Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Contesting Question for LSJ

1 view
Skip to first unread message

Robyn M

unread,
Jul 10, 2001, 2:49:02 PM7/10/01
to
How to resolve the following situation? :

You've just started your master phase when you realise that you have a
contested card.

Are you forced to yield at that point? Or are you forced to make the
choice whether to pay or yield at that time?

I see nothing in 4.0 or 4.1 that specifically says you must yield if
you forget.

ROBYN M

LSJ

unread,
Jul 10, 2001, 3:33:25 PM7/10/01
to
>===== Original Message From rrme...@earthlink.net (Robyn M) =====

You cannot leave your untap phase without handling the mandatory untap
phase events (such as contesting).

So you must, as possible, back up to your untap phase and finish it
properly. If this is not possible, then the judge should rectify the
situation as appropriate.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
------------------------------------------------------------
Get your FREE web-based e-mail and newsgroup access at:
http://MailAndNews.com

Robert Goudie

unread,
Jul 10, 2001, 4:00:24 PM7/10/01
to
"LSJ" <vte...@MailAndNews.com> wrote in message
news:3B75...@MailAndNews.com...

> >===== Original Message From rrme...@earthlink.net (Robyn M) =====
> >How to resolve the following situation? :
> >
> >You've just started your master phase when you realise that you have a
> >contested card.
> >
> >Are you forced to yield at that point? Or are you forced to make the
> >choice whether to pay or yield at that time?
> >
> >I see nothing in 4.0 or 4.1 that specifically says you must yield if
> >you forget.
>
> You cannot leave your untap phase without handling the mandatory untap
> phase events (such as contesting).
>
> So you must, as possible, back up to your untap phase and finish it
> properly. If this is not possible, then the judge should rectify the
> situation as appropriate.

Right. So, 4.0 says that during your untap phase you must "choose" to yield or
pay to continue contesting. As soon as the error is noticed you then make your
choice. You are not forced to yield.

-Robert


LSJ

unread,
Jul 10, 2001, 4:14:14 PM7/10/01
to
>===== Original Message From "Robert Goudie" <rrgo...@earthlink.net> =====

It may be a little more involved than simply "making your choice", depending
on how much has happened in the game since then, though. Any time you back
up
and change game state, you have to reconsider everything that followed that
event.

Itamar G. Jr.

unread,
Jul 11, 2001, 11:02:04 AM7/11/01
to
LSJ <vte...@MailAndNews.com> wrote in message news:<3B75...@MailAndNews.com>...
> >===== Original Message From rrme...@earthlink.net (Robyn M) =====
> >How to resolve the following situation? :
> >
> >You've just started your master phase when you realise that you have a
> >contested card.
> >
> >Are you forced to yield at that point? Or are you forced to make the
> >choice whether to pay or yield at that time?
> >
> >I see nothing in 4.0 or 4.1 that specifically says you must yield if
> >you forget.
>
> You cannot leave your untap phase without handling the mandatory untap
> phase events (such as contesting).

Is getting a pool from having the Edge mandatory?

LSJ

unread,
Jul 11, 2001, 11:13:31 AM7/11/01
to
>===== Original Message From ita...@hotmail.com (Itamar G. Jr.) =====

>Is getting a pool from having the Edge mandatory?

The rules say "may". [4]

Halcyan 2

unread,
Jul 13, 2001, 3:11:04 AM7/13/01
to
>>Is getting a pool from having the Edge mandatory?
>
>The rules say "may".

BTW: Is using Huntings Grounds mandatory? I've always played is like with the
Edge: if you forget it too bad so sad. But I know so people that claim it *is*
mandatory (which I suppose it's good if you forget about it occasionally).

Halcyan 2

LSJ

unread,
Jul 13, 2001, 6:28:16 AM7/13/01
to
>===== Original Message From halc...@aol.com (Halcyan 2) =====

No. The abilities you get from locations arenot mandatory, in general.

Kevin M.

unread,
Jul 15, 2001, 12:22:23 AM7/15/01
to

"LSJ" <vte...@MailAndNews.com> wrote in message
news:3B9C...@MailAndNews.com...

> >===== Original Message From halc...@aol.com (Halcyan 2) =====
> >>>Is getting a pool from having the Edge mandatory?
> >>
> >>The rules say "may".
> >
> >BTW: Is using Huntings Grounds mandatory? I've always played is like
with the
> >Edge: if you forget it too bad so sad. But I know so people that
claim it
> *is*
> >mandatory (which I suppose it's good if you forget about it
occasionally).
>
> No. The abilities you get from locations arenot mandatory, in general.

But in this case, we are talking about cards that follow the "During X,
do Y" template. So, if someone "forgets" their Hunting Ground location,
they have to go back to their untap phase and use their Hunting Ground,
correct? And wouldn't you as a judge have to issue a Caution or a
Warning, as necessary?

> --
> LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
> Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
> http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/


Kevin M., Prince of Madison, WI
(remove PLEASENOSPAMME for direct reply)
"Know your enemy, and know yourself; in one-thousand battles
you shall never be in peril." -- Sun Tzu, _The_Art_of_War_
"Contentment... Complacency... Catastrophe!" -- Joseph Chevalier


LSJ

unread,
Jul 15, 2001, 8:01:27 AM7/15/01
to
"Kevin M." <kjme...@PLEASENOSPAMMEhome.com> wrote:

>"LSJ" <vte...@MailAndNews.com> wrote:
>> >BTW: Is using Huntings Grounds mandatory?
>> No. The abilities you get from locations arenot mandatory, in general.
>
>But in this case, we are talking about cards that follow the "During X,
>do Y" template. So, if someone "forgets" their Hunting Ground location,
>they have to go back to their untap phase and use their Hunting Ground,
>correct? And wouldn't you as a judge have to issue a Caution or a
>Warning, as necessary?

It's optional, as stated. So, no.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Kevin M.

unread,
Jul 15, 2001, 11:49:19 PM7/15/01
to

"LSJ" <vte...@MailAndNews.com> wrote in message
news:3B58...@MailAndNews.com...

> "Kevin M." <kjme...@PLEASENOSPAMMEhome.com> wrote:
> >"LSJ" <vte...@MailAndNews.com> wrote:
> >> >BTW: Is using Huntings Grounds mandatory?
> >> No. The abilities you get from locations arenot mandatory, in
general.
> >
> >But in this case, we are talking about cards that follow the "During
X,
> >do Y" template. So, if someone "forgets" their Hunting Ground
location,
> >they have to go back to their untap phase and use their Hunting
Ground,
> >correct? And wouldn't you as a judge have to issue a Caution or a
> >Warning, as necessary?
>
> It's optional, as stated. So, no.

Forgive me for being difficult, but I don't understand what you mean by
"as stated". Are you saying that you have just made a ruling on Hunting
Grounds in this thread?

It's just that I'm trying to understand how a card that says:

"During your untap phase, a ready vampire you control gains 1 blood from
the blood bank. A vampire can only gain 1 blood from Hunting Ground
cards each turn."

...can be considered optional. There is no "may", as with the Edge.
The text states that during a specific phase, you do THIS; doesn't that
mean that, when the time comes, you 'DO IT' ?

I see no erratta for Hunting Grounds, and the template seems pretty
clear: During X, do Y.


> --
> LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
> Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
> http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

James Coupe

unread,
Jul 16, 2001, 6:42:35 AM7/16/01
to
In message <3vt47.142568$mG4.69...@news1.mntp1.il.home.com>, Kevin M.
<kjme...@PLEASENOSPAMMEhome.com> writes

>It's just that I'm trying to understand how a card that says:
>
>"During your untap phase, a ready vampire you control gains 1 blood from
>the blood bank. A vampire can only gain 1 blood from Hunting Ground
>cards each turn."
>
>...can be considered optional. There is no "may", as with the Edge.

A number of such cards, from older sets, have an instructive effect like
that.

e.g. Tap to gain 2 votes during a political action. (Mausoleum)

The interpretation has always been, with such cards, that there is an
implicit "You may", otherwise you would *have* to gain the votes and
would have no discretion, or somesuch.

--
James Coupe PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D
EBD690ECD7A1F
She twirled a lock of hair around her forefinger and smiled B457CA213D7E6
faintly. "Actually, I'd settle for a small Greek." 68C3695D623D5D

LSJ

unread,
Jul 16, 2001, 7:09:09 AM7/16/01
to
"Kevin M." <kjme...@PLEASENOSPAMMEhome.com> wrote:
>"LSJ" <vte...@MailAndNews.com> wrote:
>> "Kevin M." <kjme...@PLEASENOSPAMMEhome.com> wrote:
>> >"LSJ" <vte...@MailAndNews.com> wrote:
>> >> >BTW: Is using Huntings Grounds mandatory?
>> >> No. The abilities you get from locations arenot mandatory, in
>general.
>> >[...]

>> It's optional, as stated. So, no.
>
>Forgive me for being difficult, but I don't understand what you mean by
>"as stated". Are you saying that you have just made a ruling on Hunting
>Grounds in this thread?

I meant: "as I stated in the quote above".
The "you do X" of locations isn't mandatory in general.
You are not forced to tap Al's Army Apparatus.
You are not forced to tap Arcane Library during your influence phase.
You are not forced to tap Art Museum during your influence phase.
You are not forced to tap Backways when a Gangrel you control takes an
action.
You are not forced to tap The Barrens.
You are not forced to use the Chantry during your untap phase (per specific
ruling)
etc.

>It's just that I'm trying to understand how a card that says:
>
>"During your untap phase, a ready vampire you control gains 1 blood from
>the blood bank. A vampire can only gain 1 blood from Hunting Ground
>cards each turn."
>
>...can be considered optional. There is no "may", as with the Edge.

>The text states that during a specific phase, you do THIS; doesn't that
>mean that, when the time comes, you 'DO IT' ?
>
>I see no erratta for Hunting Grounds, and the template seems pretty
>clear: During X, do Y.

I'll update the card lists so that the locations (HGs, those list above,
etc.)
are explicitly optional.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

0 new messages