Web Images Videos Maps News Shopping Gmail more »
Recently Visited Groups | Help | Sign in
Google Groups Home
Gmail blacklisted by SpamCop again
There are currently too many topics in this group that display first. To make this topic appear first, remove this option from another topic.
There was an error processing your request. Please try again.
flag
  1 message - Collapse all  -  Translate all to Translated (View all originals)
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
 
From:
To:
Cc:
Followup To:
Add Cc | Add Followup-to | Edit Subject
Subject:
Validation:
For verification purposes please type the characters you see in the picture below or the numbers you hear by clicking the accessibility icon. Listen and type the numbers you hear
 
totojep...@razdva.cz  
View profile  
 More options Sep 22 2005, 5:38 am
Newsgroups: spamcop.help
From: totojep...@razdva.cz
Date: 22 Sep 2005 02:38:23 -0700
Local: Thurs, Sep 22 2005 5:38 am
Subject: Gmail blacklisted by SpamCop again
-- shouldn't be the Gmaill's IP range (64.233.160.0/19?) wwhitelisted?
Or does SpamCop just blacklist its competition (Gmail provides mail
services and spam filtering for free)?

This seems to be a long lasting problem:

http://chris-linfoot.net/d6plinks/CWLT-6CALWG

SpamCop lists GmailWednesday, 11. May 2005Category : GMailOh dear.
SpamCop is currently listing 64.233.162.202 (and possibly some others
close by) in its DNSBL. *

whois -h whois.arin.net 64.233.162.202 ...

OrgName:    Google Inc.
OrgID:      GOGL
Address:    1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
City:       Mountain View
StateProv:  CA
PostalCode: 94043
Country:    US

etc etc and

nslookup 64.233.162.202
Canonical name: zproxy.gmail.com
Addresses:
  64.233.162.202

According to SpamCop, "SpamCop users have reported [this] system as a
source of spam less than 10 times in the past week" and "In the past
13.8 days, it has been listed 4 times for a total of 26 hours".

So, SpamCop users (I count myself among their number) are allegedly
seeing plentiful spam from Gmail IPs, well enough to cause DNSBL
listing anyway.

The thing is, despite the many thousands of spam samples trapped here,
I still have only one sample of a spam ever originating in Gmail,
originating at rproxy.gmail.com ([64.233.170.203]) - I reported it.

So where's mine? I want some too.

Or is there another explanation?

SpamCop recently begun implementing a new algorithm intended to
minimise false listings by verifying bona fide mail hosts used by or
belonging to SpamCop users. I have registered my own mail hosts there
as well as the Gmail hosts so that if I receive a spam at my Gmail
account, I can report via SpamCop which I sometimes do. So possibly:

Some SpamCop users have attempted to configure Gmail mailhosts and got
it wrong, or

Some spammers have started to create convincing Gmail header forgeries
and are spamming SpamCop users who have not yet implemented SpamCop
mailhosts, or

Gmail has added new mail hosts that are not known to the SpamCop
mailhosts system

... or there really could be a Gspam problem...
Frankly I just don't buy that last one though. Could someone (anyone)
show me a real Gspam sample or two?

If Julian or any SpamCop deputies are reading, you may want to look
into that mail hosts hypothesis.

Finally, the addresses to whitelist (we have them whitelisted here) are
64.233.160.0/19.

* Thanks to Christopher Byrne for pointing this out.


    Reply to author    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
End of messages
« Back to Discussions « Newer topic     Older topic »

Create a group - Google Groups - Google Home - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy
©2009 Google