sect.

In addition, how does the clause "all Ravnos change their status from
Independent vampires to Camarilla vampires" affect Anka, Priestess of Thorns
who is Sabbat? (Since she can't really change "from" Independent).

Alternatively, if there was a hypothetical Assamite or FoS who was Sabbat and
the appropriate acceptance vote was played, would it affect him/her? Would "all
Followers of Set are considered Camarilla vampires for the rest of the game"
win over the "Sabbat" card-text of that vampire?

Thanks!

Halcyan 2

LSJ

unread,
Jul 16, 2001, 10:11:20 AM7/16/01
to
halc...@aol.com (Halcyan 2) wrote:
>>In theory, yes. With the current card set, it's not possible to
>>change sect directly except with Writ of Acceptance, which won't
>>help in this case.
>
>Hey, quick question.
>
>With cards like Giovanni Acceptance, Invitation Accepted, Revocation of Tyre,
>and Ravnos Acceptance what exactly happens?

Ah. Obviously my list above is a little short. There are several ways
to change sect directly to Camarilla, but no way to change directly
to Independent or Sabbat (short of undo'ing one of the Camarilla effects).

Anyway, on to your questions:

>(Some of the card text):
>
>Ravnos Acceptance [DS]
>Cardtype: Political Action
>Called by any vampire at +1 stealth. Political Card-Worth 1 Vote.
>If this <referendum> is successful, all Ravnos change their status from
><Independent> vampires to Camarilla vampires for the rest of the game. All
>options available to Camarilla clans are now open to the Ravnos.
>
>Invitation Accepted [AH]
>Cardtype: Political Action
>Political Card-Worth 1 Vote. Called by any vampire at +1 stealth.
>If this <referendum> is successful, all Followers of Set are considered
>Camarilla vampires for the rest of the game. All options available to
Camarilla
>clans are now open to the Followers of Set.
>
>
>If you look at the DS versions compared to the AH ones, they seem a bit
>different.
>
>The AH ones seem to imply a more lasting effect ("for the rest of the game")
>whereas with the DS versions, it could be implied that only the Giovanni
and/or
>Ravnos currently in play change sect.

Maybe, but it seems easier to read it as all Ravnos (i.e., "the Ravnos" as
a clan).

>In addition, how does the clause "all Ravnos change their status from
>Independent vampires to Camarilla vampires" affect Anka, Priestess of Thorns
>who is Sabbat? (Since she can't really change "from" Independent).

as per the AH parallels - the change is just "to Camarilla".

>Alternatively, if there was a hypothetical Assamite or FoS who was Sabbat and
>the appropriate acceptance vote was played, would it affect him/her? Would
"all
>Followers of Set are considered Camarilla vampires for the rest of the game"
>win over the "Sabbat" card-text of that vampire?

Yes.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
------------------------------------------------------------
Get your FREE web-based e-mail and newsgroup access at:
http://MailAndNews.com

0 new messages